English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2019, 03:20   #1
Honey Badger
Registered User

Honey Badger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 53
Posts: 58
Amiga diskette driving 'clicking'

just kinda random ... but, when I first read about the Amiga's clicking sound of its diskette drive, thought it would likely be annoying

that hunch proved wrong for me anyway -- as weird as it might be, find it oddly relaxing
Honey Badger is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 10:37   #2
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 921
I also never was that anoyed by it and don't use any of these no click hacks. It's one of these things that adds to the nostalgia feeling, the sound alone already brings up the good Amiga memories
spudje is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 13:06   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 7,016
The more drives you have, the more fun it is when they click one after another.
Jope is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 18:05   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,704
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The more drives you have, the more fun it is when they click one after another.

Or you make both drives click at exactly same time, .
FOL is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 19:50   #5
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,031
Some find ticking clocks annoying
others like it
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 19:52   #6
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,038
Indeed

Under emulation i disabled clicking
chip is online now  
Old 11 January 2019, 22:29   #7
Honey Badger
Registered User

Honey Badger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 53
Posts: 58
ditto ... when using WinUAE (or other emulators actually) I turn off the disk clicking & drive sound effects .... as much as I kinda like it on the actual machinery, emulated just doesn't do it for me

and of course, many don't like it at all ... was surprised I didn't mind it, and for me isn't nostalgia as I didn't have an Amiga back in the day .... has bit of an ASMR effect on me
Honey Badger is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 23:07   #8
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 627
In the 90's I barely noticed the clicking even when I moved to a hard drive setup. But using one now it annoys the hell out of me, absolute torture if you have a couple of externals attached as well.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 12 January 2019, 04:49   #9
HardStep
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 144
Shoot, I just loved the 2.5 inch hard drive buzzing of the desktop 1200!
HardStep is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 06:29   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,904
The clicking drove me insane. What a poor design.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 13:54   #11
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,704
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
The clicking drove me insane. What a poor design.

You get used to it. Like living on a main road. You get used to noisey traffic, . I hear electricity hum at night, not many people do. I find it relaxing.
FOL is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 14:12   #12
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,247
I've never heard an explanation for why you have to step the drive head before it can sense that a disk has been inserted. Does anyone know?
Leffmann is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 20:06   #13
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 783
just from the back on my head:
very early drives needed that stepping to update the sensor information - even later drives did not need that anymore, this code was left in the Kickstart, just in case.
Gorf is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 22:54   #14
Honey Badger
Registered User

Honey Badger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 53
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorf View Post
just from the back on my head:
very early drives needed that stepping to update the sensor information - even later drives did not need that anymore, this code was left in the Kickstart, just in case.
that's the backstory I've heard -- was a case of "well, it works. just leave it that way" whether the particular drive models (sourced from various vendors) necessarily needed it or not
Honey Badger is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 23:10   #15
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorf View Post
just from the back on my head:
very early drives needed that stepping to update the sensor information...

Yes we know that much, but why? What's the technical explanation, and is/was it a peculiarity of the Amiga's disk controller and interface, or of the drive itself? To me it seems intuitive that if the system can immediately sense when the disk leaves the drive, it should also be able to sense the reverse.

Last edited by Leffmann; 14 January 2019 at 23:16.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 15 January 2019, 01:29   #16
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,512
The soothing tick... I think my heart beats to the same rhythm. It's like a pacemaker lol.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 15 January 2019, 02:33   #17
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
Yes we know that much, but why? What's the technical explanation, and is/was it a peculiarity of the Amiga's disk controller and interface, or of the drive itself? To me it seems intuitive that if the system can immediately sense when the disk leaves the drive, it should also be able to sense the reverse.
since Paula and the CIAs never changed it was not on the Amiga side of things, but a requirement of the 3rd party disk drives.

some more explanation on this old thread:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=53105
Gorf is offline  
Old 15 January 2019, 09:55   #18
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 7,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorf View Post
just from the back on my head:
very early drives needed that stepping to update the sensor information - even later drives did not need that anymore, this code was left in the Kickstart, just in case.
Are you sure the later drives don't need it? I never verified this for myself with a newer drive. It was part of the original floppy drive spec, that the DC signal is only updated after a step.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 January 2019, 17:05   #19
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Are you sure the later drives don't need it? I never verified this for myself with a newer drive. It was part of the original floppy drive spec, that the DC signal is only updated after a step.
It seems still necessary to initiate a step, but newer drives ignore that step (downwards), if they are at position 0, but do update the DC status and stay otherwise silent.

Older drives needed an actual movement and did not like to be "stepped against the wall" - so actually two step-instructions (one up - one down) where sent.

On a PC all this was irrelevant, since DOS did ignore all changes

Last edited by Gorf; 16 January 2019 at 21:12.
Gorf is offline  
Old 05 February 2019, 04:46   #20
005AGIMA
Re-loading. Please wait.

005AGIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Perth, Australia & England
Posts: 106
In the context of emulation, I LOVE the clicking for the following reasons:
1) It's a nostalgia hit of part of the experience I'd forgotten existed;
2) You can turn it DOWN unlike the real thing
3) It serves as a check, that perhaps the game/program is still loading, rather than the emulator has crashed.

I have it turned on in Amiga Forever on my desktop PC.

It's not an option in UAE4ARM on Android, and I miss it. Doesn't feel right.
005AGIMA is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek 'floppy' clicking driving me nuts!! Can it be disabled with a jumper? markpaterson support.Hardware 20 31 July 2016 03:56
Amiga 500+ freezes after clicking on icons Chris__ support.Hardware 2 21 April 2016 11:38
Disable Disk Drive Clicking on Amiga 2000 Tempest 2084 support.Hardware 14 25 July 2015 16:16
How to transfer an adf file from pc to amiga using high density floppy diskette Galder support.Hardware 12 06 May 2014 00:44
Amiga floppy diskette testing Solo761 support.Other 5 12 March 2014 15:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09887 seconds with 13 queries