English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 June 2010, 23:28   #1
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 691
battery problem

I just picked up a 6.2 mobo and discovered it had a leaking battery. The majority of the corrosion is isolated to the neg trace there is a little on the pos trace just beside the neg battery trace. The pos battery there is no corrosion. The copper is aqua blue. The battery was removed and i have made paste with baking soda which has been on the corrosion for approximately 30 min. Do I have to remove all the blue corrosion ?
Thanks
source is offline  
Old 20 June 2010, 09:59   #2
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 802
The best is for sure remove all corrosion and test the continuity of the afected circuits

Last edited by AlfaRomeo; 20 June 2010 at 10:05.
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 07:37   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,340
Yes, remove ALL corrosion. Get the board as clean as you possibly can and wash with isopropyl alcohol then rinse. Leave out in the sun for few hours to dry.

You'll also want to relacquer the affected area(s).

Last edited by Hewitson; 22 June 2010 at 06:17.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 10:32   #4
orange
Registered User
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 567
think you shouldnt use baking soda. they say that battery leak is not really asid, but that other thing. just use isopropyl.
orange is offline  
Old 26 June 2010, 16:03   #5
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
I've said this before, but nobody else seems to have tried it. Iodophor solution is AWESOME for dealing with battery leakage!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 26 June 2010, 16:32   #6
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 802
@Fingerlickin
What is that solution?
CanĀ“t translate "Iodophor" to anything I know..
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 27 June 2010, 20:12   #7
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 691
Thanks for the input I have removed the corrosion and have been getting 0 ohm with continuity testing. The new battery seems to be working well.
source is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement battery ? willbloke support.Hardware 3 22 July 2011 21:11
(Son of) A4000 RTC/Battery Problem (revisited) squidbass support.Hardware 5 11 June 2010 12:10
A500+ battery alexh Hardware pics 16 29 September 2009 18:21
Battery woes piksi support.Hardware 7 02 July 2008 23:29
A4000 Battery thinlega support.Hardware 10 04 May 2003 15:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06738 seconds with 15 queries