English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 January 2018, 19:57   #1
Tomarkus
Registered User

Tomarkus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kraków / Poland
Age: 34
Posts: 2
ClassicWB v28 - Assign-Startup and 2nd partition issue

Hi all,

I'm pulling my hairs off trying to add a couple of drives with games to Assign-Startup and then generate GamesMenu.menu via AddGames script
Maybe some will be able to help me and point me what I'm doing wrong here. Here are the details:

1. I Have a ClassicWB3.9 (v28) with BB1&2 installed.
2. I have created a couple more PFS3-AIO RDB HDF <4GB drives for demos, games and other stuff:
  • 500 MB - Backup
  • 2000 MB - Programs
  • 3500 MB - Games1
  • 3500 MB - Games2
  • 2000 MB - Demoscene

Partition "Games1" contains "Games" folder with WHDLoad games (A-P folders)
Partition "Games2" contains "WHDLoad/Games" folders with WHDLoad games (Q-Z folders)

My Assign-Startup file looks like this:
Code:
;ClassicWB Assign-Startup
;------------------------
;GAAE 68K LITE FULL ADV ADVSP P96 OS39

Assign >NIL: A-Demos: Demoscene:Demos
Assign >NIL: A-Games: Games1:Games
Assign >NIL: A-Games: Games2:WHDLoad/Games ADD
Assign >NIL: A-MyFiles: SYS:MyFiles
Assign >NIL: A-Programs: SYS:Programs
Assign >NIL: A-Temp: SYS:Temp

After booting up the machine, when I run "assign list", I can see that assign ADD was successful:

Code:
Volumes:
Ram Disk [Mounted]
Demoscene [Mounted]
PC [Mounted]
Games2 [Mounted]
Games1 [Mounted]
Programs [Mounted]
Backup [Mounted]
System [Mounted]

Directories:
MUI            System:System/MUI
AWEB_APL       System:Internet/AWeb_APL
VMEM           System:T
LAUNCH         System:System/BMenu/Files
A-Temp         System:Temp
A-Programs     System:Programs
A-MyFiles      System:MyFiles
A-Games        Games1:Games
             + Games2:WHDLoad/Games
A-Demos        Demoscene:Demos
HELP           System:Locale/Help
             + System:System/MUI/Docs
..
..

Devices:
PIPE VNC VNR RAM CON
RAW SER PAR PRT DH0
DF0 CC0 Backup Programs Games1
Games2 Demoscene PC
Now comes the funny part - when I run AddGames script, it generates ONLY A-P games from the 1st partition - "Games1". When I wrongly (on purpose) modify Assign-Startup like this:

Code:
;ClassicWB Assign-Startup
;------------------------
;GAAE 68K LITE FULL ADV ADVSP P96 OS39

Assign >NIL: A-Demos: Demoscene:Demos
Assign >NIL: A-Games: Games1:Games
Assign >NIL: A-Games: Games2:WHDLoad/Games
Assign >NIL: A-MyFiles: SYS:MyFiles
Assign >NIL: A-Programs: SYS:Programs
Assign >NIL: A-Temp: SYS:Temp
(I'm removing ADD parameter from ASSIGN)

then AddGames script generates Q-Z game paths in the .menu file

I have read all the related posts like:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=58692
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=48711
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=89543
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=84032

but I could not find any working solution. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong here? I assume it's a typical PEBCAK - problem exists between chair and keyboard

Last edited by Tomarkus; 27 January 2018 at 21:34.
Tomarkus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 January 2018, 21:25   #2
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 605
No need to create lots of partitions. The 4GB limit is per drive, not partition.
So only the first partition needs to be within first 4GB.
If you have patched your system so you can use a large drive, you can also use large partitions. (See FAQ in signature)
fgh is offline  
Old 27 January 2018, 21:37   #3
Tomarkus
Registered User

Tomarkus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kraków / Poland
Age: 34
Posts: 2
fgh, thanks for your reply. I've made a mistake here - these are not partitions, but drives - Game1 is a single-partition 3,5GB drive, as well as Games2. I have edited my 1st post accordingly.
Tomarkus is offline  
Old 17 February 2018, 00:25   #4
merlinkv
Amiga user since 1989

merlinkv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Spain
Age: 54
Posts: 112
Anyone knows if a new CW version is expected in the near future? ....
merlinkv is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound issue with 2nd monitor... Michael Sykes support.WinUAE 0 29 August 2016 22:51
WinUAE 3.0 Amiga Early Startup Control Issue Steve support.WinUAE 5 04 January 2015 01:59
ClassicWB v28 Feedback Retrofan project.ClassicWB 12 07 October 2013 20:35
Strange problem with ClassicWB 3.9 on SFS or PFS boot partition Tarel78 project.ClassicWB 15 20 April 2012 08:56
A2000 startup issue xport support.Hardware 5 28 July 2006 09:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 1.05282 seconds with 14 queries