English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2005, 03:10   #1
lpopman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Age: 47
Posts: 37
Compiling Alien Breed 3D II

I've just downloaded the source code to Alien Breed 3D II from aminet, and I don't know where to start

I can see some AMOS files there, but which is the main file, and what compilers do I need to build it?

Any help would be appreciated..
lpopman is offline  
Old 13 June 2005, 02:50   #2
Hercules
 
Posts: n/a
Forget it.
 
Old 13 June 2005, 04:46   #3
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 63
Posts: 685
That was helpful ... not!

Seriously, I'd have to assume that compilation of the source code would be possible IF you happen to have all of the required tools and libraries, unless some key piece of source code was never released. Sometimes getting all of the required components you need to allow compilation to be done can be a bit tricky, but if you can manage that then there is no reason why you couldn't compile the code if you have a FULL set of source code available to you AND if you have all libraries it might need. As far as identifying what prerequisites you might have to satisfy first before being able to compile AB3D2 is concerned, I'm afraid I couldn't begin to guess since I have no familiarity with the code, but someone here may be more familiar with the requirements and they might be able to elaborate.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 17 June 2005, 03:14   #4
Hercules
 
Posts: n/a
It could be worse. You need his whole setup including paths and tools which you don't really know anything about.

You might ask some SAS/C expert. Are there even any makefiles included?
 
Old 17 June 2005, 03:32   #5
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 63
Posts: 685
Paths aren't too big of an issue, since those can be determined and modified by examining the various files that make up the project, and then can be modified if needed. The only parts of his setup you actually need are those relevant to the programming tools used to develop the code, or bits that are referenced by the code. Getting the tools and any unusual libraries and such is generally the hardest part. Not being familiar with the code for AB3D2, I don't know what those would be, aside from the fact that he mentions that at least some of the source appears to be AMOS. I wouldn't think that finding AMOS should be too hard to do, but if it needs a particular version that could be difficult to determine. And if any of the source is (for example) assembler code that is used to build an object to be linked in (assuming that AMOS supports such things), then you'd also need whatever tools it took to build that object. It's not that figuring out how to compile the source code is something that nobody could possibly figure out how to do (assuming that it is all there), but the hassle involved in doing so usually isn't worth it unless you have some compelling reason to. Its kind of hard for me to think of any reason I'd really want to be re-compiling AB3D2 myself, but I suppose someone might have looked at enough of the code that they think they could make some significant improvement to it.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 17 June 2005, 03:36   #6
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 63
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hercules
Are there even any makefiles included?
I just saw this question, and it would be a key one for me. If whatever code he has doesn't include the makefiles, then it's all pretty much guesswork when it comes to how to compile it, and probably isn't worth the effort.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 17 June 2005, 11:53   #7
girv
Reticulator of Splines
girv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 920
Send a message via ICQ to girv Send a message via AIM to girv Send a message via MSN to girv Send a message via Yahoo to girv
ISTR getting the main exe to assemble once using Devpac 3. There were no makefiles, so I picked a likely looking "main" file and started with that. IIRC this file included the other ones it needed directly.

Thing is, I also recall that when I did assemble it, it didnt work!

Non-MS programmers will note that compile != work
girv is offline  
Old 17 June 2005, 12:53   #8
LaundroMat
Junior Member
LaundroMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: In the cellar. With your mum.
Age: 43
Posts: 404
But.... AMOS files?
LaundroMat is offline  
Old 17 June 2005, 13:03   #9
girv
Reticulator of Splines
girv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 920
Send a message via ICQ to girv Send a message via AIM to girv Send a message via MSN to girv Send a message via Yahoo to girv
The AMOS files I think are for various level editors, gfx convertors etc. that you end up needing when developing a game. I dont think they're strictly necessary to rebuild the game exe itself.
girv is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Working WinUAE config for Alien Breed and Alien Breed II takeobass support.WinUAE 2 22 July 2008 15:48
alien breed 3d 2 c0d334t3r project.Sprites 1 22 May 2005 13:40
Which alien breed was the best? Mangar Retrogaming General Discussion 39 27 August 2004 21:26
Alien Breed SE '92 harrison support.Games 3 01 February 2003 23:02
Alien Breed - Alien Breed SE? Daz support.Games 8 20 August 2002 20:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.90469 seconds with 15 queries