English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 August 2019, 05:36   #1
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,376
Hybris and Battle Squadron not working with non CD32 controller

Both Hybris and Battle Squadron WHDLoad have problems since they got the last update on WHDLoad a long time ago, when played on my A600 2mb Chipram 68000

On Battle Squadron you keep getting back to the options screen. The game just switches between options screen and title screen non stop

On Hybris the game starts automatically then quits automatically too.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 07:24   #2
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 192
Check the tooltypes of thr icons according ReadMe file.
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 08:26   #3
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,209
If you're using WinUAE make sure you're selecting "CD32 joypad" as controller type, not simple joystick. Those installs were made by Psygore so I don't have the source (sob) but I suppose that it doesn't detect joypad, it just assumes it's connected.

So pressing second/blue button presses all buttons. A classic.

And with a real Amiga / standard 2 button joy, those need rework.
jotd is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 15:22   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,749
Just tried both games with my 2-button pad (Tecnoplus TP511). Second button brings you back to the title screen in Hybris, same for Battle Squadron. No weird switching or autostarts though.

edit: Ah, Battle Squadron has indeed a special Custom tooltype, and it works fine with a 2-button pad. No quitting to the titlescreen. Hybris would need the same update from Psygore. Add a Mantis bug report. I'm sure he will fix it.


V1.7 by Psygore (23.02.2019)
- Joystick 3rd button supported, it will pause the game
- Set CUSTOM2 = 1 for doing the nova missile only with the 2nd button
(the 2nd button must be pressed first before)

- Set CUSTOM3=1 to detect automatically if a joystick/pad or mouse is
connected on port 0 or 1 (no need to set your control type in menu)
- Set CUSTOM4 = 1 to skip the blitter wait patch
- Install script updated

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 29 August 2019 at 15:37.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 15:55   #5
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
If you're using WinUAE make sure you're selecting "CD32 joypad" as controller type, not simple joystick. Those installs were made by Psygore so I don't have the source (sob) but I suppose that it doesn't detect joypad, it just assumes it's connected.

So pressing second/blue button presses all buttons. A classic.

And with a real Amiga / standard 2 button joy, those need rework.
Real A600 here.
Quote:
edit: Ah, Battle Squadron has indeed a special Custom tooltype, and it works fine with a 2-button pad. No quitting to the titlescreen. Hybris would need the same update from Psygore. Add a Mantis bug report. I'm sure he will fix it.


V1.7 by Psygore (23.02.2019)
- Joystick 3rd button supported, it will pause the game
- Set CUSTOM2 = 1 for doing the nova missile only with the 2nd button
(the 2nd button must be pressed first before)
- Set CUSTOM3=1 to detect automatically if a joystick/pad or mouse is
connected on port 0 or 1 (no need to set your control type in menu)
- Set CUSTOM4 = 1 to skip the blitter wait patch
- Install script updated
I was going to say "I just tested Custom2 = 1 but it didnt work". Then I noticed this is an updated made earlier this year and *for sure* my version isn't that new. So I probably need to update it.

I run WHDLoad games from the command line (I don't LoadWB) because I have just 2mb of Ram, so not loading the GUI saves me a lot of memory.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 15:58   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,749
You can select the tooltype options via mouse while the blue splash screen is showing. No need to set it via command line.

Quote:
I was going to say "I just tested Custom2 = 1 but it didnt work
make sure you use no spaces. The readme is a bit messy here. Custom2=1 is correct.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 21:35   #7
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,209
You can select the tooltype options via mouse while the blue splash screen is showing, yes, for whdload v17+ slaves with declared configs. Else you have to do it with tooltypes/command line
jotd is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 22:37   #8
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
You can select the tooltype options via mouse while the blue splash screen is showing, yes, for whdload v17+ slaves with declared configs. Else you have to do it with tooltypes/command line
My slave version only has "Convert PAL to NTSC version" . I really think I need to update it... its been years since I last updated any of my slaves.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 22:39   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,749
And update WHDLoad too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HYBRIS vs BATTLE SQUADRON - WHICH IS BEST? ZEUSDAZ Retrogaming General Discussion 35 22 April 2019 12:06
Battle squadron BuckyB project.Sprites 8 31 March 2019 20:23
NEW !! Hybris and Battle Squadron Digitally remastered TorbenLarsen Retrogaming General Discussion 3 25 June 2016 20:03
WTB: Hybris and/or Battle Squadron... Skope MarketPlace 0 31 October 2010 23:29
Hybris & Battle Squadron official website Retroplay Amiga websites reviews 43 16 June 2010 18:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07161 seconds with 15 queries