English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2007, 22:58   #1
Zetec-s
Registered User
Zetec-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 25
Virtual Grand Prix - Can't get it to run

I have finally got around to trying to play this, and although it installed fine I can't get the game to run.

I get as far as what I think is an animation, although all I can here is sound, and then a mouse press just goes back to the loading screen, but then it just hangs with no hard drive or cd activity.

Just for the record my set up is a CD32/SX32. I've tried to reduce the amount of Chip Mem being used by my Workbench but that doesn't seem to make a difference.

Any help much appreciated.
Zetec-s is offline  
Old 11 May 2007, 23:04   #2
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
I want an iso so I can try .

I want to play this game too .
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 11 May 2007, 23:08   #3
Zetec-s
Registered User
Zetec-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 25
Afraid to say, I haven't got an ISO. I've got the original CD I bought back in 2000, just taken me over 7 years to get around to playing it.
Zetec-s is offline  
Old 11 May 2007, 23:09   #4
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
Well, make an iso out of it then, please :P..... ehh. dump it or what it's called. I want to play and record good looking games for RAG.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 11 May 2007, 23:11   #5
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 38
Posts: 657
Yeah man, do a dump. So to speak.
TikTok is offline  
Old 11 May 2007, 23:20   #6
Zetec-s
Registered User
Zetec-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 25
Don't know if I want to do that, while there is still the possibility of Virtual Grand Prix 2 for OS4.
Zetec-s is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 12:27   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,402
Sorry Ironclaw and TikTok, looks like you can still purchase Virtual GP from Vesalia Computer...
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 13:02   #8
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
They have probably downloaded it, printed a cd cover and sells them like that.... not original..... my thoughts.....
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 14:35   #9
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 38
Posts: 657
Oops, sorry DamienD, didn't realise that. Though yeah, Ironclaw I reckon you might be right - after all, they also sell those C64 Classix CDs which are just downloaded disk images.
TikTok is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 14:40   #10
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,402
Quote:
Originally Posted by TikTok
Oops, sorry DamienD, didn't realise that.
No problem

I only realised myself when I was searching for it a while ago and came across that Vesalia Computer link...
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 15:00   #11
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
In other words, they probably sell downloaded games, not original, thus not making it illegal for Zetec-s to dump his game and share ... right?
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 15:06   #12
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 11,044
Technically Zetec-s sharing the original is still illegal but surely selling a (what essentially is) a pirate copy of a game is illegal too?

EDIT: That's assuming that is what they're selling. They may well be selling original copies.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 15:15   #13
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,402
Hmmm, I do actually have an image of this

I could upload it but first you guys need to somehow prove that:

1) the copy that Vesalia Computer is selling is not an original.
2) it cannot be purchased anywhere else.
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 15:18   #14
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 11,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
1) the copy that Vesalia Computer is selling is not an original.
Quick, someone go and buy it
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 15:25   #15
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 3,494
Vesalia only sells originals.

Topic:

VGP doesn´t work on my 060!
I played it on 040 some years ago.


@Zetec-s:

Do you have a 030?


Perhaps this update helps:

http://download.abime.net/zone/vgp1%5B1%5D.0d.lha
viddi is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 15:26   #16
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,159
Read the hardware specs, Zetec-s. And then forget it.

Quote:
Virtual GP

F1 Racing Simulation

Features:

* 16 tracks, 22 cars, 1998 championship season
* Full texture-mapped, shaded 3D engine in 1x1 pixel mode
* Play in any resolution, gfx boards supported
* Smooth animation: around 20 fps on 68030 @ 25 MHz AGA Amiga
* Very detailed simulation of real F1 cars
* Complete car setup sessions including tyres, camber, 4-way shocks, anti-roll bars, brake-balancing, wings settings, gear ratios, etc.
* Improved artificial intelligence of opponents to make the race thrilling
* Support for mouse, digital and analogue steering wheels/joysticks
* Instant replay, to see your favourite car passing, crash, tail-head, etc, with still-motion and fast-forward features
* 6 different camera views, featuring the VirtualCockpit system
* Full multitasking

Minimum Machine Spec:
Amiga with 4 MB RAM, 68030 CPU, HDD, CD-ROM drive, AGA and/or GFX card.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 17:21   #17
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
* Smooth animation: around 20 fps on 68030 @ 25 MHz AGA Amiga
Yeah, very smooth... NOT! ....(maybe for that time) well, guess I will get much smoother animations in WinUAE... IF I get my hands on an ISO..... and making a LONGPLAY .. yeye
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 17:22   #18
Zetec-s
Registered User
Zetec-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Read the hardware specs, Zetec-s. And then forget it.
But I've got a CD32/SX32-Pro '030 with 32mb of fast. Can't see why it shouldn't work.
Zetec-s is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 17:24   #19
Zetec-s
Registered User
Zetec-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
Yeah, very smooth... NOT! ....(maybe for that time) well, guess I will get much smoother animations in WinUAE... IF I get my hands on an ISO..... and making a LONGPLAY .. yeye
Think I'm going to try WinUAE next, although I'm fairly sure 7 years ago when I first tried, I couldn't get it to run on that either.
Zetec-s is offline  
Old 12 May 2007, 17:25   #20
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetec-s
But I've got a CD32/SX32-Pro '030 with 32mb of fast. Can't see why it shouldn't work.
You forgot to mention your 030 & fastmem. Yes, then it should normally work.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Formula One Grand Prix (MicroProse) Bamiga2002 HOL data problems 3 07 February 2012 10:21
Turbo Star Grand Prix s2325 project.aGTW 7 24 May 2011 11:16
Formula One Grand Prix (MicroProse) mai HOL data problems 1 30 November 2009 08:06
Turbo star grand prix Galaxy request.Old Rare Games 4 09 August 2005 03:33
Nigel Mansel Grand Prix Carlos Ace request.Old Rare Games 4 14 August 2002 17:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09104 seconds with 13 queries