English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2009, 18:54   #61
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 51
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
oh dear sounds like another nite sorting probs out Supamax

just booted amax2 on 1200 yay, screen is a bit corrupt (usual blitter probs) but it gave me enough to boot mac system 6.03 so I`m makeing sum progress

trying to dms mac system 6.03 up the unpack it 2 a disk just 2 see if it works
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 19:04   #62
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
oh dear sounds like another nite sorting probs out Supamax
I hope not...

Quote:
trying to dms mac system 6.03 up the unpack it 2 a disk just 2 see if it works
Do you mean you can get a .dms from a non-AmigaDOS disk?
I thought that DMS couldn't handle protected/non-standard floppies!
I'm VERY interested (and I think prowler will be too), because that would be an easy way to dump A-Max-formatted floppies (and exchange between us).

Last edited by Supamax; 23 February 2009 at 19:21.
Supamax is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 19:20   #63
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 51
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
well i thought I`d give it a try but it did`t work, might be the disk

still looking for xcopy untill then its a case of fromat disk and copy stuff to it

oh well its all fun
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 19:25   #64
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
well i thought I`d give it a try but it did`t work, might be the disk

still looking for xcopy untill then its a case of fromat disk and copy stuff to it

oh well its all fun
Well, I suppose DMS will not handle non-standard tracks, as I imagined .

Please do not copy your floppies file-by-file! It's not the same thing as copying them as a whole. Furthermore, you can't copy a System Disk (which is bootable by the Mac) file-by-file: you will lose the booting facility. I tried it with CrossMac.
Supamax is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 19:27   #65
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 51
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yes I know we are after disk images

hope to do the file copying in amax to make a bootable floppy

but it looks like my 2nd disk drive is playing up or dead

need back up of mac system as only got it on 1 disk
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 19:32   #66
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
need back up of mac system as only got it on 1 disk
Use CrossMac . With it I easily duplicated all my A-Max floppies!
Do you want it uploaded to the Zone?
Supamax is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 19:58   #67
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 51
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
just installed CrossMac

but only my system disk and Mac playmate seem to work

mac write II seems dead
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 20:45   #68
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
just installed CrossMac

but only my system disk and Mac playmate seem to work
Did you successfully copied them on new floppies?

Quote:
mac write II seems dead
Did you try the included (in CrossMac) file copy/recovery utility?
Supamax is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 23:07   #69
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 51
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Haven`t tried to copy them yet and haven`t looked at cross mac so will explore the recovery thingy

but the problem remains how are we going to image the disks so i can upload them ?
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 23:33   #70
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
Haven`t tried to copy them yet and haven`t looked at cross mac so will explore the recovery thingy
About duplicating them, CrossMac is ideal. It installs a newer version of Diskcopy, so you will be able to copy an A-Max disk as it was an AmigaDOS disks. You click on the A-Max floppy icon, then click on the WB menu on "Copy" and voilĂ .

Quote:
but the problem remains how are we going to image the disks so i can upload them ?
I know... A solution could be Emplant. If you can make it run (how? I asked hit to tell us ) on your A1200, then you'll be able to directly dump your A-Max floppies.
Supamax is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 00:09   #71
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
i've just installed emplant. the problem with my winuae setup (040/88x and workbench 3.9) was the installer from the emplant disk. just gave guru.
so i deleted the installer and the installscript was using c:installer. that works well.
the emplant installer adds some lines at the top of the s:startup-sequence. these lines invoke "RsrvCold" program. maybe its already in your startup-sequnce so it will give error, if its started twice ?
i guess thats the trouble with the "yellow screen". it should not harm the harddrive itself.


using a quadra rom i found using google, just crashed the emplant emu. so i could not test it. maybe different cpu settings, or it just wont work with workbench 3.9. not sure yet.
it also crashs, if i try to increase the memory in the configure.

Last edited by hit; 24 February 2009 at 00:16.
hit is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 00:14   #72
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Hey, that Emplant disk is a great upload, hit!

