English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 June 2012, 09:04   #1
Emu Amiga
Super dooper Amiga fan
Emu Amiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles / USA
Age: 51
Posts: 110
Hi all, i have a really stupid question, but i have to ask, when installing Classicwb do i need to install Claonto's Amiga forever first? I've always done it this way and just wondering it's a needed step to get my (virtual) Amiga up and running. Any replys would be, as always appreciated.
Emu Amiga is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 10:46   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,655
Send a message via MSN to FOL
AmigaForver installs the emulator WinUAE, so you would need that first before you can install ClassicWB on emulated machine.
FOL is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 12:06   #3
Emu Amiga
Super dooper Amiga fan
Emu Amiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles / USA
Age: 51
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
AmigaForver installs the emulator WinUAE, so you would need that first before you can install ClassicWB on emulated machine.
Thanks for the speedy reply. My initial thoughts were to just download Winuae off the website and pick the relevant files off Cloanto's disk. Would this work? Windows has a tendacy to place files all over the hard drive. Any thoughts/suggestions would be welcome.
Emu Amiga is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 12:57   #4
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emu Amiga View Post
Thanks for the speedy reply. My initial thoughts were to just download Winuae off the website and pick the relevant files off Cloanto's disk. Would this work? Windows has a tendacy to place files all over the hard drive. Any thoughts/suggestions would be welcome.
You are true, but anyway my advice is ... to search and learn where the files are, and use AmigaForever.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 23:32   #5
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,655
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emu Amiga View Post
Thanks for the speedy reply. My initial thoughts were to just download Winuae off the website and pick the relevant files off Cloanto's disk. Would this work? Windows has a tendacy to place files all over the hard drive. Any thoughts/suggestions would be welcome.
It should work, but you may have to alter some things to get it working correctly.
As retrofan said, its easier to use AmigaForever, if you have it.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 00:29   #6
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,998
And if you store the files always in the same place, next time you'll have to search for another (floppy, hardrive, kickstart...) the search in WinUAE or in A-Forever will begin from that directory (the last you used).
Retrofan is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 00:33   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,655
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
And if you store the files always in the same place, next time you'll have to search for another (floppy, hardrive, kickstart...) the search in WinUAE or in A-Forever will begin from that directory (the last you used).
You could alter the config dirs to .\Disks\, .\Kicks\ etc etc.
It will look in the program dir then. This is what I do.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 00:43   #8
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,998
Emu Amiga one thing is clear: you need to have Amiga Forever to have all the files, so better use it. The cheap offers expired, but you can get it not so expensive; from 9,95:

http://www.amigaforever.com/
Retrofan is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 01:22   #9
Emu Amiga
Super dooper Amiga fan
Emu Amiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles / USA
Age: 51
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Emu Amiga one thing is clear: you need to have Amiga Forever to have all the files, so better use it. The cheap offers expired, but you can get it not so expensive; from 9,95:

http://www.amigaforever.com/
Thanks for the reply's gentlemen, I already own Cloanto's '06 and '09 versions of the program. I was just being lazy and was looking for a quicker way to get my emulated Amiga up and running.
Emu Amiga is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 13:57   #10
Emu Amiga
Super dooper Amiga fan
Emu Amiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles / USA
Age: 51
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
You could alter the config dirs to .\Disks\, .\Kicks\ etc etc.
It will look in the program dir then. This is what I do.
I got it all setup, Why is setting up this wonderful program like setting up an old VCR? , I seem to forget everytime. As i said earlier windows along with Cloanto has a funny way placing files on my #$%#@ hard drive. Also, i had to look up how to setup Whdload. Yet another wonderful program, I love emulation! Thanks Bert.
Emu Amiga is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Custom Config] Workbench 3.1 (Cloanto Amiga Forever) amigafreak68k support.FS-UAE 0 11 August 2013 20:04
Cloanto Releases Amiga Forever Essentials for Android Kitty News 35 12 May 2013 22:31
Cloanto and Amiga Forever alexh Amiga scene 13 01 October 2006 13:09
clock in cloanto amiga forever... zACK! support.WinUAE 2 08 April 2006 21:36
Save State on Cloanto Amiga Forever 3.0 NeutralizeR New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 14 November 2002 15:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07248 seconds with 15 queries