English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 November 2011, 01:52   #1
Synthesize Me
Amigaholics Anonymous

Synthesize Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, U.S.A./Bautzen, Germany
Age: 31
Posts: 80
WANTED Amiga drawing tablet.

Hey everyone,

I'm looking for a drawing tablet that is compatible with the Amiga 1200. Something like the koala pad for C64 or maybe even bigger if possible. Let me know if anybody knows anything. Thank you!
Synthesize Me is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 05:24   #2
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 45
Posts: 836
The Wacom Artpad II (KT-0405-R) will work, I see one on Ebay, but no pen, just like mine. Works fine with drivers from Aminet.
amiman99 is online now  
Old 08 November 2011, 13:58   #3
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 249
A lot of the old serial wacom's will work. I used to use a PenPartner on mine. If you want an Amiga specific tablet, the 'tabby' might be floating about on Amibay.
khph_re is offline  
Old 10 November 2011, 05:21   #4
Synthesize Me
Amigaholics Anonymous

Synthesize Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, U.S.A./Bautzen, Germany
Age: 31
Posts: 80
Hey, thanks for the help guys! I'll have to keep an eye out and ask again when I find something whether or not it's compatible.. Let me know if you find one somewhere, a tablet made specifically for the Amiga is a plus but not a must.

Anyway, thanks again!
Synthesize Me is offline  
Old 10 November 2011, 16:14   #5
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 249
Your best off with a wacom, they work great. As far as I know, most tablets were multiformat, and not just Amiga.

info on Aminet:

http://aminet.net/driver/input/FormAldiHyd.readme
http://aminet.net/driver/input/Wacom_150.readme

The FormAldiHyd will do a lot more than Wacom, but most will need USB.

Before wacom there was Summagraphics, they produced high quality tablets with Amiga drivers.
khph_re is offline  
Old 17 November 2011, 01:05   #6
Megamix
Registered User
Megamix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: St.Helens, Merseyside UK
Age: 59
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthesize Me View Post
Hey everyone,

I'm looking for a drawing tablet that is compatible with the Amiga 1200. Something like the koala pad for C64 or maybe even bigger if possible. Let me know if anybody knows anything. Thank you!
Ok dont much about the GFX tablets on the Amiga but I have this if its any use to you,I bought it a few years back used it once and put it in the loft.

Last edited by Megamix; 07 March 2014 at 21:35.
Megamix is offline  
Old 17 November 2011, 03:04   #7
Synthesize Me
Amigaholics Anonymous

Synthesize Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, U.S.A./Bautzen, Germany
Age: 31
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by khph_re View Post
Your best off with a wacom, they work great. As far as I know, most tablets were multiformat, and not just Amiga.

info on Aminet:

http://aminet.net/driver/input/FormAldiHyd.readme
http://aminet.net/driver/input/Wacom_150.readme

The FormAldiHyd will do a lot more than Wacom, but most will need USB.

Before wacom there was Summagraphics, they produced high quality tablets with Amiga drivers.
Wow! Thanks for the links and great information!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megamix View Post
Ok dont much about the GFX tablets on the Amiga but I have this if its any use to you,I bought it a few years back used it once and put it in the loft.
That looks really good! Do you know if it's compatible with the Amiga? It looks like it has a serial connection (or could be db9 mouse). What are the other connectors? If it's compatible then I would definitely be interested!

Edit: Just read this: http://www.amiga.org/forums/archive/...p/t-15346.html

So apparently it is fully compatible with the driver that khph_re mentioned!

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 17 November 2011 at 08:44. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
Synthesize Me is offline  
Old 17 November 2011, 19:39   #8
Megamix
Registered User
Megamix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: St.Helens, Merseyside UK
Age: 59
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthesize Me View Post
Wow! Thanks for the links and great information!



That looks really good! Do you know if it's compatible with the Amiga? It looks like it has a serial connection (or could be db9 mouse). What are the other connectors? If it's compatible then I would definitely be interested!

Edit: Just read this: http://www.amiga.org/forums/archive/...p/t-15346.html

So apparently it is fully compatible with the driver that khph_re mentioned!
Here you go some close ups of the connections,as you can see one of the round din type does pull of and become a small connection.Also to show how
good the condition is, I`ve looked in the manual and here is what connectors are on it.
COM/Serial port connector.
Keyboard connector.
keyboard/mouse connector.
5-6 pin adaptor.

Hope this helps.

PM with offers if you interested.

