English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2018, 22:09   #41
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Never knew about PCEmu. I've been using Dosbox and a variant which allows 3DFX glide wrapper drivers for emulating Voodoo. If PCEmu can essentially mimic a 486 PC at FULL speed, I will have to convert!
You can emulate correctly 286, 386, 486 and earlier Pentiums. Some other oldies, including original IBM PC and IBM PCjr are there as well.

IBM PCjr cartridges are not supported yet, but cart2disk of the game still works well.

Anubis is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 22:17   #42
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,362
Do you have to do much set up or is it a matter of selecting the options needed e.g. ram? Video card, soundcard etc? Something like WinUAE with auto configuration would be ideal lol.

Unless it had premade commercial set ups e.g. Packard Bell machine that I had!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 13 November 2018, 13:37   #43
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Do you have to do much set up or is it a matter of selecting the options needed e.g. ram? Video card, soundcard etc? Something like WinUAE with auto configuration would be ideal lol.

Unless it had premade commercial set ups e.g. Packard Bell machine that I had!
It is closer to WinUAE than DOSBox, where OS is already setup for you. After installing it (unzipping), you have to select hardware and install software yourself. Here is video (with links) how to install DOS6.22 & Win3.11:
[ Show youtube player ]

And video for Win 95 and Win98 (also with links for drivers etc.)
[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]

I still preffer to copy Win9x folder to HD and install from HD, rather then ISO. (old habit are hard to get rid off )

Mav-G also has WinXP and Win2K pcem tutorials.

Last edited by Anubis; 13 November 2018 at 17:57.
Anubis is offline  
Old 14 November 2018, 05:35   #44
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,443
One thing I did not mention before, both pcem and DOSBox, as well ScummVM sound much better for many games if you install Rolland MT-32 emulator and set it up. It is fairly easy and sounds 'much' better for example in Alien Breed, The Settlers, FlashBack, most of adventure games, Lucas Arts games etc.

Simple steps, download MUNT, install, locate MT-32 rom files (or extract them from real thing), point munt to rom files, change settings in emulator to use MIDI port 1, configure game music to use Roland MT-32, start game and be blown away how better game sound.

[ Show youtube player ]
Anubis is offline  
Old 14 November 2018, 07:14   #45
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,913
There's no OS X version of PCem, sniff sniff.

Pyromania is offline  
Old 14 November 2018, 15:34   #46
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,443
No, nobody took to work on Mac version and Linux is hardly supported.

Time for real computer?
Anubis is offline  
Old 14 November 2018, 15:39   #47
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
One thing I did not mention before, both pcem and DOSBox, as well ScummVM sound much better for many games if you install Rolland MT-32 emulator and set it up. It is fairly easy and sounds 'much' better for example in Alien Breed, The Settlers, FlashBack, most of adventure games, Lucas Arts games etc.

Simple steps, download MUNT, install, locate MT-32 rom files (or extract them from real thing), point munt to rom files, change settings in emulator to use MIDI port 1, configure game music to use Roland MT-32, start game and be blown away how better game sound.

[ Show youtube player ]
Wow! Thank you for sharing this! Can't wait to try it on the weekend. Me and brother like to network PC for LAN gaming on Dosbox so this may prove a welcome change!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 14 November 2018, 23:29   #48
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
No, nobody took to work on Mac version and Linux is hardly supported.

Time for real computer?
Is Windows 10 the real computer you speak of? LOL!
Pyromania is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 01:07   #49
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Time for real computer?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
Is Windows 10 the real computer you speak of? LOL!
I don't think it's the "real computer" he was thinking about !
Most probably
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
[...] DOS6.22 & Win3.11 [...]
malko is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 11:44   #50
toples50
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
No, nobody took to work on Mac version and Linux is hardly supported.

Time for real computer?
Windows is real computer? Oh my God!!!!
I have an i5 Win10 desktop and I prefer all day long my Amiga and my Mac computers.Sorry but Windows sucks.But I'll try the PCem.I hope to work on Win10 machine.
toples50 is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 13:49   #51
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,443
Not connected with rest of topic, but when you start with I have an i5 Win10, should stop there. If Amiga and Mac are able to complete all your computer needs, you would not need a Win10 computer.

Not sure if everyone knows, CD ROM version of flashback has pre-rendered video sequences, while game is still the same. It looks and sounds much better if you use already mentioned Roland MT-32.


[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]
Anubis is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 15:44   #52
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 231
Looks interest so I'll have to check it out as it would be good for testing old games and software before going to the hassle of transferring stuff over to the real machines. I prefer to play retro DOS and windows games on my old laptops. I also have a windows 98 PC but it doesn't get much use to be honest.
Glen M is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 16:29   #53
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,443
I still have multiple laptops and computers, 2 of them are Win98SE, but since pcem they are just on shelf, not being used. Less clutter on my desk.
Anubis is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 18:22   #54
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 3,092
Those videos look great. A bit shady that the youtube descriptions contain links to full operating system downloads, but I'm not complaining
gimbal is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 19:09   #55
Mrz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: I
Posts: 251
btw,

PCEM not works fine here if a > pentium 75 mhz or superior speed CPU is set
ie I tried the maximum speed which is a Pentium 233 MMX but the sound and music in games end up corrupted,also I tried pentium 100 pentium 166 etc

so my main config is a Pentium 75 because all faster CPUS don't works fine
can anyone confirm this??
Mrz is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 19:17   #56
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 44
Posts: 3,213
No, I've had no such problems in the games I've played so far (Sega Rally 2 & Star Wars - Rogue Squadron).
Retroplay is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 19:28   #57
Mrz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: I
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
No, I've had no such problems in the games I've played so far (Sega Rally 2 & Star Wars - Rogue Squadron).
those are windows games, I'm talking about DOS games because the config I created is DOS 6.22
Mrz is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 23:25   #58
toples50
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Not connected with rest of topic, but when you start with I have an i5 Win10, should stop there. If Amiga and Mac are able to complete all your computer needs, you would not need a Win10 computer.

Not sure if everyone knows, CD ROM version of flashback has pre-rendered video sequences, while game is still the same. It looks and sounds much better if you use already mentioned Roland MT-32.


[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]
It true it's not connected with rest of topic but I have 80 Macs(2 of them use everyday),11 AmigasI and one PC which rarely use.So my computer needs are complete.I have the PC just for comparison and rarely use it.
toples50 is offline  
Old 16 November 2018, 00:12   #59
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 3,092
I used a 486DX33 config (16mb ram, 512mb harddrive) for my Dos machine, have had no problems with it so far. The only thing is that the bios used is aged enough that I had to actually go into the bios configuration to have the primary HDD detected, a blast from the past

For my Windows 98 box I used the exact Pentium 166 setup that the video proposes, also works great.
gimbal is offline  
Old 16 November 2018, 00:13   #60
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by toples50 View Post
It true it's not connected with rest of topic but I have 80 Macs(2 of them use everyday),11 AmigasI and one PC which rarely use.So my computer needs are complete.I have the PC just for comparison and rarely use it.
Off topic yet again but... how many systems do you need!? Lol
lesta_smsc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x86 Bridgeboard update (PCem core) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 495 26 September 2018 14:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10373 seconds with 14 queries