English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 August 2009, 16:01   #1
protek
Amiga hobbyist
protek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 217
RGB in digital photo frame

Has any of you tech wizards opened one of these el cheapo digital photo frames to see if they can take in RGB signal?

A 7" digiframe would make a nice looking monitor for A600.
protek is offline  
Old 13 August 2009, 16:05   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 40
Posts: 17,789
what about refresh rate?
s2325 is offline  
Old 13 August 2009, 16:23   #3
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
Why on earth would a 7" screen be a good idea for an a600?

It's not as if an a600 is only 5" wide.

7" is tiny! It's gonna be awful for viewing anything on.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 13 August 2009, 17:09   #4
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,328
It wouldn't be any good for my eyesight unless I stuck a giant magnifying glass in front of it

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 13 August 2009, 17:26   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,466
You're much better off with a screen for a PSOne. Cheaper, already have the RGB interface, about the same size.
alexh is offline  
Old 13 August 2009, 18:53   #6
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 54
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
And entire characters with the size of a single pixel of a decent monitor...
rkauer is offline  
Old 14 August 2009, 01:34   #7
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 42
Posts: 3,277
photo frame = beautiful women you have dated.
CM8833 Mk2 = Amiga 600
Paul_s is offline  
Old 14 August 2009, 04:53   #8
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Philips, ugh. Too heavy phosphor mask and less adjustments than on my C= one. I think it was an MK2 I had, can't swear. It's somewhere in the cellar since I got the lovely Commodore display.

Protek, check this scan, hehehe! Glad I didn't change handle, and good for you too ... !

Anyway, the Joytech 8" or so TFT for Playstation 2 Slim is what I use in my A600 portable (article on our site there). It has really good picture, hires is no problem but it's a bit overcontrast on the edges. Got some help and will provide a proper writeup when I've done the hack.

It was perfect for me and does PAL RGB input, but you might need a stand as it's made to screw onto the PS2 Slim. Should be easy to make one though, basically a steel plate with two metal angles and two nuts is all you need (as I always say).

If you guys mean the PSOne 5" screen with the round case, bluergh! There's also this by the same manuf http://www.scoopex1988.org/article-s...from-1991.html

But the lower you go under 8" the better your screen must be for anything other than lores games.
Photon is offline  
Old 14 August 2009, 05:35   #9
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 54
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Currently I'm using a LCD TV panel.

The screen is sufficient. 19"
rkauer is offline  
Old 14 August 2009, 08:46   #10
protek
Amiga hobbyist
protek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 217
You can't call PSOne or Joytech monitors exactly cheap, if you can get a 7" digital frame for 39 €. PSOne screens go close to a hundred bucks at ePay and those are used.
protek is offline  
Old 14 August 2009, 21:05   #11
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Well, I haven't heard of any digital frame hack for PAL resolution RGB, and I don't think they are suitable for moving graphics.

If you can stand blur and maybe PAL incompatibility flicker, you can get a cheap car TV for next to nothing. The one I got was even said to support PAL but was utterly useless due to the blur and flicker. I'm keeping it in case it works better with some other computer in my museum, and mine was from Hong Kong and so perhaps other manufacturers will have less blur and no flicker. If they support PAL at all, which they often don't.

12-14" fits the width of the A600, so if someone knows some PAL TV, maybe even with SCART, raise a hand. But the cinch is the 4:3 format and the price, I think. But at that size maybe it would at least be decent, check the A1000 composite hack on youtube.

At these small sizes, I think you will be unhappy with anything than screens made for PAL consoles; they need PAL RGB input or you will have to suffer the composite. If you want to play games on it, consider a 14" C108x CRT (you KNOW you have the space!!), they can be had for 10€ or so if you pick them up I think.
Photon is offline  
Old 14 August 2009, 21:13   #12
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 46
Posts: 5,274
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Not quite as portable as the PS2 8" screens, but this 13" one serves me well.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=537536&postcount=17
DDNI is offline  
Old 14 August 2009, 22:07   #13
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Hehe, nice. Not exactly a laptop but with a smaller suitcase and PSU, and a A600, you could have something smaller without having to customize a hinge at least! You use scandoubler, right?

Was about to ask for specs of the screen, but isn't it time we had a "screen compatibility list" like the CF card compatibility sticky? Where people could describe their solution and link to specs and sellers, what input they use, and give a grade+pros+cons? I started one anyway... http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=46742
Photon is offline  
Old 14 August 2009, 22:19   #14
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 46
Posts: 5,274
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Hi Photon, I dont have an SD/FF in that A1200.
The image is bog standard composite. I was surprised at how nice it was...
DDNI is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help identify these components!! (photo heavy thread) Rivkid Hardware pics 4 08 August 2007 18:13
Quality Commodore photo barkingboy Retrogaming General Discussion 3 22 November 2003 14:42
P.G Elettronica PAL/RGB Converter - Sound Sampler/Frame digitizer oldpx MarketPlace 7 15 March 2003 19:58
Uploading photo vs. IMG VB option Fred the Fop project.EAB 5 26 August 2002 12:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08458 seconds with 13 queries