English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.SPS (was CAPS)

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 November 2020, 17:04   #1
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,204
Pinball Fantasies ECS (ID: 25) extra disk

I checked 2 archives and they have 1 boot disk and 3 course disks...


2 problems:

- course disk 2 seems to be corrupt: unable to image it using the IPF, using WinUAE IPF or even with RawDIC 4.2 IPF support. Checksum errors on a lot of tracks 21, 23... Looks like a bad dump, seen on 2 different archives.
- there's only scans of the boot disk and 2 course disks, plus the game runs under whdload with only those 3 disks. The 3rd disk seems to have the same MFM format, but contains unknown data. Any idea?

Last edited by jotd; 11 November 2020 at 17:13.
jotd is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 17:22   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
you're talking about IPF 0025 ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 21:39   #3
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,204
yes, IPF 0025
jotd is offline  
Old 12 November 2020, 04:13   #4
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 46
Posts: 3,677
About the fourth disk (Source: HOL)
http://hol.abime.net/1055
Quote:
[2] Two versions of the game were released: [a] 3-disk (1MB) and [b] 4-disk version (512k). The fourth disk of the latter featured a "slimmed" version of the game for 512k machines.

[3] The 512k and 1MB releases of PINBALL FANTASIES are identical, except there is absolutely no sound (not even sound FX) in the 512k version.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 12 November 2020, 12:35   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,204
ah I just searched EAB and found this thanks...

The remaining issue is: bad dump on a course disk (course disk 1 AKA disk 2). EAB file server contains this corrupt file.

I suppose that if the program detects 512k only, then it asks for disk 4 for trimmed down tables
jotd is offline  
Old 12 November 2020, 12:48   #6
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
I suppose that if the program detects 512k only, then it asks for disk 4 for trimmed down tables
You're more of an expert than me, but that would be my best guess!

Last edited by DrBong; 13 November 2020 at 15:51. Reason: Fixed Jeff's quote!
DrBong is offline  
Old 13 November 2020, 12:04   #7
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
ah I just searched EAB and found this thanks...

The remaining issue is: bad dump on a course disk (course disk 1 AKA disk 2). EAB file server contains this corrupt file.

I suppose that if the program detects 512k only, then it asks for disk 4 for trimmed down tables
I will contact you, i have access to the IPF in question.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 13 November 2020, 17:06   #8
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
ah I just searched EAB and found this thanks...

The remaining issue is: bad dump on a course disk (course disk 1 AKA disk 2). EAB file server contains this corrupt file.

I suppose that if the program detects 512k only, then it asks for disk 4 for trimmed down tables
the IPF 0025 contains 3 disks, and after checking, all of them are ok.

They use the TSL2 Digital Illusions $3394 long track format.

What is the version you're refering about ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 13 November 2020, 17:47   #9
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,132
I haven't manually checked all the .IPF releases for this game, but the SPS website says:



I know in the past I also noticed 4 x disks with Pinball Fantasies .IPF set and wondered what it was.
DamienD is offline  
Old 13 November 2020, 18:50   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
This is an error, i have only 3 disks in the IPF 0025 archive.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 13 November 2020, 18:52   #11
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,475
The copy I have of 0025 has 4 disks.

edit: but like JOTD says it only contains scans of 3 disks.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 13 November 2020, 21:58   #12
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
The copy I have of 0025 has 4 disks.

edit: but like JOTD says it only contains scans of 3 disks.
There is something wrong, i have access to the SPS amiga catalogue. There are 3 disks inside not 4.

Please PM me, and send me the files, i will check the disk 4.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 13 November 2020, 23:09   #13
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,204
EAB file server has SPS copy with 4 disks. The 4th disk is the table disk but cut down for 512k
jotd is offline  
Old 14 November 2020, 00:58   #14
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
EAB file server has SPS copy with 4 disks. The 4th disk is the table disk but cut down for 512k
I picked it. OK. I have checked the disks, i see no errors on the tracks.

All disks use the TSL2 long track format as said above (length $339x)
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 14 November 2020, 10:11   #15
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,204
strange as my RawDIC imager reads disk 1 and disk 3 (and even disk 4), but fails on a lot of tracks of disk 2 (but not all of them).
jotd is offline  
Old 14 November 2020, 10:51   #16
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
strange as my RawDIC imager reads disk 1 and disk 3 (and even disk 4), but fails on a lot of tracks of disk 2 (but not all of them).
You have something wrong or buggy in the rawdic slave.

Each track use 2 sync marks :

First is $2112, second is $448A.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 14 November 2020, 10:53   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
BTW rawdic is v5.0
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 14 November 2020, 11:41   #18
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,204
you may be right. I have used the Patcher imager code, and I think there are imaging problems with that one too.
jotd is offline  
Old 14 November 2020, 15:02   #19
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
you may be right. I have used the Patcher imager code, and I think there are imaging problems with that one too.
You need to rework the whole thing from point 0.

The patcher is really a crap soft (it forces the use of a physical disk).

Rawdic is much more better.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 14 November 2020, 17:58   #20
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,204
no the patcher is just a very old software, that predates Amiga emulators we could work with.

You don't need to convince me that RawDIC is better. RawDIC has a much better conception / simpler slaves, you don't have to issue the IO commands, and it also shifts the raw tracks according to first sync, which saves a lot of hassle. I remember adding IPF support to this program myself a long time ago too.

It's been ages since I didn't create a rawdic slave... I forgot a lot of stuff. Anyway, I simplified the decoding routine copied from the patcher imager (removing shifts and syncs) and now it works perfect on all disks, thanks for the hint.
jotd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinball Fantasies ECS - WHDLoad problem liviux76 support.Games 11 12 November 2020 12:32
Pinball Fantasies 3 disk version! BarryB project.WHDLoad 2 19 July 2020 11:10
Pinball Fantasies (OCS/ECS) WHDLoad version; how to select Course Disk 2 boards? ReL0aDed Games images which need to be WHDified 3 22 March 2020 16:57
Pinball Fantasies hard disk upgrade absence request.Old Rare Games 11 25 September 2013 10:27
Pinball Dreams & Pinball Fantasies - Special Edition (OCS/ECS) teh HOL contributions 3 23 March 2012 14:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12695 seconds with 15 queries