Whether we succeed in dumping A-Max-formatted floppies with it or not, that's one hell of a useful application.

Thanks again, mate!

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 01:49   #73
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Hi Supamax,

Tonight I have been searching online for older versons of popular alternative Macintosh disk copying/imaging programs which might operate under A-Max emulation without the prohibitive memory requirement of Disk Copy.

I have found DiskDup+ 2.5, Disk Charmer 2.2.1 and ShrinkWrap 1.3.1

If these are OK in Macintosh Plus emulation, then they may well be suitable for dumping the A-Max floppies from within the A-Max emulator.

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 02:18   #74
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,556
Hi prowler,

great , we're almost there, I feel it!
Could you try them on your Mac Plus emulator (you have waaay better experience than me), or do you need me to try them in A-Max first?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hit View Post
using a quadra rom i found using google, just crashed the emplant emu. so i could not test it.
Hi hit,

I read this on Emplant v1.7 docs (I don't know if your version is older or not):
SPECIAL HARDWARE AND SOFTWARE REQUIREMENTS

HARDWARE

An Amiga 2000 or 3000 with a 68020 or 68030 processor.
(68040 compatibility is unconfirmed, A4000 support is
promised "soon", and an A1200 board is in the works.)

MAC II/IIx/IIcx ROM's.

SOFTWARE

Macintosh System 6.0.5 or greater

I suppose I will never be able to run it on my A600, but I will be able to use it in WinUAE, and I will be able to create A-Max extended .adfs which I can then copy to real floppies with the aid of Powercopy (hopefully).

Last edited by Supamax; 24 February 2009 at 02:32. Reason: merged two posts into one
Supamax is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 02:31   #75
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,556
I found the Emplant manual!

http://amiga.resource.cx/manual/Emplant.pdf

There are GREAT informations inside!!!!
Supamax is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 02:31   #76
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Hi prowler,

great , we're almost there, I feel it!
Could you try them on your Mac Plus emulator (you have waaay better experience than me), or do you need me to try them in A-Max first?
Hi Supamax,

I'll try them in my Mac Plus emulator. It's all set up on this machine. I'd be doing it now, but these old utilities always seem to be archived using much later versions of the compression software than will decompress successfully using software that will run on the same machines the utilities themselves were designed for.
I'll have to extract them on my Macintosh.

Those that work OK, I'll upload tomorrow in zipped MacBinary format for you to try in A-Max.

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 02:36   #77
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,556
Just look at page 57 of the .pdf manual!

The Disk Converter is all we need .
The first one who finds it on an Emplant disk wins a lot of hugs & kisses by me

Last edited by Supamax; 24 February 2009 at 02:43.
Supamax is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 02:44   #78
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Those that work OK, I'll upload tomorrow in zipped MacBinary format for you to try in A-Max.
prowler
Thanks, my friend!
Supamax is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 02:47   #79
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Just look at page 57 of the .pdf manual!

The Disk Converter is all we need .
Hi Supamax!

Do you think I should drop everything else and search the Emplant archives on my Aminet CDs and Emulator Compilation CDs for this Disk Converter now?

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 02:49   #80
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Do you think I should drop everything else and search the Emplant archives on my Aminet CDs and Emulator Compilation CDs for this Disk Converter now?

prowler
If what I read on the manual is true... YES! ABSOLUTELY!!!!!!!!
Did you notice how many formats it can manage? Even Mac's Disk Copy, DiskDup+,...

EDIT: perhaps it can also be found on hit's uploaded adf. I didn't check it yet
Supamax is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mighty Max Retro1234 project.aGTW 21 10 March 2019 13:15
A-Max ][+ on A2000 shirsch support.Hardware 22 31 March 2014 05:15
MAX Rally mai HOL data problems 1 26 November 2009 22:15
OS 3.5 Max HD Size TheCorfiot support.Hardware 19 01 April 2009 12:50
Space MAX Fred the Fop request.Old Rare Games 4 09 November 2001 17:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11920 seconds with 14 queries