English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 March 2008, 06:43   #1
enito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chile
Posts: 15
1084S flicker

Hi,

is normal have flicker in a 1084S monitor?

i connect from a 6 to 23 pins cable, is the best way?

Monitor is NTSC 50/60Hz , amiga 600 is a PAL

i notify image in monitor is flickering a bit, not sure if this is normal in this type of monitor. Any way to connect to LCD for have best image?

thx!!
enito is offline  
Old 11 March 2008, 07:25   #2
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,625
In interlaced modes, flickering is (unfortunately) normal on 1084.

If your TV has RGB SCART, you can buy a Amiga SCART cable from vesalia or amigakit. Much bigger and better picture than a Commodore monitor.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 11 March 2008, 14:26   #3
enito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chile
Posts: 15
kewl, the trouble in my country dont exist SCART connection hehe is so hard connect a LCD?

thx
enito is offline  
Old 11 March 2008, 16:44   #4
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,625
If by LCD you mean a TV, you can use the composite connection which will give you a crappy, but better than nothing picture. RGB to Component converters exist which work very well with amiga.

If you mean a monitor, a scandoubler is required.

I'm not sure what you mean by flickering. Is this a fault with the monitor or are you wishing to use interlaced screenmodes flicker-free?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 11 March 2008, 21:54   #5
enito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chile
Posts: 15
Cool

thats right you say, i need a flicker free option...
a friend of mine recommend me a LG M1721A or M1921a using rgb, not sure if i using direct i get a reall good picture? any picture about a amiga using a lcd for see...thx for your time
enito is offline  
Old 12 March 2008, 05:50   #6
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,625
My LCD does eliminate the flicker, however when moving the mouse cursor over lines, boxes, etc there is some strange artifacts. Im not sure if any LCD does a perfect job of flickerfixing the image.

Does your TV have a VGA input? If so consult the manual to see if it supports 15khz via the VGA (it probably won't).
Hewitson is offline  
Old 12 March 2008, 08:54   #7
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Hello Enio.

Like I said to you before, look for the LG brand, but assure that LCD TV can handle 50Hz of vertical refresh (56Hz is not enough).

A lot of brazilian users have bought this TV set to use with Amigas. But LG claims it not manage 50Hz, but, hey, presto! it works!
rkauer is offline  
Old 12 March 2008, 11:52   #8
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,625
Surely any modern TV supports 50hz? The ones here have supported both 50hz and 60hz since the early 90s.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 12 March 2008, 13:33   #9
enito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chile
Posts: 15
ops...i see specs of the LG M1721A , and i see

Vertical Frequency56 ~ 75 Hz

http://www.lge.com/products/model/detail/m1721a.jhtml


greets
enito is offline  
Old 12 March 2008, 13:37   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,625
I thought our tv's were bad for not having SCART, but fancy not supporting 50hz!
Hewitson is offline  
Old 12 March 2008, 14:07   #11
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,184
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
CRTs handle 50hz very easily.

IIRC Amiga Scandoublers output ~50hz to a VGA input...
Many Computer/TV LCD screens with VGA inputs, were generally not expected to need to support 50hz inputs. These monitors generally have SCART or Composite or RF inputs for 50hz signals.

Alot of LCD monitors will function with 50hz on the VGA input, but you need to double check this before purchase.
DDNI is offline  
Old 13 March 2008, 03:37   #12
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
BTW: EURO 36 mode is very good for the 1084S!

No flickering at all!


But this mode is not supported in other monitors...
rkauer is offline  
Old 13 March 2008, 07:06   #13
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,625
What are specifications of Euro36? Is it likely to work on any TV's?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 13 March 2008, 07:56   #14
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 2,447
for now, do what i used to do while you have your 1084. With my Philips monitor years ago, i used to just lower the brighter colours on workbench that makes flicker worse, such as the white lines around the Windows that surround the icons... etc... you will find a balance. And if you are able to get hold of a Screen Filter for that size monitor that helps slightly reduce flicker as well, and softens the image a bit and it actually seems to make your monitor viewable size look bigger for some weird reason !?..
blade002 is offline  
Old 14 March 2008, 05:31   #15
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
What are specifications of Euro36? Is it likely to work on any TV's?

AFAIR, only in PAL TV's...
rkauer is offline  
Old 14 March 2008, 09:55   #16
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,625
It is 73hz I would be surprised if any TV can sync to that.

I found this strange piece of information while browsing the web:

PAL and NTSC interlace-modes are a remnant of OCS/ ECS and can be deinterlaced by AA's LISA.
Hewitson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with flicker trydowave support.WinUAE 4 12 December 2012 22:59
Flicker fixer Megamix MarketPlace 4 26 June 2010 01:01
Flicker trouble steve88 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 16 03 January 2008 00:47
FS: Scandoubler/Flicker Fixer DCE Flicker Magic lopos2000 MarketPlace 15 23 October 2007 12:18
flicker fix Marcuz request.UAE Wishlist 2 01 September 2006 22:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09674 seconds with 15 queries