English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad > project.Killergorilla's WHD packs

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 August 2007, 11:55   #1
amiganer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: germany
Posts: 56
FIXED: Speedball (Hangs during demo play)

Hello,

already mailed this to writer:


Speedball

will crash during the third Demo Play!



Time-History:

16.45 Player is knocking and waiting for pressing Fire
16.48 First Demo Game
16.51 Player is knocking and waiting for pressing Fire
16.53 Second Demo Game
16.56 Player is knocking and waiting for pressing Fire
16.58 Third Demo Game
17.00 Speedball is CRASHING during Demo Game, always at the same Screen. This does not happen with Disc Speedball at Amiga 500.

Confirmed both with Amiga 3000 (just now) and Amiga 1200



Video

http://.com/files/44213184/MOV00400.3GP

Video Speedball WHD-Load crashing during third demo play. (Starting Minute 1:19)


Anybody could confirm this with his whd speedball?

Speedball from 3,5 Disc is running fine ...
amiganer is offline  
Old 05 August 2007, 13:35   #2
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,794
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Tested my install of the game and it works fine, left it going in demo mode for nearly an hour while i had dinner.

im at a loss why ya worried about the game demo mode though
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 05 August 2007, 15:51   #3
amiganer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: germany
Posts: 56
i like that sound

also it was a stress test for my "new" A3k

may be you could send the files somehow to me?
amiganer is offline  
Old 05 August 2007, 16:08   #4
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,794
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Ill stick in the zone for ya
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 05 August 2007, 21:28   #5
amiganer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: germany
Posts: 56
thanks, just found out what is "the zone"

EAB is full of secrets all the time ;-)

i will report if this Speedball is running

(and running and running ;-)
amiganer is offline  
Old 06 August 2007, 00:39   #6
amiganer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: germany
Posts: 56
hallo matt,

thank you very much.

Your files are working fine!

Size differs from Killergorilla's WHD packs which have the same size like my crashing download.

Both versions are named 2.0 but files are different.

Something must be wrong with Gorillas Files.

How did you make your Speedball, Matt?
amiganer is offline  
Old 06 August 2007, 01:01   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,172
I can confirm this bug with KG's Speedball install. The game freezes during the third demo game, as you said.

Probably one of the most hidden WHDLoad errors i've seen.

Edit: Yep, Mad-Matt's version is working fine here in Demo mode, no freezes. Will check now the IPF image, which KG used for his install.

Edit2: Just tested the CAPS #581 with WinUAE, in plain disk mode. No freezes here, so i assume this version isn't fully working with Slave 2.0. Even if JOTD wrote this:

Quote:
version 2.0 (01.01.05) done by JOTD:
- support for another original version (CAPSID:581, with another disk protection)
- slave fully rewritten, merged re-release & original slaves (3 versions supported)
- install script rewritten
- RawDIC imager used for the original versions
- source code included

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 06 August 2007 at 13:36.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 06 August 2007, 10:43   #8
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
Cool, I shall fix this in my new pack!

There are 3 IPF versions so one of them must work
killergorilla is offline  
Old 06 August 2007, 12:19   #9
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,794
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
I used my own disk which is the Kixx re-release dos version.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 06 August 2007, 12:29   #10
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
Cool, I'll use that one then. Cheers for the info sire.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 06 August 2007, 12:57   #11
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,794
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
I dont know if its widely known, but speedball is probably the only game with screen adjustmant while you play the game. can use Q/A and P/L keys to adjust the virtical screen size and make use of the overscan area dependant on screen.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 06 August 2007, 13:37   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
I dont know if its widely known, but speedball is probably the only game with screen adjustmant while you play the game. can use Q/A and P/L keys to adjust the virtical screen size and make use of the overscan area dependant on screen.
Yep, i know this. Even the Quartex crack contains this info. Very handy feature.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 06 August 2007, 13:40   #13
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 55
Posts: 1,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Yep, i know this. Even the Quartex crack contains this info. Very handy feature.

Well that's cos its Quartex innit?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 06 August 2007, 13:59   #14
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,794
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
ok, i never seen crack , i just remember making use of this feature way back when I used A600 connected to ordinary tv

EDIT: listening to the game music, is it just me or does it seem to share more than a few rifs with bravestar on c64 ? I know music is by same author

Last edited by Mad-Matt; 06 August 2007 at 15:47.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 06 August 2007, 14:05   #15
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Well that's cos its Quartex innit?
Nope, works fine with the original too.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 07 August 2007, 01:42   #16
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
I installed it with the other SPS/IPF image, all seems fine now, I've whacked it in the zone, if someone could test it once or twice that'd be nice

Cheers.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 07 August 2007, 03:45   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,172
SPS #0086 install works fine here, KG. No freezes in five demo games.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 07 August 2007 at 03:55.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 07 August 2007, 08:35   #18
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 55
Posts: 1,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Nope, works fine with the original too.

He said EVEN the QUARTEX CRACK INCLUDES THIS INFO...

INFO

RTFM!!!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 07 August 2007, 08:48   #19
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
I dont know if its widely known, but speedball is probably the only game with screen adjustmant while you play the game. can use Q/A and P/L keys to adjust the virtical screen size and make use of the overscan area dependant on screen.
Helter Skelter also has screen positioning using F6 and F7 during the game.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 07 August 2007, 10:35   #20
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
He said EVEN the QUARTEX CRACK INCLUDES THIS INFO...

INFO

RTFM!!!
LOL!! Sorry, Meth. I got you wrong. Never had a manual back in time, so this important info was very useful for me.



I guess, Quartex liked the Public Enemy cracks, right?
Retro-Nerd is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to play RSI Mega Demo on WinUAE? Richardcavell support.WinUAE 11 25 March 2013 04:48
Necronom hangs before level 3 apachacha support.WinUAE 9 23 July 2011 14:57
Lotus 3: The Ultimate Challenge quites while demo play amiganer project.WHDLoad 18 27 September 2008 18:42
X-Out strange hangs haynor666 project.WHDLoad 2 30 August 2008 11:44
WinUAE 1.3.4 hard hangs Alyria support.WinUAE 40 05 January 2007 15:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13150 seconds with 13 queries