English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 July 2010, 17:52   #1
Tarzin
Registered User
Tarzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dunkerque / FRANCE
Posts: 106
Vista / Modules / CPU 100%

Hello,

I've got a serious problem with windows Vista (and others softwares) when I use .MOd files (and ONLY .MOD files!)

Each times I open a drawer which contains .mod files, CPU usage is growing up to 100% and I can't use my computer. The only solution is to kill the task explorer.exe

But, when I open XMplay by example, problem is the same, CPU goes to 100% usage and I have to kill XMplay.exe

I've searched on the Web and the only solution I found is for Divx (but it didn't work in my case).

Any idea?

I can't do anything in a drawer which contains .MOD files, no listening, no renaming, no copy, ect...

Thanks a lot for advance!
Tarzin is offline  
Old 21 July 2010, 18:03   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,123
My crystall ball says: You have some crappy shell extension installed that confuses .mod for something else and its parsing code gets in infinite loop.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 July 2010, 19:59   #3
Tarzin
Registered User
Tarzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dunkerque / FRANCE
Posts: 106
Hello Toni,

Thanks for your answer.
Any idea which software could install this kind of shell extension ?
(maybe dbpoweramp?)

The only thing I can do is to provid a list on my installated software (which is not enormous)
Tarzin is offline  
Old 21 July 2010, 22:00   #4
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
I was a regular XMplay fan a few years ago, but since it took them a while to update the version I had, I switched to Winamp v5. You may try uninstalling XMplay and installing Winamp v2.91 which is the latest version from the v2.x branch (there is an unofficial French translation somewhere).
This said, neither are specialized mod players. So maybe you could try to :
  1. Uninstall XMplay
  2. Download Modplug player
  3. Associate mod files with the latter (shift+right-click, open with...)
see if it helps

Last edited by NewDeli; 21 July 2010 at 22:23.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 22 July 2010, 12:44   #5
Tarzin
Registered User
Tarzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dunkerque / FRANCE
Posts: 106
Hello NewDeli,

The problem was already present without XMplay, that's why I've installed XMplay.

For the moment, I try to reset all entries in context menu associated to .mod files.
That's not easy with Vista (is was easy with Windows XP)
Tarzin is offline  
Old 22 July 2010, 17:10   #6
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
I've just attached to this post a small utility which could help you remove said association painlessly (choose delete file type if remove file association is greyed out).
Attached Files
File Type: rar unassoc_1_4.rar (51.8 KB, 112 views)
NewDeli is offline  
Old 23 July 2010, 07:16   #7
Tarzin
Registered User
Tarzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dunkerque / FRANCE
Posts: 106
Thanks for your tool, is very usefull.
I've reinitialized all associations with .mod files, and just associated XMplay.

But problem is stll here...

Don't know where to look now.
Tarzin is offline  
Old 23 July 2010, 08:56   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,123
Shell extension != file extension.

Download autoruns from www.sysinternals.com and open "Explorer" tab.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 July 2010, 12:44   #9
Tarzin
Registered User
Tarzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dunkerque / FRANCE
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Shell extension != file extension.

Download autoruns from www.sysinternals.com and open "Explorer" tab.
Already installed but glups, very long list...!!
What shall I watch specially?

Sorry, I'm not a specialist

Thanks for advance
Tarzin is offline  
Old 23 July 2010, 13:04   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,123
Good question Shell extensions aren't linked to file extension.

Try disabling suspicious looking non-Microsoft ones first (in Shell Extension list). Usual problem with shell extensions are some all-in-one codec packs.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 July 2010, 15:06   #11
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Do you have Service Pack 1 installed on this machine ? If not, you should consider installing it 'cause it fixes a lot of issues. Also, install all compatibility hotfixes from Windows update and all updates that concern the .NET framework.
NewDeli is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista or Vista Pro pvt_beano request.Apps 14 26 January 2011 10:12
CPU 100% - Replace Explorer.exe Retro1234 support.WinUAE 7 25 January 2008 14:10
WinUAE 1.3.2 - "fastest possible" not at 100% cpu usage? rsn8887 support.WinUAE 12 15 October 2006 22:34
Vista NOT Vista Pro pvt_beano request.Apps 7 06 July 2006 21:25
WinUAE CPU usage at 100% argh wakeupbomb support.WinUAE 4 23 January 2003 09:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07744 seconds with 16 queries