English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 January 2012, 11:15   #1
ib2012
 
Posts: n/a
Installing Hard Drive Fujitsu MHK2120AT into A1200

Apologies if this is a very basic question, but I just can't get it to work and would really appreciate any help.

Years and years ago - I had an Amiga 1200 and only used it for playing games.
Insert floppy - press reset and away I went.

I still have an Amiga 1200, but I'd like to install a hard drive and install some of my old games.
Someone was thowing out an old Dell laptop, and I got the hard drive out of it -a Fujitsu MHK2120AT (12GB).
http://www.fujitsu.com/downloads/AU/....5inch_IDE.pdf

My plan was to try and get it working using Winuae and then transfer to my real machine. I got a USB enclosure, my pc detects it and I thought I was making progress.

When I boot up to the Workbench install disk, and fire up HDToolbox - it incorrectly determines the size/configuration of the drive and I don't know what values to provide manually (Cylinders, Heads, Blocks Per Track, Blocks Per Cylinder). What should I do?

- Is there a better tool I should use to initialise the drive?
- If I should use HDToolbox - can anyone help with the correct values?

I have very basic amiga experience so help needs to be fairly basic.
I'd really appreciate any pointers anyone could give me - thanks
 
Old 09 January 2012, 19:00   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 63
Posts: 3,966
Try HDInsTools, available from aminet.

I have a 320gb MHZ Fujitsu HD and HDInsTools detects it.
Arnie is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 22:05   #3
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,012
i use 20 giga without problem, but i use original floppy "install" from os3.0 or 3.1

hdtoolbox from floppy read right size/configuration, next you need create partition minor 2 giga
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 22:27   #4
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 45
Posts: 1,024
hi have a look at my guides

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61048

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61180

but just miss the cf part out
johnim is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 11:24   #5
ib2012
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
hi have a look at my guides

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61048

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61180

but just miss the cf part out
Your guides look amazing but my initial problem is that HDToolBox isn't returning correct values when I click "Read Configuration"


I've tried HDInstTool from Aminet but it came back with the message box "No device found".

The values returned from HDToolBox when I press Read Configuration are:
Cylinders: 1467
Heads: 1
Blocks Per Track: 16067
Blocks Per Cylinder: 16067
Reduced Write Current Cylinder: 1467
Write PreComp Cylinder: 1467
Size: -805801K (-786 Meg)

Last edited by prowler; 10 January 2012 at 23:09. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
 
Old 10 January 2012, 12:22   #6
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,012
with hdtoolbox, new definition then read config and save on floppy
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 12:33   #7
ib2012
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpiac64 View Post
with hdtoolbox, new definition then read config and save on floppy
When I use HDToolBox, New Definitions and Read Config - the incorrect values are returned (values shown above)

How do I get it to return the correct values, or can someone help me manually determine the values, or is there a better tool I should use?
 
Old 10 January 2012, 15:19   #8
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,012
on web
Capacity 12.0 GB
Number of Heads 4
Number of Cylinders (User) 14784
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 15:24   #9
ib2012
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpiac64 View Post
on web
Capacity 12.0 GB
Number of Heads 4
Number of Cylinders (User) 14784
Many thanks for this.
Does anyone know how to calculate "Blocks Per Track" and "Blocks Per Cylinder"?
 
Old 10 January 2012, 15:41   #10
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ib2012 View Post
Many thanks for this.
Does anyone know how to calculate "Blocks Per Track" and "Blocks Per Cylinder"?
i dont remember


my toshiba 20gb
cyl 16383
heads 16
block for track 63
block for cyl 1008
park 16383
size (-132080) -128k

on aminet search patch for hdtoolbox is for large hd

Last edited by prowler; 10 January 2012 at 23:11. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged and quote added.
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 17:49   #11
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by ib2012 View Post
The values returned from HDToolBox when I press Read Configuration are:
Cylinders: 1467
Heads: 1
Blocks Per Track: 16067
Blocks Per Cylinder: 16067
Reduced Write Current Cylinder: 1467
Write PreComp Cylinder: 1467
Size: -805801K (-786 Meg)
Why do you think these are not correct?


Quote:
Originally Posted by cpiac64 View Post
my toshiba 20gb
cyl 16383
heads 16
block for track 63
block for cyl 1008
park 16383
size (-132080) -128k
You don't have drivers for large harddrives installed. Your system can only "see" 8 GB of a harddrive and can only access the first 4GB of it. If you create partions in the upper 4GB, you will sooner or later lose all your data.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ib2012 View Post
Does anyone know how to calculate "Blocks Per Track" and "Blocks Per Cylinder"?
Size of Harddrive = Bytes per Block * Blocks per Track * Heads * Cylinders

Blocks per Cylinder = Blocks per Track * Heads

Or

Blocks per Cylinder = Size of Harddrive / Bytes per Block / Cylinders

Blocks per Track = Blocks per Cylinder / Heads

Last edited by prowler; 10 January 2012 at 23:13. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
thomas is online now  
Old 11 January 2012, 10:28   #12
ib2012
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Why do you think these are not correct?
I guess I was hoping that it would detect it as a 12GB drive, but looks like I was being hopelessly optimistic.
I fully appreciate that these kind of drives weren't around when the Amiga was popular.

I was also surpised to see Blocks Per Track being the same as Blocks Per Cylinder.

What should I do - just go with the default settings, create a partition and install workbench?
 
Old 11 January 2012, 10:41   #13
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,213
Quote:
I guess I was hoping that it would detect it as a 12GB drive, but looks like I was being hopelessly optimistic.
It indeed recognised it as 12Gb, it just has trouble to print numbers bigger than 4GB. But if you calculate the size of the harddrive from cylinders / heads / sectors using my formular above, you'll see that it results in 12,067,987,968 bytes a.k.a. 12.1 GB a.k.a. 11.24 GiB.

The same problem will appear when you create partions: it will always display a number less than 4096 MB as partition size, but the real partition size is correct (n * 4096 + what it displays)
thomas is online now  
Old 11 January 2012, 18:47   #14
ib2012
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
You don't have drivers for large harddrives installed. Your system can only "see" 8 GB of a harddrive and can only access the first 4GB of it. If you create partions in the upper 4GB, you will sooner or later lose all your data.
What do you need to do to install drivers for large hard drives?

thanks
 
Old 11 January 2012, 19:49   #15
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,213
I am sure there are other threads in this forum which cover the topic already in every depth. These links might be a good start:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=32256
http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/4gb_faq.html
thomas is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a 2nd hard drive on an A1200 Bead support.Hardware 12 17 October 2011 21:13
Having trouble installing Top Gear 2 on GVP Impact 2 HD8 hard drive paul2010 support.Games 0 23 October 2010 13:09
problems installing a game to a hard drive j3st3r New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 25 January 2007 18:00
Installing OS 3.9 on A1200 with no CD drive DanE support.Hardware 5 05 September 2006 14:32
installing hard drive THERAVEN New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 11 June 2006 00:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10448 seconds with 13 queries