English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 February 2013, 03:08   #1
msayed1977
Better than the Original
msayed1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 145
Some screens are not vertically centered

I noticed that when the background -or the bottom(I do not know exactly)- of the screen is black, the screen is not vertically centered even if you choose vertical centering.
This is clear in Battle Chess.
In Hawkeye, it happens when the background is black.
It is not a new bug. It is ancient.

Note:
In my config I use also Double Line Mode.

Please check.
Thanks Toni.
msayed1977 is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 11:34   #2
msayed1977
Better than the Original
msayed1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 145
Please say something Toni.
I would like to add that I am not sure whether the bug happens only when the background is black, but the bug is very clear in Battle Chess.
msayed1977 is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 11:49   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,143
I tested this quickly yesterday and it seemed to work as designed, it was never meant to center all kinds of screen configurations. I don't even know how it was designed originally, it has been like that before I even knew about UAE..

Also, it heavily depends on size of window/fullscreen mode, can't test it fully without your config..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 13:52   #4
msayed1977
Better than the Original
msayed1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 145
Here is my config.
As it appears to me, it is very clear in Battle Chess. There is a large black area under the screen.

Last edited by msayed1977; 07 February 2013 at 16:15.
msayed1977 is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 15:38   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,143
I rechecked and this centering option only guarantees that emulated screen is completely visible on screen (as long as it fits completely) and it has limits, for example it can only move screen up or down if there are scanlines hidden behind top or bottom border that should be visible. It is hard limit, it can't be worked around.

For example Battle Chess already shows all visible lines on top (and also on bottom) = it can't be moved down more.

You need to use filter panel adjustments if you want real centering.

(Battle Chess looks exactly like it would look on real PAL Amiga, big black border at the bottom)
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is the Amiga display not centered? Akira New to Emulation or Amiga scene 108 24 August 2017 07:51
Native 640x480 resolution vertically shifted (no filters) andreas support.WinUAE 8 20 November 2010 11:20
KO2PC screens stainy Amiga scene 1 02 May 2007 19:51
K - had enough of these old screens.... Christian support.Hardware 5 18 December 2006 12:11
Some screens BobRedthorp project.Amiga Demo DVD 5 26 March 2004 14:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06352 seconds with 13 queries