English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 May 2017, 13:47   #681
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca / Spain
Posts: 239
Related to GLHexen2:

Powerfull PPC in combination with Warp3D/minigl is the only way to move the game. It's imposible -today- a decent 68k port also forget about Mesa or software rendering.

No time for midi stuff, mp3, vorbis,etc...

I hacked the code to my taste, changed parts to use the more optimized minigl functions, etc...guess what: Still a very slow game even that.

When I fix the whole mess I did, I will return the code to the original Amiga developers.
Apologies to them for not asking
Cowcat is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 May 2017, 14:10   #682
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Related to GLHexen2:

Powerfull PPC in combination with Warp3D/minigl is the only way to move the game. It's imposible -today- a decent 68k port also forget about Mesa or software rendering.

No time for midi stuff, mp3, vorbis,etc...

I hacked the code to my taste, changed parts to use the more optimized minigl functions, etc...guess what: Still a very slow game even that.

When I fix the whole mess I did, I will return the code to the original Amiga developers.
Apologies to them for not asking
Looks nearly playable to me. Where do I download a copy?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 21 May 2017, 14:16   #683
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 163
Send a message via MSN to BSzili
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Related to GLHexen2:

Powerfull PPC in combination with Warp3D/minigl is the only way to move the game. It's imposible -today- a decent 68k port also forget about Mesa or software rendering.

No time for midi stuff, mp3, vorbis,etc...

I hacked the code to my taste, changed parts to use the more optimized minigl functions, etc...guess what: Still a very slow game even that.

When I fix the whole mess I did, I will return the code to the original Amiga developers.
Apologies to them for not asking
Thanks for doing this! Let me know when you cleaned it up, I can merge your changes anytime
BSzili is offline  
Old 21 May 2017, 14:17   #684
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca / Spain
Posts: 239
I should re-edit my post: The old demo paks used to test the game are really bad. Using the paks from the original game & playing all seems to be as it should: Fast. ......Maybe 68k can cope.

Quote:
Where do I download a copy?
In a new thread of mine?
Cowcat is offline  
Old 21 May 2017, 14:31   #685
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca / Spain
Posts: 239
BSzili:

Did a new thread on Coders. You will need a lot of time for merging the changes. Thanks for your job.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 21 May 2017, 15:58   #686
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 378
Here is his new thread:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=87238
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 01:55   #687
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 378
While playing with getting 4K Refresh this weekend (and failing) the DIMMS I have which have stickers that say 4K REF are actually 8K refresh. So consider this a cautionary tale that like I said myself (and Kev too) you have to check the chips themselves. In my case these chips are:
1) 128MB Labeled 128MB, MAC, 5V, 4K REF, FPM. Chips are KM44V16004BK which the datasheet lists:
KM44V16004B/B-L (3.3V, 8K Ref)
KM44V16104B/B-L(3.3V, 4K Ref)

Of course the part number doesn't exactly match the datasheet so I could be wrong.

2) 64MB MAC EDO 4K Ref, Chips are KM48V8004AK-6 datasheet lists as:
KM48V8004A/A-L(3.3V, 8K Ref.)
KM48V8104A/A-L(3.3V, 4K Ref.)

Now it could be the K on the end refers to 5V supply or I'm just wrong and didn't find the correct datasheets.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 07:31   #688
starship
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 46
Hi.
Can anyone help me about this?
When I am using sonnet on my radeon Warpos programs running with no problem but when I closing a little ram are coming back.
No matter what I openning it is happening on all programs or games. When ram is finished system crashing. On reset ram is comming back. I tried with 68k programs when sonnet not activated, it is not happening.
Tried with ram test programs all rams are ok.

Last edited by starship; 22 May 2017 at 07:51.
starship is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 11:30   #689
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by starship View Post
When I am using sonnet on my radeon Warpos programs running with no problem but when I closing a little ram are coming back.
Does this happen only with Radeon or also with Voodoo?

Quote:
No matter what I openning it is happening on all programs or games. When ram is finished system crashing. On reset ram is comming back.
Looks like a memory leak in Sonnet library. Which build are you running? Does this also happen with the latest build 257 ?

While here I'd like to remind everyone that correct place to report bugs is GitHub Issues for this project: https://github.com/Sakura-IT/SonnetAmiga/issues .
strim is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 11:56   #690
starship
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 46
I dont have voodoo but I dont think it is happening on voodoo.
If it was on voodoo, you would see it quickly. The leak is too much on frogger. I am using build 255.
starship is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 13:32   #691
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 378
The not-freeing-memory on exit has kind of come and gone, at one point I thought it was nearly perfect. Quake 2 for instance doesn't free a chunk of memory on every new level load, while Quake 1 doesn't seem to have that issue.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 13:40   #692
starship
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
The not-freeing-memory on exit has kind of come and gone, at one point I thought it was nearly perfect. Quake 2 for instance doesn't free a chunk of memory on every new level load, while Quake 1 doesn't seem to have that issue.
It is eating 100mb when opening and closing 8 music clip. Or 10mb with adoom.

