English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 January 2008, 18:58   #21
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 33
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
yeah i did this is the exact message:

opened unit 0
Unit 0 is not a disk (type 7)!
Unable to setup drive
Unable to open SCSI device 0

Its just a bit strange that I can partition it?
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 29 January 2008, 19:07   #22
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
Boot using the Workbench disk. Open a shell and try this:

Quote:
format drive dh0: name System
And what is this formatHD? I can't find it on my Install 3.1 disk(s).
ppill is offline  
Old 29 January 2008, 19:17   #23
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 33
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
its the system install disk that came with all the others, it boots to a menu where you can format hd, prep hd etc.

Ok will try
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 29 January 2008, 20:47   #24
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 33
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
Thinking about with a coffee and some biccies, I rem that type7 errors are the device not regstering as a drive, ill wait til tomorrow when my 1gig arrives and try that one instead.
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 02 February 2008, 12:38   #25
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 33
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
got a kingston 1gb, all is well now

thanks everyone
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 03 February 2008, 14:16   #26
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by fc.studio View Post
At the moment my A600 has one of this female CF adapter and I can assure you it works perfectly (recommended).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
It works, I have one of them too, it is actually listed in the "manual" that comes with all these chinese cfide adapters.
Fascinating. A regular 2.5" IDE cable must transpose the pins also... never knew that.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 February 2008, 20:34   #27
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 663
Exactly right, it's pretty hard to visualise by just looking at the connectors or a pinout, the diagrams on this page demonstrate how the connectors actually go together.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 03 February 2008, 22:42   #28
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,166
very cool. Makes sense.
alexh is offline  
Old 11 March 2008, 21:08   #29
Philyon
 
Posts: n/a
Hi,

I bought on eBay this CF-IDE adapter :
http://cgi.ebay.fr/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...m=280204764850

I didn't see this thread with all this diffrents models, so do you know if it will work on my A1200 or do I need to buy another one ?

If so, this adapter has a 3"5 connector, so I need to buy a 2"5 to 3"5 cable. Do you kow where I could find one please ?
 
Old 11 March 2008, 23:18   #30
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 49
Posts: 799
You need the 2"5 to 3,5" cable and you have to buy a splitter cable with a free floppy power cable to power the adapter.
In my opinion, it would be better and simpler to buy a 2,5" CF. It's true you need a 2,5" cable (you can use the same of your 2,5" HDD), but you don't need further cable to power it.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 12 March 2008, 10:40   #31
Philyon
 
Posts: n/a
I don't know if I really need to power the adapter. I think it's only for the second side, if I want to put a second CF on it.
I bought a cable on eBay, I'll see if it works fine, otherwise I'll buy a simpler 2,5" adapter like you said.
 
Old 12 March 2008, 11:00   #32
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Quote:
Originally Posted by AliasXZ View Post
Thinking about with a coffee and some biccies, I rem that type7 errors are the device not regstering as a drive, ill wait til tomorrow when my 1gig arrives and try that one instead.
it needs patched hdtoolbox, not a regular one
Chain is offline  
Old 12 March 2008, 11:25   #33
frost242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: France, 87
Age: 38
Posts: 96
Or simply use HDInstTool. I couldn't apply the patchs on hdtoolbox, don't know why. HDInstTool solved the issues.
frost242 is offline  
Old 12 March 2008, 11:34   #34
TheBoss
Registered User
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 837
Send a message via ICQ to TheBoss
Quote:
Originally Posted by AliasXZ View Post
Hey

Dyou guys recon this will work?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CF-to-44-pins-...QQcmdZViewItem

and then ill whack a 1gb cf card in it and install wb3.1
Thats almost like the one i use in my CD32 and it works with my 1GB sandisk. I used the WB disks to format it then transfer a presetup OS installation from my laptop to the cf card, then into my cd32 and go

Complete Set

Last edited by TheBoss; 12 March 2008 at 11:40.
TheBoss is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do 40 Pin Compact Flash to IDE Adapters need power? Peter support.Hardware 11 22 November 2011 19:57
Dual Compact Flash to IDE controller. dkovacs support.Hardware 7 16 January 2011 01:20
Compact Flash+CDROM on A4000 IDE? stefcep2 support.Hardware 13 21 March 2010 22:16
Swap 4-device buffered ide with Compact Flash lolafg Swapshop 6 06 November 2009 11:17
IDE CF Compact Flash Adapter Power Plug crazyegg support.Hardware 8 13 October 2009 02:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07958 seconds with 16 queries