English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Home Projects > project.IRC

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 December 2002, 00:43   #1
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,344
Question about the CGI IRC

How does the cgi script to connect at #abime.net works? I see its very powerfull, as I can join any channel in the irc.abime.net server, send private msgs to other useres, whois them, and other good stuff like that, stuff I had never seen in other web based irc. Also, it seems like it doesnt use the 6666 port, thats usually used when connecting to an irc server (Here at my work, the proxy blocks any connection at the 6666 port, so I cant use a proper irc client, but the CGI script works nicely).

I would like to setup a script like that to connect with the brasnet irc server, would that be possible ?
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 17 December 2002, 01:10   #2
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 41
Posts: 2,944
CGI:IRC is just one classic IRC client, which use one permanent apache connection through port 80 to "discuss" with the user (you). (like if you were downloading a file)

it's very powerfull to break company firewall protection
[user] <80> [CGI:IRC] <6667> [irc.abime.net]


if you want to connect to one irc network like (brasnet) with CGI:IRC, you will have to setup one apache 1.3 web server on a machine who has the rights to connect to this irc network (brasnet), and then use your CGI:IRC as relay.
RCK is offline  
Old 17 December 2002, 03:13   #3
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,344
So, I am fucked up, basically

Thx for the info, RCK.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 17 December 2002, 07:56   #4
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 41
Posts: 2,944
Quote:
Originally posted by RCK
if you want to connect to one irc network like (brasnet) with CGI:IRC, you will have to setup one apache 1.3 web server on a machine who has the rights to connect to this irc network (brasnet), and then use your CGI:IRC as relay.
This also can be down on Windows platform, don't you have one personal PC with permanent NET connection ?
RCK is offline  
Old 17 December 2002, 20:13   #5
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,344
No, I don't I live in a third-world country, permanent connection here is still too expansive for me.
Shatterhand is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Solved] Help with setting up thttpd and CGI tygre support.Other 3 21 June 2012 23:37
About CGI:IRC, IRC trolls and EAB accounts (again) eLowar project.IRC 9 22 September 2007 10:44
CGi-IRC problem Ian project.IRC 15 25 November 2003 23:07
Irc Djay project.IRC 24 13 October 2002 03:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06296 seconds with 13 queries