English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 July 2008, 13:49   #1
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,225
Smile Possible SATA option in IDE based Amiga's?

I came across this little adapter yesterday...

http://linitx.com/viewproduct.php?prodid=10737

For the non-flash people out there maybe or use it with a cd-rom and ditch those annoying ribbon cables?
Paul_s is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 14:36   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
I like the idea of eSATA on an Amiga
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 15:09   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,222
Chances are I (and a team) designed the chip at the heart of that board.
alexh is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 15:15   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
looks very interesting! if only it had 2 sata ports...

keropi is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 15:19   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
wow, THIS one seems to have 2 connectors....



hmm.... 2.5" SATA hd and SATA dvdr... hmmmm
keropi is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 15:20   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
@Keropi

I have a couple of those, this wont work as its not a HOST controller, our dear Alexh would be able to point you to a nice HOST controller

[edit]
Red ones from Post #4
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 15:22   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
it won't work? how come? it just plugs to the IDE port and converts it to sata...
a lot better inside an A4000D crammed with heat-producing accelerators...
I am tempted (if it works that is) to replace the scsi csppc setup I have on one of my A4000D's ... I might even replace the other that is IDE based...
keropi is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 15:38   #8
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 41
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
I am tempted (if it works that is) to replace the scsi csppc setup I have on one of my A4000D's ...
we have a saying in Turkish which goes like 'don't get off your horse to get on a donkey' sounds much better in the original language though don't you do that keropi san.
coze is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 16:04   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
why not? I have no use for the ~22mb/s that the csppc scsi controller can deliver. I simply don't care. plus both my IDE and SCSI ppc_a4000's boot OS3.9 at almost the same time ... and although both are stuffed with goodies, I just play games in them , I only upgraded them because I could and because I like exotic hardware combos LOL
for me, the small sata cables are more important than speed, a csppc A4000D is way to crammed...
keropi is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 17:08   #10
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 41
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
so you're telling me you don't have round scsi cables in Greece ?
coze is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 19:33   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,222
I would be surprised if ours work fine with the Amiga... but you never know.

I am 100% sure we never did any ATA 0 : PIO 0 testing

ATA 5 : PIO 4 is the closest we come to testing the mode the Amiga would use.
alexh is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 20:06   #12
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
@coze: trust me, it is crammy inside, even with this same scsi rounded cable that I have... I fear the heat...
keropi is offline  
Old 31 July 2008, 22:57   #13
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
@Keropi:

A couple of slot fans can do marvels for your Amiga, m8.
rkauer is offline  
Old 19 September 2008, 07:34   #14
Reynolds
Alien Breeder
Reynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szigetszentmiklos / Hungary
Age: 42
Posts: 550
Hey folks, what's up with this thing then? Has anyone tested? Results?
Reynolds is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CF preparation - WinUAE on (SATA AHCI) based laptops RizThomas support.WinUAE 3 26 August 2013 19:01
SATA HD on Amiga 1200 IDE @UAE support.Hardware 16 17 March 2010 06:25
IDE for 68000 based Amigas boing_1000 Amiga scene 2 12 June 2008 14:40
Different Acard SCSI-IDE/SATA adapters Calgor support.Hardware 25 11 December 2007 15:02
Buddha Flash Phoenix Edition is an IDE controller for all Zorro based Amigas. CFOU! support.Hardware 15 22 June 2006 18:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10874 seconds with 13 queries