English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.MAGE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 May 2018, 16:18   #921
Valken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amiga
Posts: 145
Hi Damien,

Doing some more "testing" with the little ones and it appears Robocop may not be working? I turned on the FD indicator lights in WinUAE and after the title screen, it sits there at @ 28.

Robocop 2 and 3 works. I did compare Robocop to a WHDLOAD version and that worked but it does not include a trainer.
Valken is offline  
Old 27 May 2018, 17:03   #922
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,850
I don't know what to say; Robocop works perfectly here

...hence how I was able to take the title / screenshot for my collection.

Just to be sure, I've loaded the game and played most of level 1

Anyone else have this issue Valken reported?
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 May 2018, 20:58   #923
OsabaKoldo
Basic english level

OsabaKoldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Spain
Age: 52
Posts: 16
I load Robocop with your configuration file and works fine. But in a second try i change the floppy speed to turbo and it stop in track 28.
OsabaKoldo is offline  
Old 27 May 2018, 21:10   #924
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,141
Not all games load with turbo mode. You might have more success with 800% if you want faster loading.
Ian is offline  
Old 28 May 2018, 01:22   #925
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by OsabaKoldo View Post
I load Robocop with your configuration file and works fine. But in a second try i change the floppy speed to turbo and it stop in track 28.
Then that's the issue and the vital piece of information, i.e. Turbo...

I tested the game using:

a) 100% (compatible).
b) 100% (compatible) and then also enabling WARP mode i.e <END> + <PAUSE>.
c) 800%.
d) 800% and then also enabling WARP mode i.e <END> + <PAUSE>.

As Ian said, don't ever use "Turbo" if you want reliability...
DamienD is offline  
Old 30 May 2018, 21:22   #926
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,850
DaveTaylor sent me a PM today, thank you kindly for bringing this to my attention

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveTaylor
Hey Damien,

I am still examining your collection.
Only 489 games left.

I discovered that your "Rolling Ronny - The Errand-Boy" version is the one with a bug in the trainer. It always starts at Level 2. You never have the chance to see the first level.

Rob (of Flashtro) fixed this. You can find in GameBase Amiga.
I also searched EAB and found correspondence in the thread Trained Games - New & Requests between Belgarath and -Rob-:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
Would anyone like to tackle Rolling Ronny?
There's a trained Skid Row version but this doesn't seem to be the final version

There's also a trained Classic version however this trainer has a problem in that you always start at level 2 (probably a bug in the level select trainer code).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
There is a Classic ver without the trainer and the game is fine then, but with the trainer it always starts on level 2 whether you select any options or not.
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Rob- View Post
Belgarath; I've put a changed version of the Classic version in the zone, see if it works better, or it has the same pb.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
It works great now, puts you on level 1 like it should do!
Thanks Rob!
I would have read this back many, many moons ago but only added the game to my collection a few years ago...

Also, I when I did my testing, I didn't notice it started on level 2 as I never had this game on my A500...

@TOSEC guys; you need to add this .ADF... I've named the file "Rolling Ronny - The Errand-Boy (1991)(Virgin)[cr CLS][f trainer Flashtro][t +13 LGD].adf"


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Again, as I don't know when I'll have the motivation to do another update at this stage... here's a quick fix...
  • Delete the directory "C:\WinUAE\Games\Rolling Ronny - The Errand-Boy".
  • Download / extract the attached archive into C:\WinUAE

Last edited by DamienD; 23 August 2018 at 23:00.
DamienD is offline  
Old 31 May 2018, 01:09   #927
zoodah
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Norfolk, USA
Posts: 39
489 games left? :O
zoodah is offline  
Old 31 May 2018, 01:29   #928
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoodah View Post
489 games left? :O
Yeah, must say that I was quite shocked by Dave's comment. He's only had my collection for a few weeks now...

Dave can't possibly be testing every single game, although I've done that already to the best of my ability for over a decade now... but obviously not to completion for all games; especially adventure / strategy

I quote my original post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Using all my knowledge / reading forums / loads of testing; I feel that all included files are 100% working versions, although obviously I cannot fully guarantee this...
DamienD is offline  
Old 31 May 2018, 12:58   #929
liveevil
Custom User Title

 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 274
Is there a quick way using notepad++ or a simple script that can be used to change all the multi disk game config's to use the diskswapper ? Or would they all have to be done one by one ?
liveevil is offline  
Old 31 May 2018, 13:39   #930
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,850
Not that I'm aware of...

