English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 January 2009, 22:46   #1
papa_november
Registered User
papa_november's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 184
WTB: A4000 68060 board

It can be pretty much any make/model. It doesn't have to have SCSI, but it does have to work. Something like a Cyberstorm Mk. I or II or GVP T-Rex would be ideal.

Any 040 card with a known doable upgrade path to an 060 might work too.
papa_november is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 22:51   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,629
Apollo 4040?
alexh is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:04   #3
papa_november
Registered User
papa_november's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 184
That would be pretty cool, yeah.

I'd need an additional voltage regulator board to upgrade it. Are they still available? How much would they be? The EPROM wouldn't be an issue as I can burn it myself. (It's dumped, right?)
papa_november is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:06   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
@papa_november

you may also need the 131 updated MACH chips as well. Per Gunner might be able to help in upgrading this item. as you may know he can be found on Amiga.org
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:08   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
you may also need the 131 updated MACH chips as well.
Possibly but no-one really knows. There is no running thread with someone actually upgrading their 4040 (which is why it is still in my cupboard)
alexh is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:10   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
@alexh

If i remember back a while you were looking into upgrading this unit of yours..

what stoped you from trying?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:10   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,629
1) The lack of any real knowledge in this area.
2) I cannot find the stand-offs (maybe I never had any)

It is still in my cupboard for over a year since I bought it due to the lack of standoffs and the poor quality design of the original heatsink & fan.

Plus I got it into my head I might be able to find an MC68040RC40A with an L88M mask which doesnt need heatsink or fan

Last edited by alexh; 19 January 2009 at 23:16.
alexh is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:15   #8
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
@alexh

that sounds like a man with too many projects
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:16   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,629
If beer, TV and women count as projects then yeah
alexh is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:18   #10
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
they sure do!
keropi is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:21   #11
papa_november
Registered User
papa_november's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 184
So wait, you got as far as the ROM and the voltage regulator and it didn't work?

If nobody's done it or knows exactly how to do it then it isn't really viable yet.
papa_november is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:23   #12
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If beer, TV and women count as projects then yeah
Sounds like your get up and go, has got up and gone, but from what i know and read here, you are pushing yourself a bit hard with work and more work

I just hope the sports car is worth it

"A man needs a project in his life... something to achieve and be inspired by, however beer, women and TV are a welcome distraction..."
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:25   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by papa_november View Post
So wait, you got as far as the ROM and the voltage regulator and it didn't work?
Nope. Just got as far as buying a bog standard Apollo 4040 and putting it in the cupboard.

With a post-it note saying "remember to get some plastic standoffs".
alexh is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:41   #14
papa_november
Registered User
papa_november's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 184
I take it nobody's found out where to order metal standoffs of the exact same length? Because if I knew where to get them I'd buy zillions of them. Those plastic standoffs suck.

I see there's success stories of people upgrading the Apollo 1260. There seems to be a fairly good reason to assume the two are similar, but nothing's 100% or even 75% in this business. Are the 1260 and 4060 regulator boards 100% identical?

I might take you up on your offer if nothing better turns up.

Last edited by papa_november; 20 January 2009 at 00:36.
papa_november is offline  
Old 19 January 2009, 23:56   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by papa_november View Post
Are the 1260 and 4060 regulator boards 100% identical?
Unsure. PG said he thought they were.
alexh is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 00:28   #16
papa_november
Registered User
papa_november's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 184
Clearly what we need are big-ass photos of the 060 version and it's voltage regulator module, then.
papa_november is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 00:45   #17
papa_november
Registered User
papa_november's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 184
From the one blurry photo I've found, they do seem to look the same.
papa_november is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 00:59   #18
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,629
How about these?
alexh is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 01:07   #19
papa_november
Registered User
papa_november's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 184
OK, then that settles it. How about the ROM? Is it dumped? The 1260's ROM is dumped but the 4060's ROM is almost certainly different.
papa_november is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 01:34   #20
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
How about these?

Mmmmmmm hardware Pr0n....

my collection thanks you senior Alexh
Zetr0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wtb: 68060 desantii MarketPlace 3 19 September 2010 17:00
How to emulate 68060/50 expansion board fast-ram? Nut support.WinUAE 3 09 February 2010 20:22
68060 board stuck in an A500 or A600 - impossible goal? Photon support.Hardware 17 04 October 2009 15:09
WTB 68060 or 68040 for A3000/A4000/A4000T OverDose MarketPlace 2 09 July 2009 11:02
Wtb: 68060 71e41j DDNI MarketPlace 2 20 April 2007 17:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09581 seconds with 13 queries