English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 February 2012, 17:27   #1
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 471
Blitter using the copper...

Hi Guys

Been working on a little experiment to use the copper as a blitter queue. Just wanted to confirm I have the right command for waiting for the blitter?

#$00018000

I think thats right based on the AHRM?
h0ffman is offline  
Old 16 February 2012, 18:01   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,238
It's wrong. Instead of setting the "Blitter Finished Disable" bit you need to clear it.
StingRay is offline  
Old 16 February 2012, 19:51   #3
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 471
FFS!

Cheers Stingray
h0ffman is offline  
Old 17 February 2012, 14:54   #4
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 471
Hmm... still not playing ball. I've set a basic screen clear operation up on the copper list, however it seems to do nothing!?

On the first run it hits my wait instruction.. $00010000, but once it starts filling the blitter registers, it seems to just quit the copper list?!

Is there some other thing I need to set to enable blitting from the copper?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	copper.jpg
Views:	366
Size:	28.6 KB
ID:	30593  
h0ffman is offline  
Old 17 February 2012, 15:56   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,136
Check COPCON register documentation. Copper stops when writing to "illegal" register without COPCON CDANG bit set. (Copper stopping is not documented)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 February 2012, 16:25   #6
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 471
Ahhhhh!!!!! nice one Toni, cheers.
h0ffman is offline  
Old 20 February 2012, 23:29   #7
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 471
Well, the initial tests seem to suggest this is a pretty phat method of blitter control. Massive gain over CPU and blit waits. Only issue I can see is you'll always be two frames behind but that's not a massive problem really unless you're syncing to music.
h0ffman is offline  
Old 21 February 2012, 07:44   #8
mc6809e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ffman View Post
Well, the initial tests seem to suggest this is a pretty phat method of blitter control. Massive gain over CPU and blit waits. Only issue I can see is you'll always be two frames behind but that's not a massive problem really unless you're syncing to music.

Does this mean you're using triple buffering? Nearly everything today uses triple buffering to maximize frame rates.
mc6809e is offline  
Old 21 February 2012, 13:11   #9
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 471
I haven;t done the buffering as yet. Just doing Proof of Concept on a logo sinus routine I wrote a while back. At the mo its clearing and drawing, but the logo looks like shit, I'm not sure if its just cuz its blitting and showing or wether my blits have got screwed up in the conversion to copper list blitting
h0ffman is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 08:25   #10
mc6809e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ffman View Post
I haven;t done the buffering as yet. Just doing Proof of Concept on a logo sinus routine I wrote a while back. At the mo its clearing and drawing, but the logo looks like shit, I'm not sure if its just cuz its blitting and showing or wether my blits have got screwed up in the conversion to copper list blitting
The copper list isn't resetting before the blitting is finished, is it?
mc6809e is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blitter queues h0ffman Coders. General 28 22 August 2019 10:29
Combining copper scrolling with copper background phx Coders. Asm / Hardware 14 16 June 2013 07:26
Did Starglider use the blitter? mc6809e Retrogaming General Discussion 8 04 February 2012 15:19
Filling with the blitter... Lonewolf10 Coders. Tutorials 7 13 September 2011 14:30
Blitter nasty or not? JackAsser Coders. Tutorials 5 28 March 2010 22:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09837 seconds with 14 queries