English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 August 2019, 22:39   #241
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
wow, it run very fast on TF330 Rebel Assault!
yeah, more fast than in your youtube chanel test cause i saw that you have done yours test in high resolution 640X512, for have a good speed in many game i choose 335x262 PAL low resolution with AGA -EVD driver (on my CD32-TF330) , althought some games wont started cause they ask for high (warcraft I/I), i have tried same settings than you and it's same low speed (tested with mac os system 7.5.3 and 7.6.1) , when we will have the TF360, it will be very more confortable, and i think that mount game make it little bit slower. Did you tried Savage040-060 driver or turbo EVD ? again a video test with Comanche slow as hell (firewall demo is so fast compared to this one ) and international tennis open who is ok, very playable, but in video i was testing with the mouse .
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by thairacerjp; 22 August 2019 at 23:17.
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 22:49   #242
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,352
Is there anyway to make the picture smaller on Comanche?

Can someone also try NTSC on real hardware

and is there anyway to make use of akiko?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 23:06   #243
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 234
@Retro1234
yes we can make picture smaller on Comanche when changing resolution in settings of emulator at the expense of speed, but in Comanche menu i didn't saw the choice to change picture(can change detail quality, frame rate), i will try NTSC.
Quote:
Akiko

Fusion has two display modes just for CD32 owners! These use the Akiko chip, a sort of internal Graffiti without the resolution limits, which converts pixeis from chunky to planar format in clumps of 32. Add-on ShapeShifter drivers can also use Akiko if it's there, benefitting committed CD32 owners with keyboard, hard disk and floppy add-ons.
from Amiga Format
http://simon.mooli.org.uk/AF/12.html

but i dont think Akiko will do a change, now they are more cpu power.

EDIT : i saw again my video and in the menu there is a posibility to change size ! but it's inactive, i will do another try.

Last edited by thairacerjp; 23 August 2019 at 00:04.
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 23:17   #244
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,352
I read that exact paragraph, I think it comes from Amiga Format, but ive looked for Shapeshifter Akiko drivers but found nothing, thought it might be worth trying.

Thanks for trying NTSC
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 00:56   #245
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by thairacerjp View Post
. Did you tried Savage040-060 driver or turbo EVD ? again a video test with Comanche slow as hell (firewall demo is so fast compared to this one ) and international tennis open who is ok, very playable, but in video i was testing with the mouse .
[ Show youtube player ]
i didn't remember, but maybe i tried and then i chooise amigaaga-evd.
Seiya is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 01:59   #246
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,352
Ok Akiko support maybe try http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/PatchChunky11

and with TF330 probably need as-well http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/AkikoTFFix

I've also sent a Email to Christian Bauer asking about a Akiko Graphics driver.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 08:57   #247
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 265
I'm interested in getting Akiko work too. I expect a tiny improvement if any though. 030@50mhz is the break-even point for pure CPU/blitter vs akiko aided processing.

I'd like to get in contact with Christian to ask about a possible fix/reason for AppleScript not working on ShapeShifter.
Is his email public?

Hmm, here he wrote version 3.4. We're using 3.11. Is 3.4 available somewhere to download?
http://www.amigareport.com/ar405/review4.html
wairnair is online now  
Old 23 August 2019, 10:46   #248
LanceT
Registered User

LanceT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: NC /USA
Posts: 37
Quote:
Hmm, here he wrote version 3.4. We're using 3.11. Is 3.4 available somewhere to download?
Don't know why you would want an older version...Anyway
Download a file called "Amiga bbs - week 1996-09-17.rar" from Commodore_Amiga/Collection/BBS/
(Probably faster off EAB-google drive)
In the archive you will see..

