English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 15 April 2002, 20:35   #1
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Question general a1200 info needed

maybe i should have posted this is the newbie section..
i've forgotten so much i feel like a newb

wanderin about my local flea market today i came across an a1200 which i promptly bought for £10

no disks were supplied with it, it came with a philips cm8533 monitor, an internal (although rather badly secured) 300mb hd and something in the exansion bay underneath..

the hd keeps coming up with errors upon booting, and there is so many things loading up at startup that i'm left with VERY little free memory. the board in the expansion slot im not sure what it is, written on it is Elbox 1200/4 thats all i know.

so any advice on what things are and getting everythin nice and happy would be great, and i'll accept any curses and abuse thrown my way if you think i got a very good deal

and please treat me as total newb cos im actually quite scared at how much i've forgotten
Old 15 April 2002, 20:43   #2
Drake1009

Well only advice I can give is to clean up your startup-sequence and user-startup. And I think there was a dir or two which was automatically loaded.
Old 15 April 2002, 22:32   #3
blackcornflake

£10! Barrrgain! Lucky person!

Follow Drake1009's wise advice. (The startup-sequence and user-startup files live in the S: directory). They are ASCII text; you can look at them with Multiview, or load them into any text editor and edit them. Perhaps wise to make a copy of both startup files first.

I suggest 'commenting out' lines you don't want (put semicolon at start of line). They are deactivated, pending experimentation. Definitely don't need them? Delete!