English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 May 2009, 13:35   #1
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,259
Auto auto fire?

In many shoot'em ups like Battle Squadron or SWIV (but not R-Type) you usually don't wanna release fire. For these games it would be more comfortable that instead of having to hold down a firebutton (with assigned autofire) the whole time you could just push an "auto autofire"-button once that activates autofire for "fire1" until you push the button again to deactivate the autofire again - just like with the autofire-switch on Quickshot joysticks.

I've met this option in the PC-Engine-emulator HuE for PSP. And it was really relaxing playing Raiden with nothing but my left thumb...

Could you add this in a future version? (Or has it already been added which I wouldn't know since I'm still very happy with WinUAE v1.4.6...)

Last edited by john4p; 25 May 2009 at 13:43.
john4p is offline  
Old 25 May 2009, 13:51   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
Easiest way is match between the keys...
s2325 is offline  
Old 25 May 2009, 14:25   #3
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,259
Yes, I thought of that, too. Also placing something heavy on a key is an option.

Still I'd prefer a software-solution.
john4p is offline  
Old 25 May 2009, 16:55   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,136
I hated joysticks that had that kind of autofire. (and then I modified them)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 May 2009, 18:41   #5
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,259
Me, too. I was happy when I finally found a Competition Pro that had autofire only as long as you'd press a button.

Still for some games the constant autofire is comfortable - almost solely shoot'em ups where you never need "single fire" or "hold fire" and never need to stop shooting.
john4p is offline  
Old 06 June 2009, 13:14   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,136
Implemented in 1.6.1b2 (not exactly like you asked but can be used for "toggle-autofire")
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 January 2010, 08:50   #7
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,259
Happy

Sorry, I have missed your update. Just found it in 2.0.2 beta 4. Thanks a bunch - works perfect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
not exactly like you asked but can be used for "toggle-autofire"
No, it is exactly what I asked for!
john4p is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto-fire Detection/Disabling? SunChild support.Games 3 12 September 2013 18:51
Auto load config DaveMB support.WinUAE 2 15 October 2010 19:32
Auto Link Gordon HOL suggestions and feedback 17 06 May 2009 23:13
auto refresh turrican3 request.UAE Wishlist 0 13 May 2007 13:30
Auto-fire Tim Janssen support.WinUAE 2 02 May 2002 08:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06700 seconds with 13 queries