English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 December 2010, 12:24   #1
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 39
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
Using a CD/DVD drive on AlfaPower 500

I just wondered if it was possible to use a CD/DVDdrive on the alfapower 500 hdd controller.
If it's possible, would you then need an external power source?

My setup as it is now, is an a500 with Hurricane 500 (020/882) acc.
I got a total of 5 mb fast mem in the machine, 4 mb on the controller, 1 mb on the accelerator.

I'm considering to add the cd drive, since i got a bit of a problem transfering files to the amiga, since it doesn't have the pcmcia port the a600 and a1200 hos.
Also, it's an 1.8" hdd i got in the machine.
Has failed to get any of my cfcards and microdrives to work

Any ideas?
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
Old 11 December 2010, 12:31   #2
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 39
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
Ok, just tried a different CF adapter and that seems to work just fine.
Oddly enough, the adapter which works fine in my a600 and a1200, doesn't work with my alfapower.
The one that doesn't work well with my a1200 and a600 works perfectly fine with my alfapower.
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
Old 11 December 2010, 12:52   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,852
Quote:
I just wondered if it was possible to use a CD/DVDdrive on the alfapower 500 hdd controller.
Yes, it is possible, but you need an ATAPI driver like IDEfix97 or Oktapussy.

Quote:
If it's possible, would you then need an external power source?
I successfully tried it once with the A500 power supply only, but that was without any other expansion (like an accelerator or the like).
thomas is offline  
Old 11 December 2010, 13:19   #4
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 39
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Yes, it is possible, but you need an ATAPI driver like IDEfix97 or Oktapussy.



I successfully tried it once with the A500 power supply only, but that was without any other expansion (like an accelerator or the like).
Are any of those ATAPI drivers freely accessible, or do i have to buy then from somewhere?

Also, does it work with OS 2.1?
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
Old 11 December 2010, 13:40   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,852
Both drivers are available on Aminet. IDEfix is a demo version which nags with requesters. Oktapussy is a free update for the AlfaPower.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alfapower 500 Problems... PowerPie5000 support.Hardware 4 29 November 2010 12:18
USB DVD-Drive DyLucke request.Apps 4 04 June 2009 21:00
Wanted: XBox 1 - DVD Drive Macca MarketPlace 9 09 September 2008 20:42
cd/dvd drive disapears flipper support.WinUAE 2 17 December 2007 20:59
What HD for an Alfa Data: Alfapower 500 controller? keropi support.Hardware 3 10 November 2007 14:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06140 seconds with 13 queries