English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 January 2019, 00:19   #21
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,302
Who are you telling ?? I know it's strange...

Would you mind sending me your config (like an update to your compilation - with Game folder & Configuration folder) ? (should not exceed 10 MB)
malko is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 00:27   #22
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
Would you mind sending me your config (like an update to your compilation - with Game folder & Configuration folder) ?
I could I guess; but as mentioned, I just used "Quickstart CD32" for a brief test so don't really have a configuration file / gamedir created...

Obviously point to the "data.cue" file when selecting the image via WinUAE.
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 00:30   #23
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I could I guess; but as mentioned, I just used "Quickstart CD32" for a brief test so...

Don't make me beg... PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEASE
I can't make it work...
malko is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 00:31   #24
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,618
ROFL

Ok, ok; give me a few minutes
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 00:45   #25
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,618
In The Zone! for you...

Just extract into "C:\WinUAE"
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 01:03   #26
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,302
Thanks my friend! And with the screenshots

But I have to say that its not working. Seriously, no joke

On the status bar the CD led is flashing during the game (so I think the music is playing BUT no music is coming from the speaker).
I really don't know what to think...

Tomorrow I will try with another computer and let you know (maybe something with this Acer netbook ??).

Anyway, again a BIG thank you for your help !!
malko is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 01:05   #27
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,618
Very strange indeed

Yes the "CD" LED flashes green while the audio track is playing but of course I do actually hear music / sfx on my laptop.

Do you hear music with commercial CD32 releases that have audio tracks on your laptop?

I actually have an Acer also; i.e. an Acer Aspire 5951G.
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 01:09   #28
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,302
Never tried. Will check right now.
malko is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 01:31   #29
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,302
By chance I had the CD32 ISO of Simon the Sorcerer on an USB stick (did test it some month ago for another thread ). I can hear music (jerky but can hear it).

On TheZone! I have seen Flink ISO. Don't know if there is music on the title screen but I can only hear sfx, no music.

Compared to the AspireONE, your Acer is a killer

Time to now. Tomorrow I will try Marble Madness CD32 on another PC.
malko is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 01:37   #30
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
On TheZone! I have seen Flink ISO. Don't know if there is music on the title screen but I can only hear sfx, no music.
This is just the data really; so no music.

The proper Flink (The Misadventures Of) has a data track plus 17 audio tracks; size is about 465MB.
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 10:15   #31
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,302
Hum... no, same result on another computer... Only SFX, no music

@jotd : Is there any test, other than running a game, that I can make to check the music playback ?
malko is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 11:40   #32
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,029
@jotd

Great job!
Pyromania is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 12:11   #33
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,302
Since it's full of little lovable rascals around here , it's better to specify :
"to check the music playback except also by playing an audio CD" (which works indeed).

Edit 1: See video

Edit 2: Found a CD32 ISO of Brian the Lion. Title screen music OK; GFX & Music in game OK.
Could it be possible that the issue is only with the games updated by jotd with CD32Load + mp3 Music ?

Last edited by malko; 25 January 2019 at 14:39.
malko is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 15:31   #34
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,926
It really depends on the emulator you're using. Latest WinUAE are able to play CD music using PIO method. On other emulators / older WinUAE it doesn't work when other games are using OS-routines to play CD and it works.
jotd is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 16:41   #35
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
It really depends on the emulator you're using. Latest WinUAE are able to play CD music using PIO method. On other emulators / older WinUAE it doesn't work when other games are using OS-routines to play CD and it works.
Ok but it does not explain why with WinUAE 4.0.1 on my side it's not working while on DamienD side with the 4.0.1 it works. Also for Turrican3, on post #9, with a 3.6 beta 4 it also works.
I just installed the 4.1.0 and still have no music during game...


So if you have another way to test it, feel free to ask, I help with pleasure.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z WinUAE410-sameIssue.7z (846.1 KB, 8 views)
malko is offline  
Old 25 January 2019, 19:40   #36
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,459
winuaelog.txt is the only place that tells what is going on

And random test: try ticking/unticking sound panel Include CD and FMV audio checkbox.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 January 2019, 22:09   #37
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,926
and selecting CD32 rom isn't enough. chipset must be selected too. and BTW it's a winUAE configuration problem by your end, as it works perfectly on real hardware.
jotd is offline  
Old 26 January 2019, 10:29   #38
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,302
@toni & @jotd : Thanks for answers. Was not home yesterday evening.
Will generate a log when I will be back home today evening .

Édit for @jotd: I think it was done. See post #19.
malko is offline  
Old 26 January 2019, 12:46   #39
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,926
errr, turn ears on ?
jotd is offline  
Old 26 January 2019, 13:15   #40
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,302
@jotd: lol (bye chance there is wifi at B.King).
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playing CD audio tracks on CD32 MickGyver Coders. Blitz Basic 11 29 April 2017 06:28
marble madness honx support.Games 17 18 October 2016 16:22
WHDLoad without CD32 audio tracks Another World project.WHDLoad 36 23 December 2008 03:12
Best CD32 audio tracks jotd Retrogaming General Discussion 28 15 May 2008 12:33
Marble Madness 2003 Big-Byte Retrogaming General Discussion 7 12 December 2002 00:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09539 seconds with 14 queries