English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 January 2012, 17:08   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
ClassicWB and WinUAE/UAE support

I'm going to add some in-Workbench control of emulation settings after some useful help from Toni about how to use the uae-configuration program provided with WinUAE.

I myself have a PC that boots directly into WinUAE, a kind of x86 Amiga (I know sacrilege!), so it would be nice to control WinUAE from within Workbench as to not spoil the illusion.

Some screenshots below of how it might work. It would obviously be either an install option, or I could place an install script in the MyFiles/Install drawer like with SFS. Then, if you wish, you can add an emulation control buttons from within Workbench to switch between different speeds and compatibility options. Useful for games, demos apps etc where settings may alter compatibility.

I can also throw in activating the Startup and Cleanup script of WHDLoad, which automatically selects the most compatible setting when running a game then re-enables the super fast settings after you quit back to Workbench.

What do you think? Anything missing?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	UAEcontrol.png
Views:	301
Size:	13.2 KB
ID:	30460  
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 January 2012, 17:13   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,863
Adf inserting/swapping?
Arnie is offline  
Old 29 January 2012, 17:14   #3
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,525
Immediate Blitter is sometimes useful too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 January 2012, 17:15   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Adf inserting/swapping?
I think there is a program for that too called uae-control provided with WinUAE. It's basic, but it works.

I can add an immediate blitter option.

The Cycle Exact is interesting (which also disables JIT). On my Core2 Q9550@3.6Ghz I can go all the way up to about 5x before maxing out a core. I thought up to 3x was enough, but I could add more for Sandybridge owners!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 01 February 2012, 14:26   #5
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I've dropped this in to all the packs.

It's in the MyFiles drawer so you can just leave out an icon on Workbench if you wish. Also in the UAE and P96 pack, it's automatically left out and files reside in the Utilities drawer.

It has the following options:

JIT Enable/Disable
CPU Speed A500/Maximum
Cycle Exact 1x/1.5x/2x/2.5x/3x/3.5x/4x
Immediate Blitter Enable/Disable
UAE-Control - ADF support

Just means you don't have to hit F12 all the time if you want to remain in Workbench.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 01 February 2012, 17:28   #6
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
I hope it isn't too late
Swap Joyports would be nice
and, if possible, changing keyboard config for port 2. I like to use the cursorkeys but they're dead for wb use.

greetz
tero
tero is offline  
Old 02 February 2012, 04:14   #7
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
what a great idea and update to your classic pack, Bloodwych
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 02 February 2012, 11:10   #8
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks for the comment DonAmiga.

tero, I'll take a look at what's possible next time I work on the packs. Also take a look yourself - copy uae-configuration from the WinUAE programs directory to your Workbench C drawer, type uae-configuration in shell and all the options are listed.

Then use ButtonMenu (under settings on the ClassicWB) to edit or create menus that call the shell commands to change things. It's pretty easy to do - something I should have added a while back and a fantastic feature of WinUAE.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 02 February 2012, 13:19   #9
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Bloodwych my friend ButtonMenu with Scalos is just pure winz!!!
I'm in the proccess of customizing your Full pack to my needs and I made such alterations that are so nice and easy!!!

For example, putting USB Enable/Disable plus Trident prefs under Menu plus BMenu components... (trying to keep your awesome strategy) lol

Click image for larger version

Name:	USB1.png
Views:	234
Size:	110.9 KB
ID:	30485 Click image for larger version

Name:	USB2.png
Views:	250
Size:	129.6 KB
ID:	30486


...and also some addition of Music programs (and some Internet category above)

Click image for larger version

Name:	Music.png
Views:	229
Size:	156.3 KB
ID:	30487


Yep just full of win! Bloodwych your work just rulez
mfilos is offline  
Old 02 February 2012, 13:39   #10
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks mfilos - I try and make the packs as easy to customize as possible, with obvious links to all the prefs and settings so peeps can do just what you are...

...personal customizations! Nice work by the way. I find that eye a bit scary however!

I knew you'd like Scalos once you found its awesome powerz!

Last edited by Bloodwych; 02 February 2012 at 18:08.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS-UAE] New Dedicated Forum: support.FS-UAE FrodeSolheim support.OtherUAE 1 02 October 2012 20:12
Portaudio support (was: WinUAE support for ASIO drivers) Akira support.WinUAE 57 28 March 2009 21:15
ClassicWB WHDLoad support and Kickstart requirements Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 0 29 July 2008 17:48
ClassicWB Large Hard Drive Support (> 4GB) Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 2 22 September 2007 13:54
ClassicWB Glow/OS3.5+ Icon Support Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 0 17 September 2007 14:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16504 seconds with 13 queries