English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 August 2018, 13:28   #1
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
WicherCD32

Coming soon my new product WicherCD32.





WicherCD32 for Amiga CD32 offers up to 10MB Fast Ram (SIMM72 module), Clock Port socket, IDE controller.



Last edited by spidi; 20 August 2018 at 14:20.
spidi is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 15:15   #2
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 231
Cool, but 10mb fast ram? I assume thats using a 16mb sim so why not 16?

Probably an obvious answer to this so forgive my hardware noobness.
Glen M is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 15:30   #3
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
Cool, but 10mb fast ram? I assume thats using a 16mb sim so why not 16?

Probably an obvious answer to this so forgive my hardware noobness.

To get 10MB Fast Ram you should use SIMM 16MB or larger.
The EC020 processor supports max. 16MB address space, AmigaCD32 leaves ~ 11MB.
spidi is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 15:40   #4
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
Yay for clock-port!

(if only there was an easily available ethernet solution for the clock port, nudge nudge)

EDIT: What riser card is that? I don't recall seeing one with caps on before
kolla is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 17:01   #5
cip060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Treviso ITALIA
Posts: 65
Does not Quindo have a faster processor?
I was hoping he had a processor like the witcher's for amiga 500 to 50 MHZ !!!
All the time I keep my terrible fire at this point if the processor remains that
I was hoping for an accelerator
cip060 is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 17:09   #6
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,193
The first 8M RAM appear at $20 0000 I guess, but where in the address map do the remaining 2M fit in?
Leffmann is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 19:23   #7
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Yay for clock-port!

(if only there was an easily available ethernet solution for the clock port, nudge nudge)

EDIT: What riser card is that? I don't recall seeing one with caps on before

You can use this solution SPI MasterBus CP

This is prototype of this product
spidi is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 19:24   #8
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by cip060 View Post
Does not Quindo have a faster processor?
I was hoping he had a processor like the witcher's for amiga 500 to 50 MHZ !!!
All the time I keep my terrible fire at this point if the processor remains that
I was hoping for an accelerator

Not yet this time.
spidi is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 19:26   #9
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
The first 8M RAM appear at $20 0000 I guess, but where in the address map do the remaining 2M fit in?
In the picture above you can see the address spaces used.
spidi is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 20:21   #10
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 120
nice ! the prototype shown dhrystone result : 1274
[ Show youtube player ]

and my TF328 Dhrystone 2814


did you made another sys info benchmark ? is it cause the memory speed ?
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 20:27   #11
cip060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Treviso ITALIA
Posts: 65
Same performance with the terrible fire so apart from the clock door same performance
2-90 also with terrible fire and the fast ram that from those performances the only 1200 without ram from less
cip060 is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 20:42   #12
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 120
thanks for "quick fast ram" answer ! hope one day we could see a cpu (or network) cause so much Amiga have accelerators, it seems it's a place problem but the CD32 have place for it, anyway, it's a good news
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 21:20   #13
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by thairacerjp View Post
nice ! the prototype shown dhrystone result : 1274
[ Show youtube player ]

and my TF328 Dhrystone 2814


did you made another sys info benchmark ? is it cause the memory speed ?

My card is a bit slower due to compatibility with different memories.


spidi is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 21:36   #14
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidi View Post
My card is a bit slower due to compatibility with different memories.




Yup. That’s why I don’t put simm sockets on my cards. To be compatible you need to slow things down too much
plasmab is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 22:04   #15
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Yup. That’s why I don’t put simm sockets on my cards. To be compatible you need to slow things down too much
A small compromise, at least the problem of searching for fast DRAMs or expensive SRAMs is gone.
spidi is offline  
Old 21 August 2018, 00:18   #16
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidi View Post
A small compromise, at least the problem of searching for fast DRAMs or expensive SRAMs is gone.

Ar u using regular slow 70ns EDO RAM SIMM?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 21 August 2018, 03:25   #17
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Small upgrade.
Now WicherCD32 supports 11.5MB Fast Ram and MAPROM function





spidi is offline  
Old 21 August 2018, 03:31   #18
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Ar u using regular slow 70ns EDO RAM SIMM?

I tested 50 and 60ns.
spidi is offline  
Old 21 August 2018, 10:42   #19
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
Awesome stuff & MapRom should give it extra performance

Does the CD32 Wicher feature a RGB output?
Would be extra sweet

Last edited by Nibbler; 21 August 2018 at 16:30.
Nibbler is offline  
Old 21 August 2018, 11:05   #20
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,184
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
A riser with serial port would be great.
DDNI is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09718 seconds with 14 queries