English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 February 2019, 12:02   #1
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,498
OS3 Tool Bar To Scroll

You know if there's anything on OS3, but so does OS4, which adds a tab to the bar (i don't know what it's called in English) to scroll through the various windows.

To be clear, I'm referring to what AROS x86/68k systems use, as shown in the screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tool Bar Scroll.jpg
Views:	224
Size:	65.1 KB
ID:	62000  
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 09 February 2019, 14:19   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,781
DOpus5 has it.
thomas is offline  
Old 09 February 2019, 15:41   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,498
Thanks thomas, i know but I don't like the Dopus5 based workbench, i would like to have it on a traditional Workbench also RTG.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 February 2019, 13:16   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,779
I'm not entirely sure what you're looking for, but if it's a simple way to switch between different open windows, try DepthMenu. It's somewhat similar to the function provided with OS4.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 14 February 2019, 21:37   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
I'm not entirely sure what you're looking for, but if it's a simple way to switch between different open windows, try DepthMenu. It's somewhat similar to the function provided with OS4.
What I'm looking for you can see it highlighted with an arrow in the screenshot.
"DepthMenu"I can't make it work, I get strange errors, what is required besides the popupmenu.library?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 17:34   #6
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,779
I see it in the screenshot, but that looks more like a gadget to cycle the current window to a different location, rather than to cycle to other available windows.

I've no idea what's needed for it to work on OS3. Perhaps it's worth asking the author, if SnoopDOS doesn't help?
Daedalus is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 17:40   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,498
No help from snoopdos, once started nothing happens, tried on many OS, maybe something is missing
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 23 February 2019, 04:50   #8
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,784
What you want is something that supports so called "navigational" browsing, this is not supported by Workbench, as it is from the ground up a so called "spatial" file browser.
kolla is offline  
Old 23 February 2019, 10:00   #9
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
What you want is something that supports so called "navigational" browsing, this is not supported by Workbench, as it is from the ground up a so called "spatial" file browser.
Isn't the AROS 68k based on Workbench 3.0?

AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 23 February 2019, 11:23   #10
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,784
AROS Wanderer is not based on Workbench, no. Nothing in AROS is really based on AmigaOS, it's based on the APIs of AmigaOS.
kolla is offline  
Old 23 February 2019, 13:07   #11
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,498
Yes, thank you, but it's a sort of clone inspired by the Workbench.

http://tinyurl.com/7jzfacf
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 23 February 2019, 15:29   #12
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,784
Have you tried using Wanderer on AmigaOS?
kolla is offline  
Old 23 February 2019, 16:15   #13
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Have you tried using Wanderer on AmigaOS?
But I can do the contrary

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 15 March 2019 at 23:14.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 February 2019, 17:02   #14
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
You know if there's anything on OS3, but so does OS4, which adds a tab to the bar (i don't know what it's called in English) to scroll through the various windows.
Not AFAIK, but there are arexx scripts that allow full control of windows. These can be added to the menu, or assigned to keys. If you use AddMenu.rexx in AfAWB they are already set up. They are part of the THE package:

http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/THE2
James is offline  
Old 28 February 2019, 18:04   #15
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,498
Thank you James, i know THE i also updated it to THE 3 and translated it into Italian, having tabs on the low window as shown on AROS 68k is very convenient.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 04 March 2019 at 18:08.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 March 2019, 00:15   #16
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Thank you James, i know THE i also updated it to THE 3 and translated it into Italian,
Sorry, my memory failed me. The arexx commands I was thinking of are not part of THE. I think the one closest in function to that AROS button is CDOP:

http://os4depot.net/index.php?functi...cript/cdop.lha

It will close the active drawer and open its parent.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
having tabs on the low window as shown on AROS 68k is very convenient.
Yes, unfortunately I have never seen anything that can add that functionality.
James is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shell: Scroll Bar AMIGASYSTEM support.Apps 9 21 September 2018 15:38
68000/OS3.1 tool which use FastRam for background picture apex support.Apps 0 08 April 2017 00:24
Help please - Making Frankenstein os3.0 with os3.5/9 bits Abdabs support.Other 3 27 February 2015 22:51
ECS. Make OS3.1 look like OS3.9 without loosing speed. lukassid support.Apps 21 19 February 2013 01:13
LED Bar(s) Charlie support.Hardware 3 12 October 2009 23:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10771 seconds with 16 queries