English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 March 2018, 01:39   #1
Octopus66
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London
Posts: 80
[AGA] GFX Bug :- James Pond 2 & Blobz & Bograts & Penguins

Hello all - I can see that in JP2 using A500 quick start config there is gfx issue on right hand side of screen for backgrounds. Do not think this happens with real hardware.

I cannot isolate the issue and I am fairly sure this is host config related - can anyone confirm?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard Image.png
Views:	248
Size:	453.8 KB
ID:	57363  
Octopus66 is offline  
Old 19 March 2018, 01:48   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,231
Probably WinUAE config or disk image version (which crack or original?) related. Have you set the compatibility slider most left in the A500 quickstart options, before you ticked "Start in Quickstart mode"?
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 19 March 2018, 22:45   #3
Octopus66
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London
Posts: 80
Hi Retro-Nerd, thanks for the reply. I tried again tonight incase it was just me being stupid, but no the issue remains.

I am running original IPF release 1352 and Quickstart 500 most compatible. Here is a savestate showing the glitching clearly when moving right.
Attached Files
File Type: uss jp2_6.uss (460.4 KB, 24 views)
Octopus66 is offline  
Old 19 March 2018, 23:29   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,231
Mmh, your save states shows a config for an A1200 machine, not an A500.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 20 March 2018, 00:06   #5
Octopus66
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London
Posts: 80
Hmmm, not sure how I have cocked this up.

So this effect seems to be related to non-A500 standard config. However, with the standard A500 config in place the scrolling is a bit of a nightmare in places. I guess this is how it is. Thanks.
Octopus66 is offline  
Old 20 March 2018, 00:24   #6
Octopus66
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London
Posts: 80
Now things getting weird. Same issue on CD32 version with CD32 config. Savestate attached.
Is this just the game?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard Image (1).png
Views:	165
Size:	181.1 KB
ID:	57389  
Attached Files
File Type: uss jp2cd32_2.uss (547.6 KB, 26 views)
Octopus66 is offline  
Old 20 March 2018, 01:08   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,231
Seems like a bug. AGA/68020 emulation isn't perfect. Maybe it's fixable, maybe not.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 20 March 2018, 20:22   #8
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,207
This is interesting. I've played Penguins and Blobz last week and encountered a bug that looks the same you have in James Pond 2. The A1200 quickstart configuration was used for both games (AGA games).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	penguins.png
Views:	183
Size:	15.0 KB
ID:	57402   Click image for larger version

Name:	blobz.png
Views:	151
Size:	18.7 KB
ID:	57403  
hipoonios is offline  
Old 20 March 2018, 21:54   #9
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 624
I get something that looks like that in JetHunt AGA occasionally too. (Yes I'm still very slowly trying to finish it!) Can't recreate it. Will be sort of pleased if it's not my code causing it!
Coagulus is offline  
Old 08 October 2018, 21:41   #10
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 33
Hello,

Do you have tested this games on real hardware ?
Zarnal is offline  
Old 08 October 2018, 22:05   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,121
Looks like I forgot to reply. Statefile is always required, preferably from floppy version.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 October 2018, 22:15   #12
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Octopus66 View Post
Hello all - I can see that in JP2 using A500 quick start config there is gfx issue on right hand side of screen for backgrounds. Do not think this happens with real hardware.

I cannot isolate the issue and I am fairly sure this is host config related - can anyone confirm?

Thanks!
I remember clearly that it happened on my A2000 and A500 when I was playing James Pond II in the 1990's decade. I even think WinUAE emulates this bug perfectly, in reality I was "astounded" when I saw that WinUAE tries to copy this Amiga chipset characteristic that intrigued me at that time too.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 08 October 2018, 22:46   #13
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
This is interesting. I've played Penguins and Blobz last week and encountered a bug that looks the same you have in James Pond 2. The A1200 quickstart configuration was used for both games (AGA games).
LOL. That's the raccoon from the PD game Klawz.
dreamkatcha is offline  
Old 09 October 2018, 09:55   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
I remember clearly that it happened on my A2000 and A500 when I was playing James Pond II in the 1990's decade. I even think WinUAE emulates this bug perfectly, in reality I was "astounded" when I saw that WinUAE tries to copy this Amiga chipset characteristic that intrigued me at that time too.
I meant AGA versions.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 October 2018, 14:09   #15
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 33
Penguins new graphical glitch.

Hello,

I noticed that the AGA Penguins game has a new glitch on the left corner of screen ingame (capture before filtering ticked).

Here is a savestate, the configuration used and a screenshot of issue.


Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Penguins (AGA)_Disk2_001.png
Views:	84
Size:	22.5 KB
ID:	60183  
Attached Files
File Type: uae Penguins.uae (15.9 KB, 18 views)
File Type: uss PenguinsGlitch.uss (438.2 KB, 19 views)
Zarnal is offline  
Old 09 October 2018, 14:11   #16
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,851
Zarnal; no point creating a new thread for Penguins as it's already been mentioned in the James Pond 2 gfx bug thread

Merged, and thread title updated accordingly...
DamienD is online now  
Old 09 October 2018, 14:19   #17
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
I have often seen this glitch on real HW as well, using the OCS version of the game.
demolition is offline  
Old 09 October 2018, 15:10   #18
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 33
@DamienD

Ok.

@Demolition

Game is only AGA

http://hol.abime.net/1024
Zarnal is offline  
Old 09 October 2018, 15:21   #19
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarnal View Post
@Demolition
Game is only AGA
http://hol.abime.net/1024
Sorry, I was talking about JP2 as mentioned in the first post.
demolition is offline  
Old 10 October 2018, 14:31   #20
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 33
Bograts (sequel of Penguins) has the same issue.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BogratsGlitch.png
Views:	91
Size:	25.8 KB
ID:	60188  
Attached Files
File Type: uae Bograts.uae (15.9 KB, 20 views)
File Type: uss Bograts.uss (479.4 KB, 21 views)
Zarnal is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bograts and Penguins MethodGit Amiga scene 1 06 March 2018 22:31
James Pond 3 AGA, MFM version not supported! BarryB project.WHDLoad 6 27 December 2016 20:06
James Pond 2: Robocod AGA WHDLoad problem TjLaZer support.Games 9 17 July 2016 20:02
James Pond, Pond is Back! - Retro classic for a Kickstarter Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 1 26 September 2013 10:09
Mon nom est Pond, James Pond ! RCK Retrogaming General Discussion 9 12 December 2001 16:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09386 seconds with 14 queries