English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 November 2018, 23:26   #21
antpant7
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: North Ferriby
Posts: 3
Hello, has anyone had any joy trying to install ClassicWB on 3.1.4 . Having the same issue with 3.1.4 installation disks not recognised
antpant7 is offline  
Old 22 November 2018, 00:38   #22
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
No, and it's not simple. I tweaked the install script to accept the 3.1.4 disks, and there are multiple files/locations that are different, so it wouldn't complete. The install script will need a major rewrite at least...
desiv is offline  
Old 19 December 2018, 23:27   #23
digiflip
Registered User
digiflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 80
if installers get a rewrite will it include cloanto 3.1 (3.x) workbench it doesn't recognise one disc think its the install disc.
digiflip is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 21:07   #24
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 50
I have started work on porting over the ClassicWB install to recognize the 3.1.4. My goal is to keep the same script intact (so it can install wb3.0 and 3.1 as originally intented by Bloodwhych), and if chosing the option wb3.1.4, it will proceed with that, as well as trying to incorporate the BestWB enhancements/additions, if possible.

This is very much an initial W.I.P. but I am planning on making progress very quickly.

Last edited by KKR75; 23 December 2018 at 09:53.
KKR75 is offline  
Old 26 December 2018, 13:33   #25
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 50
After much fiddling, tweaking, and rewriting over the last few days, I have finally managed to get a ClassicWB FULL up and running on WinUAE using 2 configurations, the first one a 68020 / Full ECS (Simulating a modded A500), and the other a 68030/MMU with AGA (simulating an A1200).

Attached is a screenshot of the installation, where you can see the correct WB3.1.4 version and the standard ClassicWB FULL package installation (this is the Copper-enabled AGA version).

One issue that is still nagging me during the install is that there seem to be some sort of memory leak somewhere related when files are being copied. It only happens during the 3.1.4 installation, and not during the 3.0 or 3.1 installation. RAM keeps getting filled up until the end of the file copy, and in total, it takes up to 15MB of RAM. To remedy this situation for now, I created a WinUAE configuration with 16MB of RAM, and this lets the install complete. One can easily reduce it back to 8 or whatever after running the software normally.
This isssue obviously needs to get fixed, but I have no idea where to look, and I have tried to pinpoint it inside the scripts, but not know how to remedy it.

I have yet to try the install on a real Amiga, which I will do so these 2 weeks.

Once I am satsified with the FULL install, I can port it over to the other packages like ADV, ADVSP, LITE, etc...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	[ClassicWB Install Test.uae] - WinUAE - [ALT+TAB or middle mouse button untraps mouse - F12 open.png
Views:	185
Size:	287.8 KB
ID:	61318  

Last edited by KKR75; 26 December 2018 at 13:39.
KKR75 is offline  
Old 26 December 2018, 13:59   #26
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,493
Replace the icon.library with this one http://eab.abime.net/attachment.php?...6&d=1544471643
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 December 2018, 14:07   #27
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Replace the icon.library with this one http://eab.abime.net/attachment.php?...6&d=1544471643
I am not sure this will fix the problem as the memory leak happens way before this icon.librsry gets installed.

But in what way does this new one differ from the one included in the standard 3.1.4 disks?
KKR75 is offline  
Old 26 December 2018, 22:30   #28
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by KKR75 View Post

But in what way does this new one differ from the one included in the standard 3.1.4 disks?

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=2849
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 19:20   #29
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Thanks. Got it included in the package, latest iconlib v.46.4.511_68020.
KKR75 is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 21:31   #30
digiflip
Registered User
digiflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 80
is this ready for release? been using best wb on my replay 060 rig but miss classic wb

will the igame be updated to latest version too?

Last edited by digiflip; 07 January 2019 at 21:47.
digiflip is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 17:11   #31
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 50
ClassicWB-FULL-3.1.4 is ready for further testing. I have heavily modified the install scripts and optimized them so that now the install is able to complete under 4MB of Fast Ram.

I performed the test in WinUAE, using 68020, 2MB Chip, 4MB Z3 Fast, 3.1.4 ROM (obviously), and both Full ECS and AGA chipset tests.

