English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System > Coders. Nextgen

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 November 2011, 06:13   #1
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 331
Question lowlevel PCI-coding / Amithlon

At the moment i am working on a open-pci 68k gfx driver.
Its still working in a "framebuffer"-mode as long as i am trying to support all kind of amiga-pci-systems.
openpci is great for this kind of drivers, but some very lowlevel operations during hw-init must be separated for different pci-systems.
So it seems to be impossible to read the pci-rom trough powerpci/openpci on Amithlon.
I have to code the bars directly like pci-specs describe it.

But here is the problem, it will work for ONE time, after a reset the system hangs if i try to read the pci-rom again.
This problem seems to be old ... amithlon-open:
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/amithlon/message/13190

Is there an existing workaround or a bugfix?
Or some documented "softreset" code for pci-slots?

An other solution could be a resetproof resident-structure with a copy of the gfx-card.rom generated during the first amithlon-coldstart.
But I like to read the real rom before i start playing with resident-structures.

Thanx in advance.
Ratte is offline  
Old 24 November 2011, 18:43   #2
Photon
Moderator
 
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,602
I moved the thread to NextGen, hope you don't mind. Just to make sure: this is to enable the Linux 68k emulator to get access to any PCI slots in the PC?
Photon is offline  
Old 12 January 2012, 18:27   #3
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 331
thanx 4 support
[ Show youtube player ]
Ratte is offline  
Old 12 January 2012, 20:13   #4
amigoun
Registered User
 
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 599
Amazing!
amigoun is offline  
Old 13 January 2012, 06:34   #5
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
Damn, that's freaking awesome
Im still a big amithlon fan/user, so Im very interested in this.
Just curious though, and I dont want to be negative towards your work, but is there much likelyhood of those few functions (writepixelarray in particular is pretty important for me) that dont do as well as with powerfb being sped up still?
Also what cards are supported? Is it specifically the radeon9250?
Im currently using a core2duo machine for my amithlon box, so as is the case with most machines released in the last few years pci slots are limited. I have 3 and theyre all occupied (sound,nic, gfx(matrox g550 currently)).
Also does using an openpci driver remove the graphics ram limit that's normally there with amithlon?

Thanks again, and great work Im quite excited about this

Last edited by fishyfish; 13 January 2012 at 11:36.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 18 January 2012, 12:41   #6
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishyfish View Post
Just curious though, and I dont want to be negative towards your work, but is there much likelyhood of those few functions (writepixelarray in particular is pretty important for me) that dont do as well as with powerfb being sped up still?
Also what cards are supported? Is it specifically the radeon9250?
Also does using an openpci driver remove the graphics ram limit that's normally there with amithlon?
A lot of functions are still software emulated.
Most of them are slower than powerfb, because powerfb is using x86 code for emulating and not 68k like i did.
Generally it is a framebuffer with "some" functions accelerated by hardware, some blitter and sprite functions.
Target is a full accelerated driver in the future.

RAM limit is gone, but due to a bug i have to limit the driver to 64mb, but the problem is no longer and 256mb videomem is no problem.

Currently supported are R200-RV280 chipsets.
Code is written to support a wide range from r100-r500 series in the future.
But I still have to transfer a lot of linux/bsd-code.
Ratte is offline  
Old 18 January 2012, 15:38   #7
amigoun
Registered User
 
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 599
Thanks for informing us about this great project and keep up the good work!
amigoun is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 03:58   #8
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 276
Very very cool, as another Amithlon fanatic, I'll be keeping a close eye on this!
XDelusion is offline  
Old 03 May 2012, 19:23   #9
billt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 82
Back in the early days of the original ATI Radeon driver we had a similar/same problem. Joshua fixed it so I'm not sure exactly what he had to do, but he did find a way to tell the Radeon to allow ROM access. But I think that was Radeon specific, so we had to know that's what we were talking to and the right thing to do for this chip. Search your datasheets for your chips for what bit in what register to twiddle to open this up. I don't know if our solution survives reset or if it must be releated every possible boot. I won't have time for a few weeks, but will try to find a copy of sourcecode from back then and try to find this bit in there to report back.
billt is offline  
Old 03 May 2012, 22:27   #10
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 331
The reset-problem is no longer.
1. the driver is searching for a romfile on libs: picasso96/radeon.rom
if no file available
2. the driver is searching for a romtag with a romdump
if no romtag found
3. the driver is reading the rom

if it find a rom, it build a romtag (if not available)


btw.
[ Show youtube player ]
(on a4000 with latest opci-driver)
Ratte is offline  
Old 04 May 2012, 03:47   #11
kriz
Junior Member
 
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 41
Posts: 3,185
Very cooool !!!! Looking forward to this!!a
kriz is offline  
Old 26 November 2012, 18:12   #12
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 331
preview available on request
ato.lha (zoned) + personal file (radeon.card) on request
supported systems:

- radeon 9200 & 9250 (& 8500 & 9100 untested) = Rx2xx chipsets

- mediator 4000 (at the moment no a1200)
- prometheus
- amithlon

- searching for grex users in germany-ostwestfalen !!!!
Ratte is offline  
Old 26 November 2012, 22:54   #13
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff
 
johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 48
Posts: 1,019
Hi Ratte nice project

will this be done for the 1200 mediator in time

cheers john
johnim is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 09:55   #14
wXR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 552
Wow Prometheus support! Nice job, Ratte, and thanks!
wXR is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 12:43   #15
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
Hi Ratte nice project

will this be done for the 1200 mediator in time

cheers john
why not .. but first i like to fix the grex!
we are going two steps forward and one backward.

grex is a bit wirred .. rom-decoding and timings.
Ratte is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 17:40   #16
wXR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 552
Ratte are you making source available for this?
wXR is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 20:07   #17
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff
 
johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 48
Posts: 1,019
Thanks for reply Ratte

keeping an eye on this
johnim is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 21:02   #18
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by wXR View Post
Ratte are you making source available for this?
No, but most parts are based on Linux & NetBSD code.
Ratte is offline  
Old 22 February 2015, 04:08   #19
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 276
What ever became of this?
XDelusion is offline  
Old 22 February 2015, 14:17   #20
Locutus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,175
Also, of its based on Linux code (i guess RadeonFB) doesnt that mean you are encumbered by GPL license and should release code to anyone who has the .card binary? ;-)
Locutus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lowlevel.library Gilloo Coders. System 3 16 March 2021 14:12
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 02:48
lowlevel.library BippyM Coders. General 8 09 April 2007 18:08
CD32-Emu: "Can´t open lowlevel.library" Why? viddi support.Apps 10 19 January 2007 19:40
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 10:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:31.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13161 seconds with 15 queries