English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 May 2002, 14:43   #1
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
Rack Mount an a1200??

I was thinking about trying to make a rackmount a1200 has anyone else done this???
thinlega is offline  
Old 19 May 2002, 20:27   #2
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 561
I doubt it, but the burning question in my mind is why?
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 19 May 2002, 21:26   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
Well perhaps because he wants it in a 1U case
jmmijo is offline  
Old 19 May 2002, 21:34   #4
rlake
Hittin' the hardware...

rlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA
Age: 39
Posts: 132
Best I can find is 2U...

http://www.eyetech.co.uk/addbar.php?...K/19INC001.HTM
rlake is offline  
Old 19 May 2002, 22:14   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Shadowfire: teh answer to your question os very simple, and you just have to look at the link rlake provided. I'm thinking of doing this myself, because I do lots of multimedia setups, anda rack mounted A1200 is very, very handy. You can stuck it in a rack with syntesizers, too
Akira is offline  
Old 20 May 2002, 19:55   #6
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
hummmmm..that eyetech one looks nice.........but look at the price!!!
I want an a1200 in a rack because I would like to put it along side my synths......ant sort of treat it like a chip tune module
thinlega is offline  
Old 20 May 2002, 20:55   #7
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
One thing that Eytech has done for you is all the leg work in the mounting of the mobo and the power supply conversion. I myself like to do these kinds of things but most others do not so it's basically just a mount and go type config.

I see why they use a U2 sized case as it gives you much more room to play with
jmmijo is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 18:01   #8
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
I am working on my rackmout......It will be ready soon.....

It will be my first amiga with a HD I am going to put the classic os3 zip from the downloads section....and have an internal midi interface and sampler....chip heaven....
thinlega is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 18:10   #9
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
Good luck with the project, if you have a digital camera, perhaps a few screenies would be nice to share with everyone
jmmijo is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 18:13   #10
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,490
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Guys im making a webpage at the moment! I would like to host pictures of converted amiga's....

anyone want to be on it?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 18:22   #11
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
I still don't have a digital camera, would have to do it the old fashioned way with film
jmmijo is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 18:42   #12
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,490
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Well if you could then that would be great! Im sick of all the PC modding websites showing off modded pc's!

I think its time for an amiga themed one!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 30 September 2002, 02:59   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
That's a good idea Electro :LD
Akira is offline  
Old 30 September 2002, 10:11   #14
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 39
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Quote:
Originally posted by Shadowfire
I doubt it, but the burning question in my mind is why?

If everyone asked this question, there'd never be any progress.
P-J is offline  
Old 30 September 2002, 19:08   #15
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
will throw up a pic as soon as i can....
thinlega is offline  
Old 30 September 2002, 22:50   #16
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
The bro's meega is gonna rock
Akira is offline  
Old 06 June 2004, 21:38   #17
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
Pheeeewwww at last....after lots of drilling and cutting It is just about finished (give or take a black cd drive)

whats inside:

A1200 Blizzard 060@50mhz running Classic Workbench ADV by Bloodwych (mucho thanks dude!!! )

on the back:
Scsi
Monitor out(sd/ff)
Mouse/joystick ports
Datel Midi master
Audio left/right
Video/comp out
Cd audio left/right
Omega projects Sound enhancer- bypass button & enchance ammount
Keyboard out (ezkey)
Future Sound 500 sampler with Mic(mini jack) + Left in + Right in
Reset button

On the Front:
Cream CDrom
Black PC Floppy disk drive
Amiga Drive lights
Light up power switch
VERY bright blue power led (from Midi interface)
A nice Commodore Amiga sticker found on Ebay

Extras:
A rewired Sexy black CDTV keyboard
A fan running from the old Floppy Drive wire/port
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2649.jpg
Views:	422
Size:	24.7 KB
ID:	6901   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2650.jpg
Views:	443
Size:	34.8 KB
ID:	6902   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2651.jpg
Views:	538
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	6903  

Last edited by thinlega; 06 June 2004 at 21:45.
thinlega is offline  
Old 06 June 2004, 22:10   #18
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
Looks good, hope you find that black CD drive, other wise you'll have to pull the faceplate and paint it yourself
jmmijo is offline  
Old 06 June 2004, 23:58   #19
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 3,704
Yaaaaa, looks really nice, allthough I prefer the original case
RetroMan is offline  
Old 07 June 2004, 00:09   #20
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroMan
Yaaaaa, looks really nice, allthough I prefer the original case
I do aswell but I just dont have enough space in my tiny room for it.... So this was the best option
thinlega is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC magazine rack? MrX_Cuci AMR news 0 22 September 2010 02:56
EAB - Amiga Magazine Rack SkippyAR AMR contributions 9 06 June 2008 03:37
Amiga Magazine Rack launched! Codetapper News 79 26 December 2007 07:46
A1200 CD-ROM mount problem xalakibaniou support.Hardware 34 24 June 2007 12:58
A1200 or how to test for a faulty surface mount 8520? gizmomelb support.Hardware 14 10 February 2007 12:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09225 seconds with 14 queries