English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 11 December 2009, 03:43   #1
IntrepidX

In search of frontends...

Hi, I'm new to Amiga emulation, and I have virtually no idea how to go about optimizing my configuration settings. I'm running Windows Vista 64bit and I'm using WinUAE 1.6.1, and to my knowledge I have all the kickstarts/etc that I need for setting up the emulator.

I'm looking for a frontend (or perhaps several, if needed) that can solve my configuration issues for me. Unfortunately, lemonade is reportedly incompatible with Vista, and I haven't found any viable alternatives through google searches. Does anyone have any idea where I could find a decent frontend? Or, failing that, a tutorial that deals explicitly with configuring 1.6.1 (there's tutorials aplenty for the earlier versions, but they're not much help)?

Old 11 December 2009, 03:53   #2
Marlon

What config issues are you having? There are tutorials, such as at - http://mameworld.info/easyemu/winuae...uae-guide.html. It's outdated in that it refers to winUAE's old GUI, but it's enough to get you off and running.

Or I can upload my configs to the zone if you like. You'd need to change the roms paths in 'em, but then you'd be good to go.
Old 11 December 2009, 06:09   #3
IntrepidX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon View Post
What config issues are you having? There are tutorials, such as at - http://mameworld.info/easyemu/winuae...uae-guide.html. It's outdated in that it refers to winUAE's old GUI, but it's enough to get you off and running.

Or I can upload my configs to the zone if you like. You'd need to change the roms paths in 'em, but then you'd be good to go.
Just figuring out what specs to use, while keeping the game speed and graphics/sounds as high-quality as possible. I have no idea what 80% of the sliders and buttons do, only that my emulation seems to be slower than it should be and the sound isn't coming in very well either.