The syntax in the configuration files for adding disks to diskswapper slots is as follows:

Quote:
diskimage0=.\Games\The Secret of Monkey Island\Secret of Monkey Island, The v1.2 (1991)(U.S. Gold)(Disk 1 of 4)[cr SR].adf
diskimage1=.\Games\The Secret of Monkey Island\Secret of Monkey Island, The v1.2 (1991)(U.S. Gold)(Disk 2 of 4)[cr SR].adf
diskimage2=.\Games\The Secret of Monkey Island\Secret of Monkey Island, The v1.2 (1991)(U.S. Gold)(Disk 3 of 4)[cr SR].adf
diskimage3=.\Games\The Secret of Monkey Island\Secret of Monkey Island, The v1.2 (1991)(U.S. Gold)(Disk 4 of 4)[cr SR].adf
Saying this; as I've mentioned somewhere in this thread already, virtually any games that have more than 4 disks have been added into diskswapper
DamienD is offline  
Old 31 May 2018, 13:47   #931
liveevil
Custom User Title

 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 274
Yeah, it just would have been easier for 2 and 3 disk games that don't use multiple drives so we don't have to open the file requester and search for the game folder. I'm lazy ! Thanks anyway.
liveevil is offline  
Old 31 May 2018, 13:56   #932
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,850
I just use the shortcut keys to change disk in DF0: i.e. <End> + <F1>, as opposed to:

a) Pressing <F12> to bring up the GUI.
b) Selecting "Floppy drives".
c) Selecting "..." next to the drive.
d) Navigating to, double-clicking on the required disk.

Here's a reminder of the Important Keys, very much worth learning
DamienD is offline  
Old 31 May 2018, 14:24   #933
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by liveevil View Post
Yeah, it just would have been easier for 2 and 3 disk games that don't use multiple drives so we don't have to open the file requester and search for the game folder. I'm lazy ! Thanks anyway.
Let's be honest though; there's not that many games that only support one drive... they are usual quite old games.
DamienD is offline  
Old 31 May 2018, 14:33   #934
liveevil
Custom User Title

 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 274
<End> + <F1> is what I was talking about when I said "open the file requester and search for the game folder". I would never go through the rigmarole that you mentioned ! No biggie.
liveevil is offline  
Old 31 May 2018, 15:46   #935
DaveTaylor
Registered User
DaveTaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Europe
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Yeah, must say that I was quite shocked by Dave's comment. He's only had my collection for a few weeks now...

Dave can't possibly be testing every single game, although I've done that already to the best of my ability for over a decade now... but obviously not to completion for all games; especially adventure / strategy

I quote my original post:

No no. I am not a playtester. I only try every game for a short time to decide whether to keep or delete it.
I am not the "must-have-it-all-guy". I only keep the games I liked in the 90s plus the games I always wanted to own but had no chance to get in touch.


Furthermore I compare the games I already store in my collection with Damiens versions, especially regarding trainers.


Thats why the buggy trainer of "Rolling Ronny" caught my eye.
DaveTaylor is offline  
Old 01 June 2018, 01:31   #936
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveTaylor View Post
No no. I am not a playtester. I only try every game for a short time to decide whether to keep or delete it.
I am not the "must-have-it-all-guy". I only keep the games I liked in the 90s plus the games I always wanted to own but had no chance to get in touch.
...mutilating my collection after all the many, many years of hard work I've put into this? Blasphemy!!!

Nah, only joking my friend, you mentioned the above before I even sent you the URLs... tailor it to whatever suits you needs, I just provided an extremely good base for people to work with
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 June 2018, 08:28   #937
DaveTaylor
Registered User
DaveTaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Europe
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...tailor it to whatever suits you needs...
Taylor tailors it.
DaveTaylor is offline  
Old 02 June 2018, 07:26   #938
Valken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amiga
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Then that's the issue and the vital piece of information, i.e. Turbo...

I tested the game using:

a) 100% (compatible).
b) 100% (compatible) and then also enabling WARP mode i.e <END> + <PAUSE>.
c) 800%.
d) 800% and then also enabling WARP mode i.e <END> + <PAUSE>.

As Ian said, don't ever use "Turbo" if you want reliability...
It was Turbo! Thanks for the suggestions!

The Robocop-thon continues this weekend!
Valken is offline  
Old 02 June 2018, 12:49   #939
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,850
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 June 2018, 19:40   #940
zoodah
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Norfolk, USA
Posts: 39
The problem is the turbo is SOOOO tempting to use.

I fully admit using it on C64 emulators. Good lord, you ever wait through Castle Wolfenstein or Raid On Bungeling Bay to finish fully loading? Torture!
zoodah is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[DamienD] WinUAE v3.2.2 - Games "DAT File" DamienD request.Old Rare Games 29 10 February 2016 01:02
DamienD's SNES DVD... DamienD Retrogaming General Discussion 282 03 November 2008 10:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14876 seconds with 16 queries