English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 March 2010, 15:52   #1
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
a3000

well got the birthday gift early. look what she got me.. the 3.1 roms came with a little bit of flavor!
http://eab.abime.net/album.php?albumid=245

Woot!!! what a awesome wife!

gotta remove that battery i guess, looks like there is some rott on there, clean the case up too! 2 meg chip, 4 megs fast, 68030 68882 25 mhz. 80 meg hd..
more to come with a scsi zip and cdrom....

a few questions.

1 - can i use a 1084 monitor the same time with a vga monitor ?

2 - will a a500 floppy drive work as a replacement drive for df0 as for the eject button is missing.

3 - if no for question 2 then how to or what to use for a eject button for df0?

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 16:35   #2
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 42
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_loven View Post

1 - can i use a 1084 monitor the same time with a vga monitor ?
yes, but why ? A3000 has an onboard scandoubler. You can use VGA monitor to view all amiga native screenmodes.

If you're talking about a dual screen setup, I don't think it's possible.

Quote:
2 - will a a500 floppy drive work as a replacement drive for df0 as for the eject button is missing.
Yes, I mean they are electrically compatible, but you'll have to sort out the button issue.

Quote:
3 - if no for question 2 then how to or what to use for a eject button for df0?

lost
Pizza box spacer.
coze is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 17:01   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,064
You can just clip on the A3000 eject button into many A500 chinon mechanisms.
Jope is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 17:10   #4
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
awh ok. so the eject button i can unclip from a 500 chinon drive and re clip it on the a3000 drive then..
Also from what i have been reading from other threads, i can just snip off the battery as close to the board as possible and if there is leakage underneath the battery, just a little bit of water and vinegar will clean the board and neutralize anything there right. Everything looks clean and the battery looks like it leaked alittle but not reached the board.
i have not ran the machine since we picked it up and we did test it of course before she bought it for me.. nice pick up for 50 cdn eh!

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 17:57   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_loven View Post
so the eject button i can unclip from a 500 chinon drive and re clip it on the a3000 drive then..
Not as far as I remember. You need A3000 specific eject button.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_loven View Post
i can just snip off the battery as close to the board as possible and if there is leakage underneath the battery
Yes. Use very sharp snips and be very careful not to scratch the motherboard.
alexh is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 19:40   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Not as far as I remember. You need A3000 specific eject button.
Exactly, the button needs to be unclipped from the a3000 drive and clipped onto the a500 drive. I just noticed that your eject button is missing, just use a piece of plastic through the hole or something.
Jope is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 21:11   #7
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
ok will see what i can do about the eject button.. removed the battery and the positive side wasn't even attached to the clip. A gental wiggle and the other side came off.. I powered up and system up and running.. oh and its a 100 meg drive WOOT! So i took the water and white vinegar and clean up the green on the legs on a smaller chip to the left (fb485). Of course unplugged.(left to dry for a hr). Under the battery the green of the mother board is lifting.. almost like flaking off. Is there anything i can do, like put on it to keep it down because i don't want to damage it further cause everything seems to be working fine when powered up. I did take pic's but wife has camera now with kids swimming. I get to stay home cause our 3rd one is grounded.. Woot for me! lol want a life story?

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 22:33   #8
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
k just decided to check drive and it don't work.. I hooked up a external drive and it does not work either, just comes up df0:???? or df1:???? anything i can check to see whats up?
i also checked and the buster is #7. If that helps anything.. think i might have problems with the external zip drive and cdrom?
lost_loven is offline  
Old 22 March 2010, 01:47   #9
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
well here am talking to myself again lol.. but heres a update and thank god I didn't know (until like 50 web pages later of reading and clicking around for a few hrs on and off) the a3000 does have a cia chip (8520a) that i can swap out.. seeing I have 4 a500's, 1 being for parts i think i have this one solved!

any thoughts on what to put down on the mother board to stop where it is flaking where I pulled the battery? Would finger nail hardener work? (like a nail polish?)

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 22 March 2010, 01:51   #10
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_loven View Post
any thoughts on what to put down on the mother board to stop where it is flaking where I pulled the battery? Would finger nail hardener work? (like a nail polish?)
Yep, clear nail varnish is what I use for protecting exposed tracks after all pcb repairs.
prowler is offline  
Old 22 March 2010, 02:14   #11
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
would it be wise to put the nail varnish on the chip by fb485,, I cleaned green off the legs.. it would act like a protection for it too or not worry about it?

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 22 March 2010, 02:20   #12
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
It wouldn't do any harm to coat the chip legs - especially if the tinning is showing signs of corrosion. It would be prefereable to re-tin the legs with solder, but a coating of varnish would be a good second best if it's too tricky to get a soldering iron in there to apply the solder.
prowler is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Psu A3000 Cosmos request.Other 5 01 March 2010 13:56
FS: FULLY LOADED A3000, a bare bone A3000 and lots of Amiga Stuff! emc_errol MarketPlace 0 30 January 2009 23:33
My Modded A3000! Charlie Hardware mods 18 27 July 2007 20:36
What were A3000's good for? Unknown_K Retrogaming General Discussion 35 24 September 2006 00:56
A3000 Used jmmijo MarketPlace 13 09 April 2002 22:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12392 seconds with 13 queries