English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 February 2012, 03:28   #21
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
It will almost certainly require at least Mac OS X 10.6 (because that's what I compiled it on), but hopefully it will work on 10.7 as well.
Works fine for me on 10.7.3 when I run it from the command line and specify a conf file. Is there a particular place I should put the conf file if I want to run fs-uae from the Finder?

Great work, by the way!
ant512 is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 03:50   #22
finrock
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by ant512 View Post
Is there a particular place I should put the conf file if I want to run fs-uae from the Finder?
I had success placing the fs-uae.conf file in this path:

Code:
~/.config/fs-uae/fsuae.conf
Then, when I launched the app from Finder it worked great. If you specify .adf files for each floppy drive it works great:

Code:
floppy_drive_0 = ../Resources/workbench.adf
However, it seems as if floppy-swapping doesn't work as expected yet.

-Finrock
 
Old 05 February 2012, 11:07   #23
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by finrock View Post
However, it seems as if floppy-swapping doesn't work as expected yet.
You're quite right - It crashes quite hard when swapping disks. This is already fixed, and I'll provide an updated version today.

Thank you for reporting the issue.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 13:42   #24
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by finrock View Post
I had success placing the fs-uae.conf file in this path:
Code:
~/.config/fs-uae/fsuae.conf
A small typo there; it should be
Code:
~/.config/fs-uae/fs-uae.conf
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 14:06   #25
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
New version: 0.9.2

Version 0.9.2:
  • fixed a crash occuring when swapping floppy disks
  • fixed problem with parent dirs not being created, preventing logging
  • created and added scripts/makefiles to create binary distributions for Windows and Mac OS X (debian files were already added)
  • add example.conf, README, COPYING and licence files to all distributions
  • source distribution is now patched for 64-bit support

Windows binary, Mac OS X bundle, Debian package and source code is posted to http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 17:03   #26
Gaula92
Registered User
 
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 527
Is there any hope for a Linux-64 deb release?

I can't compile my own 64bits binaries on Gentoo or Lubuntu 11.10 (64 bits):


/usr/bin/ld: obj/libfsemu.o: relocation R_X86_64_32 against `.rodata.str1.1' can not be used when making a shared object; recompile with -fPIC
obj/libfsemu.o: could not read symbols: Bad value
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [out/libfsemu.so.1.0] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/manuel/Downloads/fs-uae-0.9.2/libfsemu'
make: *** [libfsemu/out/libfsemu.a] Error 2

Last edited by Gaula92; 05 February 2012 at 17:09.
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 17:24   #27
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 46
Posts: 500
Yeah!! Works graet on Mac OS X 10.7.3 for me. BUT: How to enable my USB joypad?!

If I use the name (joystick_port_1 = USB GAME CONTROLLER) it doen't work
If I use the normal uae option (joystick_port_1 = joy0) it doesn't work

Any ideas?
nexusle is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 17:37   #28
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaula88@hotmail View Post
Is there any hope for a Linux-64 deb release?

I can't compile my own 64bits binaries on Gentoo or Lubuntu 11.10 (64 bits):

/usr/bin/ld: obj/libfsemu.o: relocation R_X86_64_32 against `.rodata.str1.1' can not be used when making a shared object; recompile with -fPIC
obj/libfsemu.o: could not read symbols: Bad value
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [out/libfsemu.so.1.0] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/manuel/Downloads/fs-uae-0.9.2/libfsemu'
make: *** [libfsemu/out/libfsemu.a] Error 2
Yes, I plan on installing a virtual machine with Debian stable 64-bit to build a 64-bit deb for distribution. In any case, it would be smart to test compilation on x86-64 myself, it seems

Anyway, the problem stems from the fact I have set up libfsemu to also build an (unused) shared library (and without the proper linker flags for x86-64). I'll fix this for the next source release.

In the meantime, you can open libfsemu/Makefile and change the line 51 from
Code:
libfsemu: out/$(library) out/$(shared)
to
Code:
libfsemu: out/$(library)

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 05 February 2012 at 19:55.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 18:17   #29
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
Yeah!! Works graet on Mac OS X 10.7.3 for me. BUT: How to enable my USB joypad?!

If I use the name (joystick_port_1 = USB GAME CONTROLLER) it doen't work
If I use the normal uae option (joystick_port_1 = joy0) it doesn't work

Any ideas?
Yes! This controller is not (yet) supported by fs-uae. Instead of just "guessing" the gamepad layout, fs-uae currently requires an explicit config.

You can create a configuration file for the gamepad yourself. I have added a new section "SUPPORTING NEW CONTROLLERS" to the README available at http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/README.html (refresh the page if the section does not show).

In your case, you would need to create the file "something/usb_game_controller.ini". I could create the file, but would need quite detailed information about the controller.

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 05 February 2012 at 18:32.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 19:18   #30
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 46
Posts: 500
This is the System Profiler entry of the USB GAME CONTROLLER. More I can't provide.

The Game Controller looks like the PSX Game Controller


Another question:

how do I use the two ROMs for the CD32 Emulation in config file?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	game.jpg
Views:	566
Size:	48.6 KB
ID:	30516  

Last edited by prowler; 05 February 2012 at 20:36. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
nexusle is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 19:35   #31
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
This is the System Profiler entry of the USB GAME CONTROLLER. More I can't provide.

The Game Controller looks like the PSX Game Controller
Good, that's enough information for me to identify the controller. But I also need to know the button number of each game pad button. Perhaps there is a Mac joystick tester application where you can press buttons and the application tells you what you have pressed? On Windows, you can test joysticks via the control panel, and Linux has a "jstest" program.