Last edited by Megamix; 07 March 2014 at 21:35.
Megamix is offline  
Old 25 November 2011, 20:11   #9
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 43
Posts: 1,024
hi i just got one of these AipTek HyperPen 6000

using my 1200 tower







as you need first to have a 25pin to 9 pin serial adapter in the serial port to connect the 9pin connector

then a 5pin din to 6pin ps/2 adapter used on my a4000 keyboard to power the with the 6pin ps/2 socket

then plug my a2000 keyboard into the 5pin din socket on the tablet

now works brilliantly

Last edited by johnim; 25 November 2011 at 22:06.
johnim is offline  
Old 25 November 2011, 23:08   #10
marcfrick2112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 132
Thanks to all for this! I am also wanting a graphics tablet for my Amiga. Just curious, is there a master list of all Amiga-compatible tablets?
marcfrick2112 is offline  
Old 25 November 2011, 23:16   #11
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 43
Posts: 1,024
It fully works with: - AipTek HyperPen 6000 (maybe other boards aswell, still unconfirmed). - AipTek HyperPen 8000 - Aldi/Medion MD 9310 and Aldi/Tevion LT 9310 It works partly with: - Wacom IV compatible (Graphire, ArtPad, A3, A4, A5 and PenPartner) - SummaGraphics compatible boards (unconfirmed). - AceCad boards (unconfirmed)

this is in file above
johnim is offline  
Old 26 November 2011, 10:07   #12
Synthesize Me
Amigaholics Anonymous

Synthesize Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, U.S.A./Bautzen, Germany
Age: 31
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
hi i just got one of these AipTek HyperPen 6000

using my 1200 tower







as you need first to have a 25pin to 9 pin serial adapter in the serial port to connect the 9pin connector

then a 5pin din to 6pin ps/2 adapter used on my a4000 keyboard to power the with the 6pin ps/2 socket

then plug my a2000 keyboard into the 5pin din socket on the tablet

now works brilliantly
Wait... So is an external keyboard required to use the tablet? I was planning on using it on an A1200 desktop...
Synthesize Me is offline  
Old 26 November 2011, 12:04   #13
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 43
Posts: 1,024
the exernal keyboard is not needed but 5v is needed to power the tablet on the ps2 port maybe using an old mouse or keyboard wire then a 5v adapter will work
johnim is offline  
Old 04 February 2012, 20:44   #14
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,423
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthesize Me View Post
Wait... So is an external keyboard required to use the tablet? I was planning on using it on an A1200 desktop...
Have you solved it any way? I am also interested and want to try a tablet with my desktop A1200. I would like to know if DPaint IV is able to work with that AipTek device as it has a menu option for pressure tablets.

Last edited by Predseda; 04 February 2012 at 20:50.
Predseda is offline  
Old 06 February 2012, 13:47   #15
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,630
Just mount a DIN socket on your 1200 - pick up power from the floppy, and whilst you're there you might as well wire up KB_CLK and KB_DAT too...
chiark is offline  
Old 06 February 2012, 13:52   #16
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,423
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
No chance to modify my beloved Amiga. Maybe some external PSU for the tablet could be a solution.
Predseda is offline  
Old 06 February 2012, 15:46   #17
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I was thinking about this yesterday while pixelling on DPaint. I want to give it a try.
Can the serial port provide the +5V needed? Or do any of the other PS/2 connections need to be connected to something too?
Akira is offline  
Old 06 February 2012, 17:01   #18
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,630
I'd use the joystick or mouse port for your source rather than serial. +5V usr that's accessible there is, if I remember rightly, fuse protected... Please check the schematics before trusting me on that tho!
chiark is offline  
Old 06 February 2012, 18:30   #19
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Norfolk United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 474
I have a tablet. I don't know whether it works with my 1200 or what it is - will look when I get in.
musojon74 is offline  
Old 14 February 2012, 00:06   #20
Synthesize Me
Amigaholics Anonymous

Synthesize Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, U.S.A./Bautzen, Germany
Age: 31
Posts: 80
Sorry for taking forever to respond. I haven't been online in forever and a day due to some problems at work..
Anyway, I haven't been able to get the tablet to work yet. But that is due to the fact that I actually haven't had any time to try yet..
If anybody has done this before, I would love any tips you can offer! I'm surprised that the serial port doesn't offer any power.. But I don't have any problem wiring it up from the joystick port if I have to, I would just love to make it as plug-n-playable as possible.

Well, if I ever finally get around to working everything out I will definitely keep you guys posted!
Synthesize Me is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
an amiga tablet, would you buy it turrican3 Amiga scene 21 13 June 2013 21:15
Amiga Joy in tablet with keyrah plus external keys Tiago Hardware mods 0 28 December 2012 00:07
Drawing a line... Lonewolf10 Coders. Tutorials 24 06 September 2011 00:46
drawing tablet improvements pbareges request.UAE Wishlist 2 10 April 2009 14:06
USB Drawing tablet support. oldpx request.UAE Wishlist 3 28 July 2004 13:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09325 seconds with 15 queries