SS34_REG.LHA P 230716 03-07-96 ShapeShifter 3.4 Registered Version
Downloads-> 1 --> cYBERsTORM <-- oDIN fROM aSGARD!
21:32:11 -=- nODE: 2 -=- cPS: 2063 -=-

Last edited by LanceT; 23 August 2019 at 10:49. Reason: add-to
LanceT is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 11:12   #249
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by LanceT View Post
Don't know why you would want an older version...Anyway
You're right, I don't! I somehow misidentified 3.11 as being older than 3.4! Sry.
wairnair is online now  
Old 23 August 2019, 11:40   #250
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,352
Does AppleScript not work at-all on Shapeshifter?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 11:48   #251
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Does AppleScript not work at-all on Shapeshifter?
No it doesn't, at least not under WinUAE. The same Mac OS hvf works fine under Basilisk.

It says this when trying to run anything:

wairnair is online now  
Old 23 August 2019, 11:55   #252
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,352
Are the memory amount and CPU the same in Basilisk ii
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 11:59   #253
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 963
exactly in what situation you have that error?
Seiya is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 12:10   #254
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Are the memory amount and CPU the same in Basilisk ii
32MB in both ShapeShifter and Basilisk II

I think it was 040 in Basilisk II (I'm on a different pc now which doesn't want to run Basilisk for some reason).

However, ShapeShifter does the same with 040 under WinUAE. Tried different flags etc.
wairnair is online now  
Old 23 August 2019, 12:16   #255
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
exactly in what situation you have that error?
- On 7.6.1 open MacOS/Apple Extras/AppleScript/Script Editor
- Run empty script
- Error comes up

(The error on the screenshot came up when running a precompiled script on startup, but it's the same error)
wairnair is online now  
Old 23 August 2019, 12:22   #256
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 234
@ wairnair : on my youtube video i said that some game wouldn't work cause they asking for 68040 and someone said "Some games that ask for a 040 will work if you use a Quadra ROM image." , may if true this could help you.....
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 13:01   #257
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by thairacerjp View Post
@ wairnair : on my youtube video i said that some game wouldn't work cause they asking for 68040 and someone said "Some games that ask for a 040 will work if you use a Quadra ROM image." , may if true this could help you.....
I think AppleScript 1.1 (the first version of it) should run on a 030.
I did try a couple of ROMs with ShapeShifter including the one I was using with Basilisk - no difference.

Turns out I was using this ROM with ShapeShifter: "1991-10 - 420DBFF3 - Quadra 700&900 & PB140&170". I've put it in the Zone.
Can someone with a working Basilisk II setup check if AppleScript works with it on 7.6.1?

EDIT: finally got Basilisk II running on this machine too. Now I'm sure that AppleScript doesn't work with ShapeShifter using the same ROM image, same RAM, same 030 CPU.

Last edited by wairnair; 23 August 2019 at 15:20.
wairnair is online now  
Old 23 August 2019, 18:01   #258
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,352
Can you upload Applescript HFV please
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 19:01   #259
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Can you upload Applescript HFV please
Not currently unfortunately as my monthly data plan is used up and I'm middle of nowhere internet-wise It should work again on Sunday.
Meanwhile I checked Basilisk II with the same Mac ROM, same CPU and same RAM as ShapeShifter and it looks like ShapeShifter doesn't support AppleScript. (read back a bit)

If you still wanna try, AppleScript 1.1 is built into 7.6.1, so you can grab it from anywhere, EAB ftp maybe. Turns out it didn't work due to SS and not because I installed it wrong.
wairnair is online now  
Old 23 August 2019, 20:36   #260
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,352
O that's a shame but never mind.

Can I make a request Alone in the Dark and Larry 6
Retro1234 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Civilization II for mac / shapeshifter trixster support.Games 50 20 July 2019 14:05
Looking for Mac HDF files (with games) for ShapeShifter. mingle Retrogaming General Discussion 28 09 October 2018 12:49
CPU idle setting and Shapeshifter/Mac emulation mark_k support.WinUAE 5 06 October 2017 19:04
Warcraft 2 Tides of Darkness Mac Shapeshifter tormentor22 support.Games 5 25 June 2017 14:25
Mac os 7.5.3 on shapeshifter _ThEcRoW support.Apps 23 09 March 2006 12:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09421 seconds with 14 queries