English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 April 2018, 23:31   #21
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by elessar84 View Post
Thanks to this version works properly. Whdload I give away, maybe it's my fault and I miss something in the system.
No problem

...though I should really update this and add in the CPTrainer.

Only problem being that I'll need to make the .HDF self-booting / not load WB to save memory as per notes:

Code:
           ********************* IMPORTANT *************************
   
           You cannot start this trainer from workbench because 
           Capital Punishment needs all your memory!! So, do
           something like this:

           1. Reset your computer and hold down both mousebuttons.
           2. Now click on the right button called "boot with no
              startup-sequence"
           3. Now type in "CD [gamepath]" without quotes of course.
              E.Q. "CD dh2:games/capital"
           4. Now type in "Execute trainer". The trainer will start
              then.

           ********************* IMPORTANT *************************  
            

 If this was succesfully, a nice GUI appears. Here you can select the
 level and fighter you wanna play. 

 Important fighter information: If you select an other fighter as
                                Corben Wedge (default fighter). You
                                MUST select in the fighter menu
                                (where you see the big pictures of
                                all 4 fighters) the first one. In 
                                this case Corben Wedge. If you select
                                an other like Sarmon, Wakantanka or 
                                Demona, the trainer will not work !!

Last edited by DamienD; 25 April 2018 at 23:43.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 April 2018, 15:59   #22
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,626
...after playing around last night, now I know why I didn't add in the CPTrainer.

Basically I can get it loaded, select options but after clicking "Start" nothing happens i.e. the game doesn't launch:



Makes no difference if not booting into WB and following the process detailed in the ********************* IMPORTANT *************************.
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 00:41   #23
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,626
The problem with the WHDLoad versions is that they are always in German; when running via emulation anyway

See this thread: Capital Punishment english version

...and RetroNerd's post here.
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 10:46   #24
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,927
Wrong.

whdload version allows to select english or german

Zoned the version for ya.

After that maybe we'll try some "back on topic" action.
jotd is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 13:43   #25
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,626
Last post on this...

Not sure where you got that file from jotd; it's using the version 1.1a slave but looks different to Retroplay's one on the "EAB File Server" i.e: CapitalPunishment_v1.1a_AGA_1758.lha

Anyway, just gave it a try on my "ClassicWB Lite 3.1" .HDF. Launched from the "Capital Punishment EN" icon:



...and here's the results:

DamienD is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 14:37   #26
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,927
Damien can you move the CP thingy in the thread you mentionned? I'll do what I can to help, but just not in the CD32load thread.

Also, maybe depends on whdload version. I downloaded the archive on EAB server and still english (I don't see your EN and DE icons int the archive BTW). Check that you don't have "CUSTOM1=1" set in the "english" icon.
jotd is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 14:46   #27
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,209
I have tried the WHDLoad version and CUSTOM1 works as expected, i.e. CUSTOM1=0 -> English, CUSTOM1=1 -> German.

I have also checked the game code, the language is detected by the checking if file "data/data/all/p2" exists, if that is the case, the game switches to German language. So simply renaming/deleting the file will fix the "game runs in German language" problem. There might be a bug in C-Fou's patch code.

Last edited by StingRay; 20 January 2019 at 15:24. Reason: typo
StingRay is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 15:15   #28
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
I have tried the WHDLoad version and CUSTOM1 works as expected, i.e. CUSTOM1=0 -> English, CUSTOM1=1 -> German.
Added "CUSTOM1=0" to the slave icon but still not working unfortunately:



Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
I have also checked the game code, the language is detected by the checking if file "data/data/all/p2" exists, if that is the case, the game switches to German language. So simply renaming/deleting the file will fix the "game runs in German language" problem. There might be in bug in C-Fou's patch code.
Great, deleting the file "P2" definitely forces the game into English
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 15:22   #29
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Added "CUSTOM1=0" to the slave icon but still not working unfortunately

I guess there is a bug in C-Fou's patch code. I may update the patch one day as this is quite an annoying problem and most people prefer the game to be in English language.
StingRay is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 15:24   #30
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,626
Many thanks Sting

...even with the advise given; this cool, easily done and a nice workaround for now.
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERROR: Capital Punishment (T-Zer0 version) - Illegal Intruction Retro-Nerd project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 35 25 April 2009 01:14
capital punishment stuntpup support.Games 11 04 September 2007 20:44
Capital Punishment formater support.Games 5 08 June 2007 08:44
Capital Punishment version ADF Vollldo request.Old Rare Games 1 28 May 2006 23:19
Capital Punishment spoUP support.Games 25 01 February 2003 20:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10797 seconds with 15 queries