English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 August 2008, 16:27   #1
gwionm
 
Posts: n/a
A3K Help Needed

When putting my hard drive back in the case it touched the case and the A3000 went off. After replacing the PSU it booted up but the internal floppy didn't same with the the external floppy. Someone suggested changing Paula and CIAs. Replaced CIAs and now the floppy drive works but then the sound was low quality when the volume is increased to a normal level.
Then after playing Lemmings for a while I got a smell of burning from the CIA (one closest to the back of the machine) and it was very hot. I removed it and put another in and the same thing happened.

What should I try next?

Gwion

Last edited by gwionm; 15 August 2008 at 21:54.
 
Old 15 August 2008, 21:56   #2
gwionm
 
Posts: n/a
Bump
 
Old 16 August 2008, 05:04   #3
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 55
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Replace Paula and the electrolytic capacitors on the mobo.
rkauer is offline  
Old 16 August 2008, 13:14   #4
gwionm
 
Posts: n/a
Is there someone in th UK who could replace the electrolytic capacitors on the mobo for me?
 
Old 17 August 2008, 12:13   #5
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 791
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwionm View Post
Is there someone in th UK who could replace the electrolytic capacitors on the mobo for me?
Have you managed to find anyone?
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 17 August 2008, 12:40   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
Replace Paula and the electrolytic capacitors on the mobo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwionm View Post
Is there someone in th UK who could replace the electrolytic capacitors on the mobo for me?
I could but, my dear forum chummies I don't have the time at the moment

you might get lucky with a great forum chummie on here Davideo, he managed to repair his quite successfully and a very nice job he did too.... very pro!



If you are still struggling to get this fixed at the end of the month, PM me i shall juggle some schedule round
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 17 August 2008, 13:21   #7
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,335
@gwionm

I have done the sound repair on my 4000D after failing to find someone to do it for me and could do yours if you wish.

See this thread http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=35176 and message 32 for pictures of my 4000D after the repairs had been carried out. It's not an easy job to do and took me a few hours to complete it.

@Zetr0

Thanks for the praise

Dave G

Last edited by davideo; 17 August 2008 at 13:23. Reason: Edit: Forgot the bluddy link
davideo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: A3K Romy PCB SpeedGeek MarketPlace 0 27 October 2012 15:26
interlace a3k lost_loven support.Hardware 11 27 November 2011 16:16
ram on a3k lost_loven support.Hardware 4 13 April 2010 05:24
a3k floppy ! lost_loven support.Hardware 5 25 March 2010 22:30
a3k lost_loven support.Hardware 12 24 March 2010 03:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07904 seconds with 13 queries