English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 May 2010, 00:41   #1
Landoq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 23
Amiga 4000T cdrom

Hi

i installed a scsi cdrom unit to my A4000T. i see the information about cd0 device( in devs/dosdrivers) and is:

c:Mount
Activate=1
Device=scsi.device
Unit=1

i have a scsi hard disk, i imagine that use 0 unit.

cd icon does not appear, although the unit is mounted

where is the problem ?

thanks
Landoq is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 00:49   #2
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 51
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Device=scsi2nd.device or something like that or Device=2ndscsi.device probaly this one

if cd is only one it be 0 but beeing real scsi it might actual be the no of scsi device
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 01:05   #3
Landoq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 23
i test the mount list with scsi.device and 2nd.scsi.device and the result is the same. icon cd rom drive does not appear
Landoq is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 01:40   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,663
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Landoq View Post
i test the mount list with scsi.device and 2nd.scsi.device and the result is the same. icon cd rom drive does not appear
Use the find device app that comes with IDEFix97. It will tell you if the drive is connected ok and also what unit it is aswell as the device its using.

I have mine correctly setup as device = atapi.device and unit = 2.
FOL is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 02:46   #5
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
just in case: IDEFix97 on aminet. the Tool is called: FindDevice
hit is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 05:44   #6
Landoq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 23
but idefix is for IDE units and i have scsi units, right?
Landoq is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 09:25   #7
AVH_2009
A1200ERC
AVH_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 35
Yes IDE-fix was original for IDE Drives,but the Find utilitie works great to find scsi-devices to. Select in the left window the device and then the scan button.
Sometimes it couldt be, that the system will hang, then try another device.
AVH_2009 is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 09:30   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,727
Quote:
Select in the left window the device and then the scan button.
That's nonsense. *Either* select the device manually *or* click on scan to search all devices.
thomas is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 13:48   #9
Landoq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 23
The Amiga OS 3.1 don´t have native CDROM FileSystem ? i thought yes.
Landoq is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 14:24   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,624
No it doesn't.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 14:38   #11
Landoq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
No it doesn't.
So , i need a "thirdty" cd filesystem for my scsi CD ROM ?

There are a thing don´t understand, if the Amiga OS 3.1 haven´t cd filesystem, why include the CD0 mount list ?
Landoq is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 15:25   #12
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Landoq View Post
The Amiga OS 3.1 don´t have native CDROM FileSystem ? i thought yes.
It does. It's called CDRomFileSystem and resides in the L directory. You can use it for basic operation, but it's highly recommended to use AmiCDFS or CacheCDFS instead.

Do what FOL told you, then change device and unit in your CD0 icon accordingly. Should work. But you never know. CacheCDFS will at least give you an error message if something went wrong. CDRomFileSystem just silently quits.
thomas is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 17:33   #13
Landoq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
It does. It's called CDRomFileSystem and resides in the L directory. You can use it for basic operation
you can explain me the use for use this mode ?

the second part i don´t understand

Last edited by Jope; 15 May 2010 at 18:00. Reason: fixed the quote
Landoq is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 18:01   #14
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,916
There is a cd0 icon in sys:storage/dosdrivers. You set the device name and unit number in the tool types (click once on the icon, press right amiga-i) and then mount it.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 18:01   #15
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,727
Quote:
you can explain me the use for use this mode ?
By basic operation I mean you can use it to read the CD-R which contains AmiCDFS or CacheCDFS if you don't have another means to transfer files from the internet to your Amiga. It's not good for every day usage.


Quote:
the second part i don´t understand
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Use the find device app that comes with IDEFix97. It will tell you if the drive is connected ok and also what unit it is aswell as the device its using.
thomas is offline  
Old 17 May 2010, 11:00   #16
Landoq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
By basic operation I mean you can use it to read the CD-R which contains AmiCDFS or CacheCDFS if you don't have another means to transfer files from the internet to your Amiga. It's not good for every day usage.
there no solution. I tried use scsi.device, 2ndscsi,devicem and so on an the cd icon don´t appers.

With A1200 + squirrel scsi was easy connect to a cd rom scsi. In the 4000 is a hell
Landoq is offline  
Old 17 May 2010, 11:14   #17
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,663
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Landoq View Post
there no solution. I tried use scsi.device, 2ndscsi,devicem and so on an the cd icon don´t appers.

With A1200 + squirrel scsi was easy connect to a cd rom scsi. In the 4000 is a hell
Your still not listening.

open the IDEFix97 archive, in there you will find an Application called "Find Device". Launch it and click scan, it will scan and find something (i.e. blahblah CDROM Unit 0). If its not the device your after, then press scan again. keep doing that until you find your CDROM. If you dont see your CDROM, then you havent got it connected properly (or your missing the correct device driver).

Find out this info and post it here, same with your cd0, we can then see if you have it setup correctly (software wise).
FOL is offline  
Old 17 May 2010, 17:24   #18
Landoq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 23
this is a rear panel of cd rom
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0047.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	273.5 KB
ID:	25325   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0049.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	263.0 KB
ID:	25327  
Landoq is offline  
Old 17 May 2010, 18:01   #19
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 51
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
http://amibay.com/showthread.php?p=69367#post69367
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 21 May 2010, 22:36   #20
Landoq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 23
images of hard disk

http://gallery.me.com/landoq#100077

is a Fujitsu SCSI unit model M1606SAU

Last edited by Landoq; 22 May 2010 at 00:05.
Landoq is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a HD floppy drive for Amiga 4000T videofx Amiga scene 13 17 February 2013 00:27
Amiga 4000T AV Module DarrenHD support.Hardware 3 10 December 2010 07:44
Cdrom Drive In 4000T THX1138 support.Hardware 11 06 October 2008 22:01
Amiga 4000T not booting Kristian95 support.Hardware 6 25 April 2008 00:10
Amiga 4000t HD help GreenMeanie support.Hardware 17 04 November 2007 10:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09848 seconds with 16 queries