English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 April 2002, 00:58   #1
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,379
Question A3000 Used

What should one pay for a used, stock A3000?

It includes KS2 and a 50MB SCSI hard drive. Nothing special of course.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 03 April 2002, 09:24   #2
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 376
I'd pay around (US)$150 - $200. But then again, I have yet to find one for that price, so I guess I might want it too cheap
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 03 April 2002, 09:57   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,379
Well perhaps not too cheap then, this place is in Salt Lake City, UT and they emailed me today, Tuesday that is, and they want $139 plus shipping for it. Sounded pretty good to me but I wanted to get more info from others on it. The shipping is about $12 so I think I may just do it then
jmmijo is offline  
Old 03 April 2002, 13:15   #4
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 29
Posts: 4,662
If you don't get it, let me know and I will!
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 04 April 2002, 05:21   #5
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,379
Twistin, isn't the 3000 the one with the built in Flicker Fixer and/or scan doubler?
jmmijo is offline  
Old 04 April 2002, 05:29   #6
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 29
Posts: 4,662
Yes. The A3000 uses the same video circuitry as CBM's A2320, which eliminates interlace flicker.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 04 April 2002, 05:33   #7
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,379
So it shouldn't have any trouble connecting to a SVGA monitor then?
jmmijo is offline  
Old 04 April 2002, 06:04   #8
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally posted by jmmijo
So it shouldn't have any trouble connecting to a SVGA monitor then?
no problem at all. Have fun with the 3000 you lucky bastard
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 05 April 2002, 00:24   #9
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,379
Perhaps but living in the states mean paying somewhat of a premium
jmmijo is offline  
Old 05 April 2002, 06:04   #10
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 569
Yep, the 3000 has the builtin flickerfixer, but it doesn't work for any of the ECS+ modes (superhires in particular... the deinterlacer only samples at hires pixel rates).

It also has 32-bit chip RAM, ECS, and a 68030/68881 (or 68882 on the 25mhz version). Thus you get the crappy game compatibility that comes with the 68030. There is no 68000 to fall back to.
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 07 April 2002, 16:12   #11
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally posted by Shadowfire
Yep, the 3000 has the builtin flickerfixer, but it doesn't work for any of the ECS+ modes (superhires in particular... the deinterlacer only samples at hires pixel rates).

It also has 32-bit chip RAM, ECS, and a 68030/68881 (or 68882 on the 25mhz version). Thus you get the crappy game compatibility that comes with the 68030. There is no 68000 to fall back to.
the game compatability issues are fixed by using whdload/jst, so ulitmately its a kewl machine. Since the scandoubler works in OCS modes, then all OCS games should show up on a PC monitor that you plug into the 3000. It also has onboard SCSI so thats pretty handy too.
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 09 April 2002, 21:51   #12
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,379
Happy

Well I took the plunge, I have just received this A3000 from oldsoftware.com in SLC, UT.

I've been doing some more research on the box to see what I can do with it, well, I may end up sharing the monitor with one of my PC's via a switchbox as it does have that built-in flicker fixer

I need to also see if you can upgrade to 2MB of CHIP ram with this bad boy. Off to do some more research
jmmijo is offline  
Old 09 April 2002, 22:36   #13
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,550
You probably have an 8372 Agnus too if you only have 1Mb chipram in the machine. You might want to upgrade to an 8375 also if you go to 2Mb chip. Software Hut (http://www.softhut.com) usually has parts like this and are a fairly reputable Amiga dealer with good after-service support. However, their prices are a bit on the expensive side for some, but unfortunately that's what you get from most Amiga dealers these days who stock limited quantities of new components. Let us know how you go.
DrBong is offline  
Old 09 April 2002, 22:50   #14
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,379
Yes thanks, I've already checked with Software Hut, I have to test the machine first then I'll look to upgrade ram and chips once the testing it complete
jmmijo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a3000 lost_loven support.Hardware 11 22 March 2010 02:20
Psu A3000 Cosmos request.Other 5 01 March 2010 13:56
FS: FULLY LOADED A3000, a bare bone A3000 and lots of Amiga Stuff! emc_errol MarketPlace 0 30 January 2009 23:33
My Modded A3000! Charlie Hardware mods 18 27 July 2007 20:36
What were A3000's good for? Unknown_K Retrogaming General Discussion 35 24 September 2006 00:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08861 seconds with 13 queries