I have included the latest icon.library 46.4.511 (68020 version only) into the set, as well as removed StackAttack, BlazeWCP, IconBeFast, PatchRAM, and TagLiFe from the Startup-sequence as they are all no longer needed.

You will still see all references to those patches in the Scalos pulldown menus, since I did not edit those at all.

Also, Scalos will report ?.? as OS version. That's normal, it doesn't work. You can either hard code 3.1.4 numbers in the title, or use the %ov flag which lists 46.143.

This is just a first pass to get 3.1.4 integrated with ClassicWB. No programs have been updated, deleted, added, etc.... It comes as is, for now.


How can I make the package available to test? It is over 60MB total.

Last edited by KKR75; 08 January 2019 at 17:55. Reason: Edited iconlib version nbr
KKR75 is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 17:35   #32
Sandancer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Wakefield/United Kingdom
Posts: 83
Upload it to google cloud or mega and paste link in here
Sandancer is online now  
Old 08 January 2019, 17:54   #33
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 50
Thank you, packaged uploaded to my Drive.

Link below. Please remember this is not final work of the whole package ! This is merely to get 3.1.4 integrated with ClassicWB. I am sure more work has to be done, but we can discuss further after public testing.

EDIT: Link removed from this post, updated on my latest post further in the thread.

Last edited by KKR75; 09 January 2019 at 10:49.
KKR75 is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 17:57   #34
Sandancer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Wakefield/United Kingdom
Posts: 83
Just got it I will test it on my amiga shortly
Sandancer is online now  
Old 08 January 2019, 20:45   #35
digiflip
Registered User
digiflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 80
i will test too on MiSTer and replay 060

did you want cloanto 3.1 discs tested too?

Last edited by digiflip; 08 January 2019 at 20:50.
digiflip is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 21:16   #36
digiflip
Registered User
digiflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 80
(checked scripts still see's cloanto 3.1 install disk has invalid therefore installation can not continue)

also when reboot with cloanto using wrong install disk get pop up

Scalos request Couldn't open workbench.library v39.x!

ie think this is on the cloaonto install disk will check

checked the workbench library is in cloanto install 3.1 disk ( ie if using 3.x kickstart roms there is no workbench library in kickstart)

workaround added workbench library from install disc to hdf libs and fixes issue to boot from 3.x rom

Last edited by digiflip; 08 January 2019 at 21:32.
digiflip is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 21:37   #37
digiflip
Registered User
digiflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 80
not sure if igame and sysinfo suppose to be updated

igame is version 1.6

latest version of igame is 1/11/2018 but may require some components updating

sysinfo is v3.24 latest is v4.0
digiflip is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 22:11   #38
locksmith
Registered User

locksmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: south east
Posts: 112
os 3.1.4

that's good i see this too it all good stuff to see people still getting pleasure with their amiga computers theses days



Last edited by locksmith; 08 January 2019 at 23:18. Reason: link
locksmith is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 23:33   #39
digiflip
Registered User
digiflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 80
advised hstwb dev guy

https://github.com/henrikstengaard/h...ller/issues/22
digiflip is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 07:23   #40
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 50
I uploaded a new package to my drive, deleted the old one, and therefore the link has changed. It was updated in my post above, but if anyone has shared this link somewhere else than this site here, it will need to be updated.

Changes were very minor: only cleanup of stale installation files.

Last edited by KKR75; 09 January 2019 at 07:28.
KKR75 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB OS3.9 in emulator elowan project.ClassicWB 3 16 January 2013 15:54
ClassicWB OS3.9/BB 3+4? esc project.ClassicWB 4 19 September 2011 13:00
ClassicWB OS3.5/3.9 question MethodGit project.ClassicWB 3 01 October 2010 12:00
Multiboot ClassicWB/3.1 and ClassicWB/OS3.9 MrGimper support.Hardware 4 16 September 2010 20:42
ClassicWB OS3.9 2.5 merlinkv project.ClassicWB 9 05 May 2010 13:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11994 seconds with 14 queries