English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 July 2001, 17:37   #1
Messanger
 
Posts: n/a
Shadow of the Beast

I try do play it with Fellow and WinUAE 0.8.8. 6 - 8, but it doesn't work. Does anyone knows the proper configuration?
 
Old 01 July 2001, 19:41   #2
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,141
Download WinUAE 0.8.16r*, then download AIAB and then download the AIAB version from the same site, Bobs your uncle, your now able to play Shadow Of The Beast
Ian is offline  
Old 01 July 2001, 19:45   #3
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
can you please send me that file (no better don't post it here to save space ) so I can take a look at it? I remember no problems ever with *my* SOTB version, not even with 0.8.8 R 8.
You seem to have an unusual version - this is getting interesting.
Just send it to andi3@gmx.net so I can take a look thanks -
andreas is offline  
Old 02 July 2001, 00:02   #4
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,141
Messanger

Here's a working ADF version for you, if you don't have WinACE let me know and I'll post Zip files instead

UPDATE:// Changed to ZIP files

Files removed .. If you still want/need them send me an email

Last edited by Ian; 03 July 2001 at 02:12.
Ian is offline  
Old 02 July 2001, 00:26   #5
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,141
Disk 2

Tested with the latest WinUAE 8.16r4

Use these options in your config:
  1. Kickstart 1.3
  2. CPU 68000 more compatable mode and match A500 speed
  3. OCS Chipset and also check the box marked Sprite collisions
  4. Memory options don't really matter, but make sure you select at least 1meg Chip mem

Files will be deleted in 24 hrs

UPDATE:// Changed to ZIP files.

Files Removed. As above

Last edited by Ian; 03 July 2001 at 02:13.
Ian is offline  
Old 02 July 2001, 13:53   #6
Messanger
 
Posts: n/a
bad news everyone: I've tried it with 0.8.16r4 in connection with AIAB and the "SOTB"-configuration. After skipping the intro and a few secs of playing the game an software failure occurs. What now?
 
Old 03 July 2001, 13:29   #7
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
please give some of your machine's specifications - e.g. OS, gfx card, cpu ....
andreas is offline  
Old 03 July 2001, 15:02   #8
Messanger
 
Posts: n/a
IanCharge: Thnx for the files.

andreas:
os: Windows 2000
gc: Asus TNT2 Ultra
processor: AMD Athlon 500

but actually I think that the problem lies in the WinUAE configuration and/or the quality of the adf-files.

Does anyone have a clue?
 
Old 03 July 2001, 15:48   #9
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
@Messanger

thanks. THAT COULD INDEED be a problem that you're using Win2000. AND don't forget it might also make a considerable difference if Win2000 is used with or without Service Pack 1.
(Afaik, ) *most* of us use Win9x for running WinUAE, for because of the fact that Win2k is still somewhat "brand-new", you cannot guarantee that each and every game working under 9x will work under 2000 as well.

Last edited by andreas; 03 July 2001 at 19:07.
andreas is offline  
Old 03 July 2001, 19:46   #10
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Hi Messanger!

I finally figured it out! :bounce
First: believe it or not, YOU *ARE* RIGHT. WinUAE *does* have a problem with SOTB (Vision Factory version from LeChuck) if you use standard configurations. But this version works flawlessly on WinFellow, this means it's _not_ broken. For WinUAE, consider this:

- Avoid the "Approximate A500 speed" option --
[Edit] This has proven wrong ... the actual culprit is the 'slow' option.

- Do not attempt to boot up the game with Kickstart 3.0 -- however, all 1.2, 1.3 and 2.0x kickstarts can be used.

Instead:
- use 'Adjustable with CPU and Chipset' and set the slider to position '4'. Even position '1' breaks the game!
- IMPORTANT: check the 'Slow but more compatible' box.

Enjoy - and please report me if it works!
(Successfully tested with WinUAE 0.8.14 R1)


Remove config

Last edited by Ian; 14 October 2001 at 21:12.
andreas is offline  
Old 03 July 2001, 20:18   #11
Messanger
 
Posts: n/a
Big grin

Cool it really works!!!

I can't believe it!!!

Thnx Andreas: after using the "The Band" version of "SOTB" with WinUAE 0.8.14 R3 and your configuration it works perfectly well (the "Vision Factory" version still freezes at the titles). Anyway, I can't await to play that goddamn game! Thanks again man!
 
Old 03 July 2001, 21:56   #12
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Congratulations ... you're welcome.
But I tested this configuration with the Vision Factory crack as well and it did work ... two ideas (not for you anymore, but for some others perhaps)

- WAIT! It loads a *long* time and the intros change automatically, you just need a little patience, maybe a little bit more than average.
- The "red" (second?) intro screen (the one without any text) can *only* be left if you press the FIRE button, this is the trigger for the music volume to get lower and, eventually, fade out to silence which is needed to give way to the next (title) screen.

Last edited by andreas; 03 July 2001 at 22:01.
andreas is offline  
Old 04 July 2001, 21:13   #13
Karl Stodulski
 
Posts: n/a
I think I've only tried it in Fellow... seems to work OK, apart from minor graphical errors when it shows the scrolling background... the 'Shadow of the Beast' and/ or the 'Psygnosis' logos get screwed up.

But otherwise, it seems fine .
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shadow of the Beast II robotriot HOL data problems 4 10 August 2005 02:58
Shadow of the Beast alexh project.SPS (was CAPS) 4 05 March 2005 11:56
shadow of the beast 2 and 3 jamielemon request.Old Rare Games 1 17 August 2004 21:30
shadow of the beast HELP!!! cmarcel23 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 11 August 2002 03:14
Shadow of The Beast lappen support.Games 8 30 July 2002 01:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07638 seconds with 15 queries