English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 July 2010, 03:23   #1
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
WinUAE detecting and making use of the swap file

Hi,


Could it be possible for WinUAE to detect and make use of the swap file ?
I noticed some PC game (Mechwarrior IV, presumably) issues a warning when it doesn't detect any swap file upon setup (on a non-c partition). Of course, it's still possible to play this game without any swap file, but I assume performance is slightly degraded.

Similarly, I figured out WinUAE detecting the swap file on the partition on which it runs and using it to improve overall performance.


I didn't give this very deep thoughts I must say, so the pointless request monicker may come down faster than expected !
NewDeli is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 08:02   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,358
Lolz :-D
Jope is online now  
Old 07 July 2010, 08:08   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,136
wtf?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 08:18   #4
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 52
Posts: 520
Just code a deliberate memory leak patch for NewDeli and the swap file will most certainly be used.
modrobert is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 08:36   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Lolz :-D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
wtf?
Quote:
Originally Posted by modrobert View Post
Just code a deliberate memory leak patch for NewDeli and the swap file will most certainly be used.
All of the above. Best ever and that even before I had my first coffee. Yay!
StingRay is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 10:27   #6
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,956
This just
made my day!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 11:04   #7
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
oh no here comes another 4 page thread that no one understands, well perhaps just one person knows ......
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 11:07   #8
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,265
Come on, write up an explanation instead... People might get the idea that the EAB is where non experts get mocked, it just looks bad. At least I'd like to think that the moderators here would want to perform in more exemplary manner than stooping down to a pointing and laughing level.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 11:17   #9
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
The swap file is automagically used by applications. Nice that the game gives a warning, but some people might not want to use a swap file (for various reasons). Put the swap file on a different HD (if you have more than one) than the OS to increase performance (of the 'swap file'). That's about it.

Last edited by TCD; 07 July 2010 at 13:14. Reason: just for the sake of it ;)
TCD is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 11:34   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,136
I don't remember having any contracts that says I need to answer, or answer 100% politically correctly when OP should have researched it first. (try answering each and every question here without annoying anyone and then and only then you are allowed to try again)

--

Quick so called answers:

If someone mentions "swap" file: just ignore it, it is about Windows 9x/ME. (or he/she is totally confused about the topic anyway: better ignore it too )

Page file is more complex topic, it isn't about simple "store stuff to file when memory is low", far from it. Just forget it
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 11:42   #11
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 52
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
Come on, write up an explanation instead... People might get the idea that the EAB is where non experts get mocked, it just looks bad. At least I'd like to think that the moderators here would want to perform in more exemplary manner than stooping down to a pointing and laughing level.
Normally I would agree, but this time the question/request was intended as joke to begin with, right? (If not I humbly apologize, but can't help feeling the mockery might be the best medicine after all then.)
modrobert is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 12:01   #12
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
I am not sure using "virtual memory" wouldn't have brought a certain degree of confusion, but in any case, I can assure you I wasn't referring to Windows 9x/ME in this very thread .

It seems to me the swap file itself bears different names for different Windows OSes but is basically there for the same purpose (or apparent purpose, if you prefer).
cf. http://www.computerhope.com/jargon/s/swapfile.htm

@TCD
Precisely. I created a new page / swap file on the partition where WinUAE is running (again, a non-C one) and I am left wondering whether WinUAE will use it or not. e.g. I don't think creating a page / swap file on a 100% data partition brings anything in terms of performance.

@Toni
Nobody made a similar request on EAB, AFAIK. This said, maybe it would have been better to ask (in OTT) for a method to make ANY program use the swap file.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 12:03   #13
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
I said HD, not partition. Like Toni said, it's better to leave the topic alone
TCD is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 12:42   #14
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,858
@NewDeli:

Using a swap file makes things slower, not faster. A swap file should only be used if there is not enough RAM left. Putting the swap file on another harddrive might be faster than having the swap file on the system drive, but both options are much slower than not using a swap file at all.

That said, Windows does not use the swap file anyway if there is enough RAM, so having one or not does not make any difference unless your PC is underequipped.
thomas is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 12:49   #15
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 52
Posts: 520
NewDeli,

While taking a risk here trying to reply seriously (in all the [ Show youtube player ], sorry about that); you probably want to avoid having WinUAE using swap for best performance, not the other way around.

EDIT:

Cheers thomas, you beat me to the punch.

Last edited by modrobert; 07 July 2010 at 12:51. Reason: late reply
modrobert is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 13:18   #16
Maccara
The Spanish Songstress
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 114
NewDeli,

At the risk of repeating stuff already said, all software use the "swap file" (really a term of bygone era, should be called pagefile on windows) if needed.

Windows (like most modern OS) use address space virtualization and pagefile is an important part of that concept (also why it shouldn't be disabled - ever; not even if you have enough memory).

OS will handle all your software paging needs when needed.
Maccara is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 13:47   #17
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Googling Windows XP + swap file only leads to 10 million less results compared to
googling Windows XP + page file but it's OK, I shall call it page file if that pleases you.

To broaden a bit the topic, does anyone know if WinUAE uses RAM as efficiently in Windows Vista / 7 as in XP ? It seems to me each OS involves rather different memory management / system cache techniques.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 13:54   #18
Maccara
The Spanish Songstress
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 114
Maybe instead of looking at random google sources, you should go to the source instead for correct terms. It's not about pleasing me...
Maccara is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 14:01   #19
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewDeli View Post
To broaden a bit the topic, does anyone know if WinUAE uses RAM as efficiently in Windows Vista / 7 as in XP ? It seems to me each OS involves rather different memory management / system cache techniques.
Interesting question You might find your 'answer' here : http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=584515&postcount=32
TCD is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 14:01   #20
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewDeli View Post
To broaden a bit the topic, does anyone know if WinUAE uses RAM as efficiently in Windows Vista / 7 as in XP ? It seems to me each OS involves rather different memory management / system cache techniques.
Are you sitting at your desktop wondering if MS Word uses RAM more efficiently under different OS's?

What about Notepad?!?! That could be using RAM less efficiently too!

Just use your computer for what it's for.

Life is too short for this kind of crap
killergorilla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE not detecting USB Connected 209MB HD Darcey support.WinUAE 35 15 July 2014 16:40
WINUAE: swap between Native screen and RTG possible? CFOU! support.WinUAE 14 12 March 2013 12:44
GameBase not detecting WinUAE (or any emulators at all) yoshimitsuhiro project.MAGE 1 15 March 2009 21:38
Making ADF file from Amiga Disk on a PC - Possible? kappowser New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 03 June 2008 18:23
Making bootable MS-DOS disk as ADF file for multi-level emulation Minuous support.Apps 13 18 June 2003 09:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09966 seconds with 15 queries