English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 January 2019, 20:45   #3021
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Hmm, where do you live (on the dark side of the moon or in the dark winter in Finland?) and how long didn't you update my icon.library? Look at the 1. page of this thread and try out one of the IconDemo floppy images for HAM6 or HAM8 if you have Kickstart 3.0 or 3.1, but not on 3.1.4 or Hyperion 40.72. For OS 3.1.4 it's also possible to use the hm020 or HM020 versions, but you would need a different FBlit.cfg and the DefIcons tool v44+, and no DontShowIBorder.

And NO! You won't need any special HAM iconsets when you install my hm020 or HM020 version, all existing icons are automatically displayed in HAM6 or HAM8 without changing the icon files. But you have to install the correct FullPalette.prefs file in ENVARC:sys. So, only support for either HAM6 or HAM8 is possible, but not both at the same time. (Don't forget, floppies are very slow)
OK, tried this today, but I can't get it work.

First I have 1mb kickstart with 3.1.4 modules, your icon.library 46.4 and some other modules inside of it. Including workbench.library. I use MULibs to map it to fast ram.

Version command doesn't tell much, it just says that icon.library is 46.4, is it new enough?

I installed ullpalette and included prefs file. I doesn't seem to work with MuiScreenmode wich can promote Wb to use HAM8 screenmode.? I would like NOT to put anything new to my DEVS/Monitors drawer.
utri007 is offline  
Old 26 January 2019, 21:10   #3022
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,498
No, you can not just use any icon.library 46.4. You will need the "-hm020" version for HAM6 or the "_HM020" for HAM8. Best to use the latest build 511. Copy one of them to Libs:icon.library without the extension or put it into your custom ROM. If you want to make some tests before changing the ROM, you could remove the wrong resident library with "RemLib >NIL: icon.library" (don't add a path like 'Libs:').

To check the installed version use "Version icon.library FULL". It should display "(hm020)" or "(HM020)" at the end.

Make sure that the correct FullPalette.prefs file is installed in ENVARC:Sys and nowhere else. The files for HAM6 and HAM8 differ, because HAM6 has 16 base colors and HAM8 64 base colors. So, don't mix them up.

Enable the "HAM" option in MUIScreenmodePrefs and use 16 base colors for HAM6 or 64 base colors for HAM8.

In case you want to try FBlit use the FBlit.cfg for WB 3.1.4/3.5/3.9 and remove every P96 driver like Native from Devs:monitors.
PeterK is offline  
Old 27 January 2019, 02:42   #3023
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 837
Thanks again. So I need to add something like this to ss


RemLib >NIL: icon.library
LoadResident >NIL: LIBS:icon.library REBOOT


But also a FullPalette prefs, I need to check from readme how to do that.
utri007 is offline  
Old 27 January 2019, 03:15   #3024
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,498
No, only RemLib >NIL: icon.library
(LoadResident or LoadModule will probably not work, because they won't replace a library by another one with the same version number or you would get into a reboot loop).

Copy FullPalette.prefs to ENVARC:Sys, FPPrefs to C: and call FPPrefs after IPrefs in your s-s.

Last edited by PeterK; 27 January 2019 at 11:52.
PeterK is offline  
Old 27 January 2019, 13:38   #3025
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
No, only RemLib >NIL: icon.library
(LoadResident or LoadModule will probably not work, because they won't replace a library by another one with the same version number or you would get into a reboot loop).
OK, I'm confused, if I can't use loadresident or loadmodule, how do I load it? Setpatch loads it? I neet to put remlib before setpatch?
utri007 is offline  
Old 27 January 2019, 14:09   #3026
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,493
You can easily add the RemLib command to the user-startup, Loadmodule replaces library only if the one in the kickstart is different
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 January 2019, 14:45   #3027
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
You can easily add the RemLib command to the user-startup, Loadmodule replaces library only if the one in the kickstart is different
Yes, remlib unloads module? But does it also load module, from libs??
utri007 is offline  
Old 27 January 2019, 14:50   #3028
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
Yes, remlib unloads module? But does it also load module, from libs??

Why would it have to? It's just a library, like all the others in LIBS:, and will be loaded when needed.
kolla is offline  
Old 27 January 2019, 17:47   #3029
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Why would it have to? It's just a library, like all the others in LIBS:, and will be loaded when needed.
OK, thanks. I ques I was trapped to thought it needs to be resident, because it is in rom.
utri007 is offline  
Old 27 January 2019, 18:51   #3030
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 837
Tested, I couldn't get it work.

Library loaded OK, checked with version icon.library FULL command.
FullPaletter prefs loaded
Screenmode changed with MUI Screemode to HAM

Prety sure that there wasn't more than 64 colors. I have some OS4 icons wich are true color and Glow isons are also a 16 bit colors?