Last edited by starship; 22 May 2017 at 17:37.
starship is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 20:39   #693
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
While playing with getting 4K Refresh this weekend (and failing) the DIMMS I have which have stickers that say 4K REF are actually 8K refresh. So consider this a cautionary tale that like I said myself (and Kev too) you have to check the chips themselves. In my case these chips are:
1) 128MB Labeled 128MB, MAC, 5V, 4K REF, FPM. Chips are KM44V16004BK which the datasheet lists:
KM44V16004B/B-L (3.3V, 8K Ref)
KM44V16104B/B-L(3.3V, 4K Ref)

Of course the part number doesn't exactly match the datasheet so I could be wrong.

2) 64MB MAC EDO 4K Ref, Chips are KM48V8004AK-6 datasheet lists as:
KM48V8004A/A-L(3.3V, 8K Ref.)
KM48V8104A/A-L(3.3V, 4K Ref.)

Now it could be the K on the end refers to 5V supply or I'm just wrong and didn't find the correct datasheets.
I also spent the weekend trying to get the 4k DIMMs to work. No joy.

I suspect there is more than one thing going on that prevents 4k working. Having checked out many variations on the RAM timings I don't think it is that, but:
  • I think the high 3 bits of MCCR2 (TS_WAIT_TIMER) need to be zero, not 1 for EDO/FPM ram according to the MPC107 manual. So MCCR2 needs setting to 0x00001040 not 0xe0001040. Having said that, this doesn't stop 2k and 1k refresh DIMMs working!
  • As far as I can see from the MPC107 manual, the chip itself doesn't distinguish between 8K refresh and 4K refresh. That is, the various pairs of bits in MCCR1 for each bank are 11 for both 12 and 13 rows. I think that means REFINT needs setting as though a 4K DIMM is 8K even when it isn't?
Anyway, I've managed to order some 2k DIMMs But I haven't given up on 4k yet!
Wrangler is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 22:40   #694
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 378
Stranger still, the batch of DIMMs I've been using on the Amiga are marked 2k Ref on them, the chips are actually 4K Refresh.

Chips are: KM48C8100AS-6
http://datasheet.datasheetarchive.co...SC00043995.pdf

So I'm not sure what to make of this, some 4K chips work and others don't?

Hilariously, these 4K chips work in the Amiga but not the Mac.

Here's what Sonnet says about it.

Quote:
Issue 1: 128MB DIMMs are typically composed of 16 chips, each a 16Mx4 part. There are two types that are used, the "4K Refresh" and the "8K Refresh". The Crescendo/7200 is not compatible with some DIMMs made with "8K Refresh" parts because the timing margins are so thin that the electrical \u8218\u196\u250 noise\u8218\u196\u249 generated by the card causes errors. The "8K" versus "4K" parts can be identified by the part numbers of the chips on the DIMM, or by checking with the manufacturer of the chips.

One solutions is to contact the chip vendor/manufacturer and have the chips replaced with DIMMs that are built with "4K Refresh" parts. 4K Refresh DIMMs are considerably more prevalent, but users are advised to ask before purchasing.

Issue 2: The 128MB DIMMs do meet compatibility, however, you are running an older version of the 7200 enabler.

After checking and verifying that the 128MB DIMMs that are installed on either the logic board or the card are made with "4K Refresh" parts and not "8K Refresh", check to see which version of the 7200 enabler you are running. This can be found in the System folder of your Operating System hard drive. If you are not running version 1.1 or later, you will need to update. With the release of the 7200 enabler, Sonnet expands its support of RAM running on both the upgrade card and the logic board. To update to version 1.1, remove the 7200 processor upgrade and boot the computer. Then download the Crescendo/7200 software. Once downloaded, run through the installation. The installer will remove any old version of the enabler that is currently installed and install version 1.1. When the installer is done, shut the computer down, reinsert the 7200 upgrade processor, and boot the computer normally.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 22 May 2017 at 23:43.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old Yesterday, 13:09   #695
starship
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenHD View Post
How do you tell if the ram is 2k refresh or 4k? I have bought one of these and it's what I'm using.

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/64MB-FPM-MEMO...-/350479061155

I think it's the same listing as yours.
I guess it says 4k refresh on here.

http://www.datasheets360.com/part/detail/km48v8104cs-l5/-7020058534232582191/?alternatePartManufacturerId=0

Darren do you get any memory alloc error on froggerwos window mode when sliding movie to the end? Or when opening and closing a video on froggerwos is there any memory leak?

Last edited by starship; Yesterday at 13:20.
starship is offline  
Old Yesterday, 15:10   #696
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 369
Please try the latest build (259) and see if memory leaks persist, Hedeon fixed a bug that was causing memory of deleted task not to be added back to the system.
strim is offline  
Old Yesterday, 16:13   #697
starship
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 46
Thank you strim and hedeon. Memory leak is very little now with build 259.
starship is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 02:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 00:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 00:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 15:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 10:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20792 seconds with 14 queries