If the controller looks like a PSX controller, you could give me a list of descriptive button names and corresponding button numbers. E.g.:
square button is button 1
...
d-pad-left is button 8 (or hat left, or axis 1- or whatever it is).

Based on a complete list, I can create the configuration file.


Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
Another question:

how do I use the two ROMs for the CD32 Emulation in config file?
Use kickstart_file for the primary kickstart rom, and the undocumented "kickstart_ext_file" for the other (or just use [paths]rom_dir and let fs-uae find them automatically).
(BTW: I am currently implementing CD audio support for CD32, but it might not be finished tonight).

Last edited by prowler; 05 February 2012 at 20:38. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 19:38   #32
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 46
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
(or just use [paths]rom_dir and let fs-uae find them automatically)
This wasn't working. It works with A500/Kick 1.3 and A1200/Kick3.1 but not with CD32/Kick3.1
nexusle is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 19:43   #33
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaula88@hotmail View Post
Is there any hope for a Linux-64 deb release?

I can't compile my own 64bits binaries on Gentoo or Lubuntu 11.10 (64 bits):
I have compiled a version for Debian/AMD64:
http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/files/fs-....3-0_amd64.deb


The source code for 0.9.3 is also published. Changelog:
  • configuration option to keep the aspect when scaling the screen (see example.conf)
  • README: added information about supporting new controllers
  • example.conf: documented the kickstart_ext_file option
  • fs-uae compiles on Linux 64-bit now
(I will skip other binary releases for this minor version).

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
This wasn't working. It works with A500/Kick 1.3 and A1200/Kick3.1 but not with CD32/Kick3.1
OK, the default setting is very picky about which ROMs it accepts, it uses WinUAE's default setting for CD32, so if you haven't got exactly the preferred ROM files the automatic detection will fail. kickstart_ext_file should override this and work for you (I haven't actually tested it myself).

Last edited by prowler; 05 February 2012 at 20:40. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 19:59   #34
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 46
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
kickstart_ext_file should override this and work for you
Yes. I get no crash but the "Amiga" loops in a endless reset...

The same ROMs (Cloanto AF) works great with E-UAE as CD32 emulation
nexusle is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 20:28   #35
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
Yes. I get no crash but the "Amiga" loops in a endless reset...

The same ROMs (Cloanto AF) works great with E-UAE as CD32 emulation
You are quite correct. I took a "while" to figure this one out
libuae/cfgfile.cpp - quickstart code for CDTV and CD32 was coded a bit differently from the other quickstarts - if ROMs could not be autoconfigured, the chipset settings for CD32 was not set at all.

I dug out my Cloanto Forever 2008 CD and have verified that the fix works. I will create a new release later (I'll see I can get CDDA support in as well).
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 20:58   #36
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 46
Posts: 500
Great work!!!
nexusle is offline  
Old 06 February 2012, 05:52   #37
kire_online
Registered User
 
kire_online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
I will give this a go tonight, good to see active development in this area.
kire_online is offline  
Old 06 February 2012, 09:31   #38
kire_online
Registered User
 
kire_online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
Great work on this, I can hook into it from Plex and play my Amiga games on the big screen.
Just tried it on my macbook air, scrolling seems OK on Giana Sisters, the sound was fairly crap though.
I loved the floppy disk sounds, sounds like the real thing.
Keep up the great work.
kire_online is offline  
Old 06 February 2012, 16:53   #39
sebbi
Registered User
 
sebbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Frankfurt/Germany
Posts: 10
Hi,

i tried to compile the 0.9.3 source on archlinux x64 and got the following error:

g++ obj/fs-main.o obj/fs-menu.o obj/fs-mouse.o obj/fs-keyboard.o obj/fs-video.o obj/fs-joystick.o obj/libamiga.a -Llibfsemu/out -lfsemu `sdl-config --libs` `pkg-config --libs glib-2.0 gthread-2.0` -lpng -lz -lGL -lGLU -o out/fs-uae
/usr/bin/ld: obj/libamiga.a(libamiga-caps.o): undefined reference to symbol 'dlsym@@GLIBC_2.2.5'
/usr/bin/ld: note: 'dlsym@@GLIBC_2.2.5' is defined in DSO /lib/libdl.so.2 so try adding it to the linker command line
/lib/libdl.so.2: could not read symbols: Invalid operation

Any hints?
sebbi is offline  
Old 06 February 2012, 17:14   #40
Gaula92
Registered User
 
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 527
I got it to compile in 64 bit Linux with the fix suggested, thanks!

Is it possible to boot an HDF file in A1200 mode?
Is it possible to use a custom video mode for PAL 50HZ? Or at least ..is it possible to control internal refresh rate so we can have smooth scroll in NTSC games? (IE to force them into an exact given internal refreh rate, synced with a given monitor refresh rate)

thanks!
Gaula92 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible platform for Amiga Emulator? smiffy92 Amiga scene 1 18 February 2011 12:43
SPS Multi Platform Effort Is Go! CodyJarrett News 4 04 July 2010 21:13
Floppy Drive Emulation (Multi-Platform) Claw22000 Amiga scene 23 12 March 2009 07:01
poll for the multi platform tournament turrican3 EAB's competition 16 21 January 2009 21:24
Multi-platform Distributive Operating System (MPDOS) for Amiga JackTheKnife support.Hardware 2 10 December 2008 16:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:33.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.28147 seconds with 16 queries