I tried with Picasso96 native driver, but also a FBLIt with included config file.
utri007 is offline  
Old 27 January 2019, 20:55   #3031
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,498
Please make a screenshot with the FullPalette Preferences editor, the MUIScreenmodePrefs and the attached 3 icons from T.zip.

Update: Of course, background images (wallpapers) can only share the 16 or 64 fixed base colors of the HAM6 or HAM8 palette. Maybe that is the reason why you were confused?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HAM8.png
Views:	64
Size:	55.1 KB
ID:	61795  
Attached Files
File Type: zip T.zip (38.4 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by PeterK; 27 January 2019 at 23:54.
PeterK is offline  
Old 28 January 2019, 00:31   #3032
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Please make a screenshot with the FullPalette Preferences editor, the MUIScreenmodePrefs and the attached 3 icons from T.zip.

Update: Of course, background images (wallpapers) can only share the 16 or 64 fixed base colors of the HAM6 or HAM8 palette. Maybe that is the reason why you were confused?

You are right, it do work. My expectations might have been too high. Sorry Though those os3.9 icons should have also get benefits from this? I ques I need to convert background image to IFF / HAM8, to get it look good.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OS_HAM8.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	1.03 MB
ID:	61797  
utri007 is offline  
Old 28 January 2019, 00:46   #3033
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,498
Yes, OS 3.5+ ColorIcons also benefit, because each of them can have its own 255 colors out of 16 million, not depending all on the same shared screens palette. HAM8 can display up to ~262000+ colors and HAM6 4096. Your icons seem to have 32 colors only and I feel ashamed that I don't know a magic trick to let them look more colorful, not even on a TrueColor screen. Any suggestions on how to do that are welcome.

A very good compromise between excellent quality, fast speed and low memory consumption are Ken's Icons v1-v3 with up to 255 colors. My personal favorite is the v2 iconset.
http://www.five-star.com/kens_icons/downloads/
For more iconsets have a look into my Aminet package under downloads. You can use any TrueColor OS4 or PNG iconset too and convert them into ColorIcons by calling "ConvertTrueColor", update the window and snapshot PNG icons or save IconInfo of OS4 icons.

If you want to make a HAM wallpaper then you would need to use exactly my 16 or 64 base colors for the HAM6 or HAM8 palette (included as IFF in my package). But a HAM background has the disadvantage of producing HAM color glitches when parts of it are covered by a window in front of it. You will see many HAM ramps because there is a wrong information for the blitter at the border about what the (Hold) color of the previous pixel under the window was. You can notice this effect already when you move a window partially over my colorwheel icon.

Last edited by PeterK; 28 January 2019 at 03:27.
PeterK is offline  
Old 28 January 2019, 09:41   #3034
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,783
Did we ever conclude on whether HAM backdrops work with post OS 3.1 v40 Workbench?
kolla is offline  
Old 28 January 2019, 10:46   #3035
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,498
No, I didn't try it out yet. It may depend on the picture.datatype, the used datatype and WBPattern or something else.
PeterK is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 22:13   #3036
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,493
Ciao Pietro, i noticed that the good old IconEditor OS3.9 on my OS can load/edited/save the Icon and the OS 4.1 format
They are not of quality, they only have some small imperfections on the sides, but OS 3.1.4 recognizes them

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 19 February 2019 at 00:13.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 22:18   #3037
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,498
No, the OS 3.9 IconEdit can not handle OS4 or PNG icons, but my icon.library converts them automatically into the OS 3.5 ColorIcon format. And of course, ColorIcons have no alpha channel and only up to 255 colors.

The OS 3.1.4 icon.library v45.22 won't load them into IconEdit.
PeterK is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 22:24   #3038
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,493
Yes but the strange thing that saved the icon in the OS 4.1 format, as you can see, i written AFA and the icon is not a Dual-PNG otherwise Dopus4 would have seen it as a PNG image, even OS 4.1 sees that icon perfectly .

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 19 February 2019 at 00:13.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 22:26   #3039
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
The OS 3.1.4 icon.library v45.22 won't load them into IconEdit.
You have arrived second

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=96128
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 22:31   #3040
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,498
Maybe that is another side effect of your AfA + icon_lib.exe + icon.library + RemLib crap.

Edit: I've just tested that and the OS 3.9 IconEdit never saves in the OS4 format, not even under your strange configuration. It's only another of Carlo's fairytales ...

Did you see my "Icon Format Change" requester when saving from IconEdit or not? Did you really make any modifications (edited) the icon images and were these changes also saved?

Sorry Carlo, but the 3.1.4 IconEdit is the old one from OS 3.1 which can only handle planar icon images.

Last edited by PeterK; 31 January 2019 at 23:19.
PeterK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 14:57
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 19:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 05:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 16:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 02:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13597 seconds with 14 queries