English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 January 2019, 12:02   #21
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,161
That is so weird. I have never owned an external drive and used to play RR regularly on my A1000.
Dunny is offline  
Old 17 January 2019, 22:42   #22
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,437
External drive “required” means you don’t need to swap the disks 1000 times!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 03:24   #23
webmany
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oakbank, Canada
Posts: 73
While I am waiting for the external floppy I have done some more reading. Some people have reported in the past problems running rocket ranger PAL version on an NTSC machine. Does anyone have an NTSC version I could try?

Here is the link: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=43749

Last edited by webmany; 29 January 2019 at 05:53. Reason: Added link
webmany is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 08:29   #24
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,437
I have the NTSC version on my uploads folder on the EAB file server.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 18:54   #25
webmany
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oakbank, Canada
Posts: 73
Tried the ones in your upload folder and they fail at the workbench screen. I then tried pulling the disks out of the WHDload bundle and booting them, it makes it farther, but then drops to a blue screen that has resume at the top left, but the menu bar moves to the middle of the screen and the system freezes. I guess i'll just wait for the external floppy.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
I have the NTSC version on my uploads folder on the EAB file server.
webmany is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 22:37   #26
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,437
Maybe you have a bad disk or disk drive on your 1000?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 30 January 2019, 06:25   #27
webmany
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oakbank, Canada
Posts: 73
I am running this on a gotek running the latest flashfloppy
webmany is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 05:25   #28
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: DigitalCorruption/iNT
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by webmany View Post
Does anyone have a working copy of Rocket Ranger in ADF? Every copy I have found dosen't work properly.
ADF doesn't mean real floppy. I wondered about that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmany View Post
The sites I have found have multiple versions of it. The farthest I have gone is the game loads, but then freezes just after the arrows showing the germans attacking other countries.
This is problematic to using a floppy emulator that isn't setup correctly. Or if RAM becomes bad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmany View Post
Both games freeze at the workbench screen. This is on a A1000 with 512K ram, so thinking it might not have enough memory. Thanks for the help.
I''d check the memory...run some test software for A1000 and make sure it's good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
No - I played from the original disks (same boxed version as that image) on a single-drive A1000 without any issues at all.
Webmany us using an emulated floppy vs real, so the differences are very different at times. I have an emulated floppy for my A4000 and it's not the same. My HxC doesn't emulate HD floppies at all. It also doesn't emulate DF1 to DF3 very well if not AmigaDOS formatted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmany View Post
Its an amiga 1000 with 512K ram and kickstart 1.3, but I can try 1.2. I have a single gotek running the latest flashfloppy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by webmany View Post
Tried kickstart 1.2 with the disks from here and any others I can find. Thinking something must be messed up on the amiga.
I think it's not Amiga problem but rather emulated floppy. The emulated floppy is using RAM a real drive doesn't use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmany View Post
I think I have it figured, thanks to the box. I was trying to use a single floppy drive. It even messes up in emulation with one drive. I am tracking down another drive and will give it a try.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 05:40   #29
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: DigitalCorruption/iNT
Posts: 269
I have original NTSC floppies I could send, if you want? If I remember correctly, they aren't protected except for the wheel. I really disliked the wheel. If you have problems with Red and such, it's hard to read. I became very irritated with the game because of the wheel. The WHDLoad version doesn't help, the letters, for ME, are too squished to make sense of (I know you meant well JOTD). But I greatly respect the attempt.

Once I found a "printable" version of the codes, I could play the game well. It was challenging to make the code table. I used hours doing so..I loved, loved, loved the game, once some one else gave me a print. At that time, seeing colors differently wasn't understood well at all. Small (4:3) monitors..I do Not miss them!

Last edited by AC/DC HACKER!; 02 February 2019 at 06:06.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engish Scans for Rocket Ranger ricky500 request.Old Rare Games 4 07 January 2012 02:22
Rocket Ranger BigHyorgi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 29 December 2011 14:00
rocket ranger not installing stuntpup project.WHDLoad 1 27 August 2007 22:10
Rocket Ranger Old Fool support.Games 2 26 July 2007 14:43
Rocket Ranger Demo requested Mache request.Demos 2 28 August 2003 13:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07595 seconds with 16 queries