English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 November 2018, 21:49   #2961
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,499
Hello kolla,

I had a similar confusion yesterday with the Kickstart of 3.1.4, which has no icon.library or workbench.library included but just a loader for both. And this loader tries to find a valid library in any drive (SYS, DF0, DF1, DH0, DH1 ...) under LIBS/icon.library.

In my case I wanted to test an OS4 icon.library v50.6 and copied it into Libs:, and then I was surprised that it was really booting my system quite normally. After looking into Scout's library list I saw v46.4.506 instead of 50.6. The loading of 50.6 probably failed and then the 3.1.4 loader has tried to find a library on the next mounted drive in libs.

So, unmount all other partitions and drives with libs/icon.library before you check that again.
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 November 2018, 22:08   #2962
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
. And this loader tries to find a valid library in any drive (SYS, DF0, DF1, DH0, DH1 ...) under LIBS/icon.library.
Ciao Peter, strange, this in my opinion is a wrong procedure! otherwise you can not have a backup archive
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 November 2018, 22:16   #2963
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,499
Yes Carlo, that's also my opinion because this loader will not even inform you when the loading from LIBS: fails as long as it can find the library somewhere else. That's ThoR's magic.
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 November 2018, 22:22   #2964
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,796
Right, I knew about that functionality, but not about its details... such as this kickstart module presenting itself as Icon.library 45.22, even when your icon.library is present (and the funny meddling with version info, such as keeping the date string (I presume because your library does not have a date string present)).

Anyways, I removed the kickstart module icon_wb_45.194 or whatever it was called, from my kickstart builder, and things are now a lot more normal
kolla is offline  
Old 29 November 2018, 22:34   #2965
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,499
I also got a requester from that loader when I tried to boot my HAM IconDemo floppies on Kickstart 3.1.4:

"Insert a disk with libs/workbench.library into ANY drive".
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 November 2018, 23:25   #2966
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
I also got a requester from that loader when I tried to boot my HAM IconDemo floppies on Kickstart 3.1.4:

"Insert a disk with libs/workbench.library into ANY drive".
If i understand correctly, OS 3.1.4 has ignored your library on the floppy?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 November 2018, 23:34   #2967
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,499
No, on my IconDemos is no workbench.library, because Kickstart 3.0/3.1 have that already unlike 3.1.4. Distributing the WBLib would also be illegal, so IconDemo floppies for 3.1.4 will never be possible. I think, only OS 3.0 is freely distributable.
PeterK is offline  
Old 30 November 2018, 16:50   #2968
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 673
It will work if you swap the disks temporary or better have a second floppy and put WB disk there. You can also make the needed library resident (LoadModule) before booting from demo floppy.
Michael is offline  
Old 30 November 2018, 16:58   #2969
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,499
That's too sophisticated for a normal user.
PeterK is offline  
Old 30 November 2018, 18:13   #2970
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
That's too sophisticated for a normal user.


A4000T was always too sophisticated for normal users
kolla is offline  
Old 08 December 2018, 02:24   #2971
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,499
A dirty and risky experiment in Area 51:

Since it's not allowed to enter this forbidden zone icon.library now pretends to be V51 to get into it without accepting the rules which could be dangerous. Icon.library 51.4.510 TC020 only supports one of the new V51 features to let the tool Eastern render its thumbnail preview icons for your pictures as ARGB TrueColor images by using IconControlA() and SetImageDataFormat even under OS 3.x. This gives much better quality than the poor dithering of Eastern that it uses for V44 libraries. This version is not made for OS4, of course. The preview icons can not be saved in TrueColor like they are displayed, they are converted into the OS 3.5 format with 255 colors then, but that's still looking better than the dithered icons created by Eastern. Please report any conflicts from Area 51.
http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/eastern

If you want to create icons for your pictures permanently then better use Image2Icon and i2iGUI and select the OS4 TrueColor format for the images. This also works with icon.library v46.
http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/image2icon
http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/i2iGUI-V2

Btw, AfA_OS has a patch for DOpus 5.82 to support DefIcons and Eastern instead of the FileType definitions. This also works in Area 51.

Last edited by PeterK; 14 January 2019 at 00:31.
PeterK is offline  
Old 10 December 2018, 22:18   #2972
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,499
Update to icon.libary 46.4.511:

This is a small bugfix for the color reduction. This bug was probably never visible yet for icons with transparency until I made my experiment in Area 51 with Eastern and its opaque preview images, where very rarely some black pixels appeared at the top of some color mapped icons. Sometimes my test for color repetitions has compared the first pixels with a value outside of the images and for the rare case of matching values this bug got visible.
PeterK is offline  
Old 13 January 2019, 22:04   #2973
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,499
Ciao Peter, I wanted to tell you about a small problem I encountered with your library when using the program icontoiff

I state that icontoiff OS4 version works fine, while on OS3 I have two different behaviors based on the two libraries (IconLibrary46 and icon_lib.exe),
look at the three screenshots

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 02 February 2019 at 23:45.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 00:22   #2974
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,499
For me IconToIff for 68k never seems to work, not even with icon.library v45.1. Crap ...

I guess, IconToIff is trying to use the v51 command GetImageDataFormat, which is supported by AfA's icon_lib.exe and OS4 only. But then OS 3.9 still has no picture datatype support for saving ARGB images with a true alpha channel.

Last edited by PeterK; 14 January 2019 at 21:40.
PeterK is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 02:32   #2975
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,499
Also Icon.library 45.22 OS 3.1.4 not working with IconToIff
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 January 2019, 18:39   #2976
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 673
Slightly of topic, but is there a tool in existence that can display all 4 icon images at the same time and maybe allow to change them independently ?
(classic icon, selected classic icon, normal glow icon, selected glow icon)
Michael is offline  
Old 16 January 2019, 20:33   #2977
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,499
Yes, sometimes I've seen that tool already in my dreams , but when I wake up it always disappears ...
PeterK is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 17:43   #2978
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 673
A small quick experiment, could not figure out how to show a classic icon for now...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	si.png
Views:	136
Size:	9.9 KB
ID:	61645  
Michael is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 18:09   #2979
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
A small quick experiment, could not figure out how to show a classic icon for now...
If you need the old planar images from a ColorIcon then call GetIconTagList() with the tag ICONGETA_GetPaletteMappedIcon set to FALSE (0). It returns a DiskObject structure with a sub-structure do_Gadget with pointers to GadgetRender and SelectRender which are both Image structures. From old icon.libraries (not with v46) you should get that DiskObject structure with GetDiskObject() by default.
http://aminet.net/package/dev/asm/StructureGuide

Last edited by PeterK; 19 January 2019 at 18:39.
PeterK is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 21:27   #2980
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
For me IconToIff for 68k never seems to work, not even with icon.library v45.1. Crap ...

I guess, IconToIff is trying to use the v51 command GetImageDataFormat, which is supported by AfA's icon_lib.exe and OS4 only. But then OS 3.9 still has no picture datatype support for saving ARGB images with a true alpha channel.
Peter was asking this because I'm testing IconEdit 68k version, kindly developed by its author upon my request.

The original IconEdit version makes use of "CopyIcon", but given the negative outcome on OS3 the developer tried to replace "CopyIcon" with "IconToIff".

Unfortunately IconToIff 68k version does not work well as the OS4 version and therefore this experiment has not been successful.

At the moment IconEditor68k works well in managing and generating Dual-PNG icons, it works well even all the tools, but it can not import icons .info
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 14:57
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 19:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 05:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 16:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 02:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14097 seconds with 14 queries