English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2008, 03:26   #1
W4r3DeV1L
Registered User
 
W4r3DeV1L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: somewhere
Age: 52
Posts: 326
Send a message via MSN to W4r3DeV1L
How to execute an intro with ASM ONE

Hello Amigans,
I tried to Assemble with ASM One V1.0 the source code
of an old intro from Agile that is DL 40 http://cyberpingui.free.fr/rsources.htm

I readed the intro.s into ASM One, then Assembled and all went fine.
Then I tried if it worked with the command 'G' and it worked very fine.
The problem is I can save it as:
1) Source
2) Binary
3) Object
I tried to save both in Binary and Object but the intro cannot be executed.
What is the way to save it in .exe and to make it executable by CLI?
Thanks in advance
Daniele
W4r3DeV1L is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 09:45   #2
-Rob-
 
Posts: n/a
To save it on df0: as "intro", write in AsmOne:
"WO DF0:intro"
 
Old 12 June 2008, 10:10   #3
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
You can also press your right mouse button and select Write->Object from the Project menu.
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 10:18   #4
W4r3DeV1L
Registered User
 
W4r3DeV1L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: somewhere
Age: 52
Posts: 326
Send a message via MSN to W4r3DeV1L
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Rob- View Post
To save it on df0: as "intro", write in AsmOne:
"WO DF0:intro"
it doesn't become executable with WO df0:intro


is there any other way to make it executable please?
W4r3DeV1L is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 10:21   #5
TCD
HOL/FTP busy bee

 
TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 31,730
Hi dannypet,

you need to use the linker. I'm at work right now so I can't test it. There should be a option for the linker in the menu. This way the file will be executable.
TCD is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 10:36   #6
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
You don't need a linker here, ASM-One will do that automagically when it creates the executable.

What happens exactly when you type "wo df0:intro"?
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 11:01   #7
W4r3DeV1L
Registered User
 
W4r3DeV1L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: somewhere
Age: 52
Posts: 326
Send a message via MSN to W4r3DeV1L
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
You don't need a linker here, ASM-One will do that automagically when it creates the executable.

What happens exactly when you type "wo df0:intro"?
The ASM-One do not accept "WO df0:intro" it accept before the command
WO then FILENAME: I put Df0:intro or dh0:intro but when I go by CLI typing intro it says that cannot be executed!

What can I do?

Help me please!

Daniele
W4r3DeV1L is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 11:09   #8
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannypet View Post
The ASM-One do not accept "WO df0:intro" it accept before the command
WO then FILENAME: I put Df0:intro or dh0:intro but when I go by CLI typing intro it says that cannot be executed!

What can I do?

Help me please!

Daniele
"WO df0:intro" is perfectly valid (you have to type it without the quotes of course).

Also, did you assemble again before trying to write the executable? Executing the intro with j and then trying to write the executable will NOT work!

so do this:

- assemble the source
- save the executable with "wo" or select the option from the projects menu

Hope that helps.
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 11:11   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannypet View Post
ASM One V1.0
1.0? I think it is good idea to update
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 11:12   #10
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
1.0? I think it is good idea to update
No doubt about that ;D But won't help him to solve this very problem as even the very first AsmOne versions can write executables with wo.
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 11:20   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
No doubt about that ;D But won't help him to solve this very problem as even the very first AsmOne versions can write executables with wo.
Yeah but weird random side-effects are always possible
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 11:22   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Yeah but weird random side-effects are always possible
True indeed However, being the proud owner of an original Asm-One v1.01(!) version I can assure that it creates executables correctly.
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 11:26   #13
W4r3DeV1L
Registered User
 
W4r3DeV1L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: somewhere
Age: 52
Posts: 326
Send a message via MSN to W4r3DeV1L
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
"WO df0:intro" is perfectly valid (you have to type it without the quotes of course).

Also, did you assemble again before trying to write the executable? Executing the intro with j and then trying to write the executable will NOT work!

so do this:

- assemble the source
- save the executable with "wo" or select the option from the projects menu

Hope that helps.
Hello I tried to do what you said but after FILENAME it ask BEGin address,

what should I do to understand what is the begin address?

Many thanks

Daniele
W4r3DeV1L is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 11:44   #14
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannypet View Post
Hello I tried to do what you said but after FILENAME it ask BEGin address,

what should I do to understand what is the begin address?

Many thanks

Daniele
if it asks you for an address, you definitely didn't type "wo".

foolproof approach:

- assemble
- type ONLY wo. you should get a filerequester then where you can select where to save the executable.

try this and tell me what happens.
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 11:51   #15
W4r3DeV1L
Registered User
 
W4r3DeV1L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: somewhere
Age: 52
Posts: 326
Send a message via MSN to W4r3DeV1L
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
if it asks you for an address, you definitely didn't type "wo".

foolproof approach:

- assemble
- type ONLY wo. you should get a filerequester then where you can select where to save the executable.

try this and tell me what happens.
OK Stingary,

I readed the source, then assembled without executing with G.
Then I made WO, entered DH0:intro , but when I type intro into CLI it says cannot execute the file...

What can I do?

Thanks for helping me

Hope we can to solve this problem

Daniele
W4r3DeV1L is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 12:00   #16
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Hmm, I'm slowly running out of ideas.

enter the editor (press Escape), type:
Code:
	moveq #0,d0
	rts
press Escape again to leave the editor, type "a" to assemble and then type "wo df0:test.exe".

then try to start this file from cli. do you get the same error?
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 12:08   #17
W4r3DeV1L
Registered User
 
W4r3DeV1L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: somewhere
Age: 52
Posts: 326
Send a message via MSN to W4r3DeV1L
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Hmm, I'm slowly running out of ideas.

enter the editor (press Escape), type:
Code:
    moveq #0,d0
    rts
press Escape again to leave the editor, type "a" to assemble and then type "wo df0:test.exe".

then try to start this file from cli. do you get the same error?
StingRay

I edit :

moveq #0,d0
rts

but when I assemble I have Illegal operator moveq #0,d0

what to do?
W4r3DeV1L is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 12:14   #18
zenox98
Joy Division
 
zenox98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East Yorkshire
Age: 60
Posts: 240
Is this an issue with alpha / numeric recognition?
zenox98 is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 12:15   #19
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannypet View Post
StingRay

I edit :

moveq #0,d0
rts

but when I assemble I have Illegal operator moveq #0,d0

what to do?
make sure that there is at least 1 space (just press TAB and everything is fine) before the commands. Also, just in case it wasn't clear, these should be the ONLY 2 lines in the whole source, i.e. don't add these lines to the intro source.
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 June 2008, 12:19   #20
W4r3DeV1L
Registered User
 
W4r3DeV1L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: somewhere
Age: 52
Posts: 326
Send a message via MSN to W4r3DeV1L
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Hmm, I'm slowly running out of ideas.

enter the editor (press Escape), type:
Code:
    moveq #0,d0
    rts
press Escape again to leave the editor, type "a" to assemble and then type "wo df0:test.exe".

then try to start this file from cli. do you get the same error?

Done,

and saved dh0:test

but from CLI says this file is not executable

WHY?
W4r3DeV1L is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Execute file without using execute VoltureX support.Apps 3 01 December 2011 09:59
I can't execute installer paulo_becas support.Apps 5 01 March 2010 10:02
Unable to get 'Nu' PD Game to Execute! Heavy Stylus support.Games 4 27 April 2009 22:15
Execute a script frikilokooo project.ClassicWB 6 20 November 2007 11:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:38.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10162 seconds with 13 queries