English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 August 2019, 18:24   #1
Louk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 78
Amiga OS4.1 on Virtual Box?

Hey all, have Virtual Box provisioned for some virtual machines such as Linux, Ubuntu, Zorin, and even Windows 98 so I can play some old PC Format games without using dosbox.

Is it possible to have AmigaOS4.1 running on a virtual machine? I have it currently set up with WinUae but it seems slow and glitchy.

Cheers

Louk
Louk is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 18:57   #2
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,286
VirtualBox does not change the CPU architecture of the host machine, and as OS4 needs PowerPC to run on, this unfortunately can't work. You need full emulation which is always much slower.
ajk is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 18:58   #3
Louk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 78
ah that is a shame, thank you. My pc is pretty fast (16 gb ram etc) and is fine for audio production, what set up would you say is ideal to run it on on my PC?
Louk is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 20:17   #4
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 64
The only way to run OS4 right now is WinUAE or FS-UAE. If you're using Windows, I'd use WinUAE.
cloverskull is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 21:57   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,180
There would be a way, with Amilator you can run OS4.1 on Virtual Machine, to me it worked with VMWare Player or run OS4.1 and AfA-OS, of course it works better on WinUAE

Amilator has a Linux boot base that in turn runs

VMware Player (PenDrive live): Amilator AFA OS
[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 23:02   #6
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,000
There is a work in progress to run AmigaOS4.1 under QEMU but using the Sam460 version.
kamelito is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 23:28   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamelito View Post
There is a work in progress to run AmigaOS4.1 under QEMU but using the Sam460 version.

Yes


[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 06 August 2019, 00:49   #8
Louk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 78
Fantastic I will give it a go thanks!
Louk is offline  
Old 06 October 2019, 17:32   #9
fl@sh
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: italy
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Yes


[ Show youtube player ]
it runs quite well with quemu 4.x, the only real problem is it's much slower than winuae, based on an older version of qemu 2.x
I asked tony and frode to update winuae and fsuae ppc plugins, but sadly they are not interested in that
fl@sh is offline  
Old 11 October 2019, 11:36   #10
Unkown
The Old Fart!

Unkown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Tyldesley
Age: 53
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
VirtualBox does not change the CPU architecture of the host machine, and as OS4 needs PowerPC to run on, this unfortunately can't work. You need full emulation which is always much slower.

Ok then so no point in running it in a VM then right on... Thank You!
Unkown is offline  
Old 13 October 2019, 17:13   #11
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unkown View Post
Ok then so no point in running it in a VM then right on... Thank You!
Well any emulator *IS* a VM by its very nature, it's just that a simpler VM like VirtualBox tries to minimize how much it has to emulate as much as possible. Systems like VB or Vmware are still emulating parts of the machine, just not the processor (and are paravirtualizing other parts if you install the appropriate drivers)

So if you want a *performance* advantage by running a native-code VM vs. running a full-blown emulator, that will only work on a system that shares common parts. e.g. running x86 software on an x86 system, or 68k software on a 68k system (like in Shapeshifter on the Amiga).

There's still a compartmentalization advantage to running something in a VM -- the product is sandboxed from your environment. Some operating systems have a more limited, streamlined way to implement this in the form of Containers.

In general though if you want to run AmigaOS 4.1 on Windows, and WinUAE already plays nice with your system, there's no sense in running it in an extra VM layer like VirtualBox. Just run WinUAE natively in your OS. There will be less overhead, and WinUAE can use paravirtualization to native Windows features to improve performance.
AmigaHope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Memory on Amiga? Nightfox support.Other 9 13 October 2019 19:22
virtual cd-drive on amiga ? kas1e support.Apps 14 13 December 2012 16:17
Amiga 3.9 on WinVista Virtual PC maclac New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 01 June 2007 01:35
WANTED: A600 wild weird wicked box - just the box :P Smiley MarketPlace 0 23 May 2005 17:51
OS4 update - A late xmas present from the OS4 team Paul News 1 28 December 2004 20:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09795 seconds with 14 queries